We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location. ”
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #168 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
232 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent location. ”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Plus:
Location is fabulous. Can walk to almost everywhere.
Clean - decent rooms.
Excellent water pressure, so great shower.
Bed ok.
Breakfast staff were very calm/ grace under fire. Kudos to them!!

Minus:
Chaotic breakfast environment. Food just ok.
Terrible pillows.

Would recommend as the location is very very good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaddyLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios acerca de nuestro Hotel Catalonia Gran Vía en Tripadvisor. Le alegrará saber que hemos tomado en consideración su comentario acerca de las almohadas y a partir de ahora nuestros clientes podrán elegir entre dos tipos diferentes de almohadas para conseguir un mejor descanso. Espero que pueda volver a visitarnos y darnos de nuevo su opinión. Un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    501
    221
    95
    54
See reviews for
219
466
69
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel markets itself as a 4 star hotel. Er, it is a 3 star, with issues. The hotel takes coach loads of tourists. So at any one time you can be competing with 50 or 100 other people. Whether it is reception or breakfast, it is likely to be crowded.
On our first night we wanted to eat in the restaurant. We could not. There were no staff and no one appeared to seat us. The restaurant was filled with a French tour group all fighting over the buffet. Breakfast is an exercise in elbow power as the buffet layout leads to chaos. When you get some breakfast food it is good. The staff work very hard, there just are not enough of them.
The room we had was OK. Small but clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancientobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day and we wish you happy travels wherever you may be headed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed here with my son for three nights on a visit to watch Real Madrid play. Despite a poor start (we reserved a twin room but they didn't have one available when arrived), we enjoyed our stay mainly due to some of the very helpful and kind staff - a lady called Isabel (I think) particularly. The problem we had with the room was sorted the next day and we managed to get the twin beds in a lovely quiet room. The hotel itself is a little tired in places, but is clean and does the basics well. Breakfast was the only meal we had but was good in a canteen style. The location is great, easy to walk to most of the interesting parts of the city and close to a Metro station. Being on a main road does mean rooms at the front can be noisy. So in summary in a good location for a city visit, where you don't plan to spend much time there and use it mainly as a base.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side or back of the hotel if you need a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneZeroBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write this review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the rock and roll half marathon with 11 friends. Breakfast was excellent , bed very comfy and slept great . Staff were friendly and helpful rooms cleaned everyday absolutely no complaints.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Darren: Siempre es gratificante escuchar comentarios como el suyo puesto que nos dejan la sensación del trabajo bien hecho. Me alegra mucho que su grupo de amigos disfrutaran de nuestro hotel y de la ciudad de Madrid durante el Maratón y les esperamos el año que viene para que lo puedan disfrutar de nuevo en nuestro Hotel. Un abrazo desde Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

great facade but poor service, run down room and interior, hotel has had it's best days, ready for a complete renovation.
great location at Gran Via, almost every places of interest are within a walking distance.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Harald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Harald: Lamento mucho que no hayamos cumplido sus expectativas en esta ocasión. Seguiremos trabajando para mejorar nuestros servicios y poder sorprenderle en futuras visitas a Madrid. Hasta entonces le envío un cordial saludo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Good size room - I had a single room. Clean with a really good bed. For once an excellent hairdryer! Staff helpful and friendly. Free wifi works well. Good breakfast buffet with a good choice.
On the negative side: Gym and pool both very small and A/C doesn't work very well, but I would go back to this hotel if in Madrid again as well as recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Marianne: Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Situated along Gran Via this hotel has an excellent location for getting around in the city. Its an old building, which is very well mainated. Lobby is fairly large and has a nice bar area close to the reception. We had a room with a big terrace, which was excellent for early mornings and evenings. Rooms itself had a good size with an excellent bed, which provided a really good sleep. Furniture was fairly and in good condition. Cleaning maids did a really good job and were very friendly. The only bad thing in the room was that it was hard to control hot/cold in the shower. Staff were mostly very serviceminded and friendly, although seemed to be a little understaffed. Will we return if visiting Madrid? Certainly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larzon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente: Agradezco sus comentarios acerca del hotel. Siempre es una satisfacción encontrar a clientes que han tenido una feliz estancia como es su caso. Esperamos poder volver a recibirle en próximas visitas a Madrid , hasta entonces le enviamos un cordial saludo hasta Gotemburgo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#149 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#116 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing