We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but very noisy at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #208 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location but very noisy at night”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great location in close walking distance to Sol metro station in the heart of Madrid. First impressions not great it was a bit odd really with a small entrance hall and the body of the hotel were the floors above a clothes shop with loud music playing. There were 5 adults in our party with one room over the precinct and the other at the back of the hotel. The rooms were very clean but the beds were a bit hard for us with only one pillow each. Great complimentary tea/coffee making facilities but you have to ask for these. Breakfast was superb. The main problem was the noise at night. All manner of loud music is played in the precinct and when this stops there is the bin collection, the street cleaners and revellers which played havoc with our sleep patterns! We were also very unlucky with other selfish inconsiderate guests putting on their TV at 4.00am and shouting in the corridors at all hours of the night which was a pity. We did complain one night about the TV which was the final straw and asked to be moved. The night porter promised to move us the following day as the hotel was full but then didn't pass this on to the day staff and as we were only there for three nights we let it go. The staff on the desk although pleasant were certainly not the most helpful. We did ask how to get to Toledo (which is worth a visit) but were only told the name of the station not the location and it would have helped to know that most train tickets are bought in advance. We were lucky there were 5 seats left on the train, although we couldn't sit together for the journey. This said Madrid is a great city and we made the best of the bad nights and had a great time but it might not be for all!

Room Tip: If you want to get some sleep ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorfam_006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear taylorfam_006
Thank you for sharing your opinions with the comunity. I am sorry we were not able to give you all the help you needed this time, hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better, If so please make sure you request us a room at the back.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The location of this hotel is hard to beat - right in the middle of everything and within easy walking distance to all the places we wanted to visit. We actually prefer the rooms facing the street - they may be a bit noisier, but they give a real flavour of the life of Madrid, which, after all, is why we come here. Rooms spotless, toiletries plentiful, and aircon very efficient. Staff are very, very helpful, both in responding to emails, and while in the hotel, making good recommendations for restaurants etc. The shuttle to the airport is reliable and efficient and well worth the 10 euros. Our only regret is that, due to early starts each day of our 3-day visit, we missed their lovely breakfast and friendly waiters. Maybe next time - we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macabiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear macabiScotland
Thank you for your kind words, it's our pleasure to have you as a member of our family. I just hope your next time with us you don't have to rush from bed and ejoy our breakfast.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great location, decent breakfast but the beds are just too tiny..We spent 5 nights at the hotel and not once did they bother to clear the tray of tea and coffee in the room. Al the amenities except the AC and TV are on request - so you could maybe ask for the moon and who knows..
Also - for an american hotel chain the staff really is not able to converse in English...This location has many other hotels..maybe those are worth a try..

Room Tip: Ask for a big bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TubbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear TubbyTraveler.
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community.
We have different sizes of beds, please make sure you request a queen-size bed in case you decide t5o give us another oportunityu to serve you. About your coffee tray, there must have been some kind of mistake by our staff, we normally provide clean cups and replace tea and coffee every day, I apologize for not having done it with you.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is ideally located about 1 block from SOL metro stop on a pedestrian shopping plaza. Easy access to transportation, restaurants/cafes and within walking distance of Royal Palace. Stayed here several times. Always clean and comfortable. All European hotels have some noise issues due to the way they are built. They are never as quite as US based hotels. Service is average. Call your own cab if you need one. Hotel staff and cabbies must share revenue. Best to get your own which are readily available, else you pay for their ride to the hotel from where ever they are (which is where the problem comes into play). Very close to Il Corte Ingles which has everything you could ever want including a grocery store.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJR249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Dear DJR249
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your oppinions, it´s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Let me explain you the common use in Spain is that a cab driver puts the meter on once he is called from a hotel, home or office, it is nothing about sharing revenue with hotels' clerks.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My father and I stayed here for a second time (see my review and photos from December 2009), for nine nights in October 2011. We booked directly through the hotel's website, not Best Western's corporate site, because only the hotel's website allows you to specifically book rooms on the 5th floor that have lovely and spacious outdoor terraces, with patio table for two and an awning that comes out automatically during the day. The weather was glorious and we put the terraces to good use as we ate most of our lunches and dinners out there. The area immediately surrounding the hotel is chock-a-block with restaurants, fast-food, and deli-type establishments where you can pick-up sandwiches and a bottle of wine to take home.

The rooms and bathrooms aren't large, but they're spacious enough and they are very clean. The mini-bar has decent prices but, more importantly, enough empty space to store our left-over sandwiches, jamon iberico, and our own water/soft drinks. There are safes in the rooms; just remember that you have to obtain the lock from reception first. There's a desk with internet and printer available in the 1st Floor dining room/bar area for patrons to use. One apparent upgrade from two years ago is the availability of satellite TV, including CNN International and some sport channels.

The hotel staff are very friendly and English is widely spoken. We had to make a change to our initial reservation and communicated entirely via e-mail with reception; everything was handled promptly and in English. Many of the staff from two years ago were still there and that's usually a good sign. If we make it to Madrid for a third time, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Request a Terrace room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoundtripLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear RoundtripLAX
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the community. It shows you know us well!
Let me explain you our 5th. floor terraces are also bookable through Best Western's corporate site, but they might not have been available at that time as we have to feed 2 different booking engines. By now we are sharing the same booking engine at our corporate site and our private website, so you should find the same availability at both of them.
It will be great to see you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White rock, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Location is as central as you can get. A block from Sol and around the corner from El Corte Ingles (major department store). The staff were superb. We had a very early train to catch and they accomodated us with a very early breakfast and made sure we got away in time. Very helpful. You have to realize you are in the absolute middle of it all so you have to accept that there will be some street noise but that is just part of a big city and Spain. We stayed in early Sept 2011. Worthy of your time to consider as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear j_dyok
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the community. It´s great to know you arrived on time to your train. I hope the next time you can sleep till later anf enjoy our full breakfast.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is in the middle of the pedestrian area in the city centre of Madrid. Everything is within walking distance. The room was big and fresh, old style furniture. Bed was a bit hard but not an issue for me. Wi-fi is free but didn't work very well in the room. Worked fine in the bar area though. You have to rent a key for the in-room safe (Euro 1.30 per day) and it is not big enough for a normal size laptop. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but that is not normal for 3-star hotels either. And you can request for that to be delivered to your room. Breakfast does not start until 7.30 which was too late for me, so if you need to get up early, you will not be able to have breakfast.

Yes, it is noisy if you have a room facing the street, but that will be the same in all hotels in this area and 3 start hotels normally don't have soundproof windows. I slept with earplugs and had no issues.

All in all, very good for a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pusenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear Pusenin
Thank you for sharing your impressions about us with the community. Sorry about inroom wi-fi, we are developping a new system, hopefully better, schedulled to be working by the end of October, hope you enjoy it your next time with us.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#91 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#122 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#103 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing