We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location brilliant little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #209 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location brilliant little gem”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in April 2012, could not beleive just how close it was to sol!! Fantastic shops on your doorstep, entertainment in the square itself, and very central to other attractions, our room was quite basic but immaculately clean and the bed was super comfy (bedding was also good quality :) would highly reccomend and definately stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little-miss-q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Little-miss-q
Thank you for your oppinions and reccomendation, we'll be glad to see you back in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be very good, the location is excellent as its right in the centre of Peurto Del Sol and really easy to find. The hotel is really friendly and the staff made us feel welcome. We had a roof terrace room which is of average size, nice clean bathroom and good facilities - mini bar in the room was good value however we did find that it was not re filled and therefore had to go and buy more water. Bathroom had a full bath and very powerful shower, toilettries are provided and nice fluffy towels. The bed was quite comfortable and for someone who suffers from Insomnia I did have 3 night of pretty good sleep. The breakfast is buffet style, plenty of choice with 4 different fruit juices, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese and yoghurts, hot bacon, scambled eggs, and 3/4 different type of sausages, good selection of breads and cakes, nice tea and coffee. Hotel offers a Happy Hour between 5pm and 7pm Monday to friday so good value in the bar. Surrounding area is really good plent going on and not far to walk to Plaza Mayor and other attractions, plenty of good bars and restaurants. Even though the hotel is very central the rooms are very quiet and noise was not a problem. I would certainly stay in this hotel again and would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful city

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are nice if you get nice weather as you can sit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Shirbaz
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's really great to know we helped you fight your imsomnia, I wonder if the terrace with views to Madrid rooftops helped :) We will be glad to receive you back home your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nristol, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Carlos V and can thoroughly recommend it.

The location is brilliant - very close to the centre and within walking distance of the museums, plaza major, etc. Although central, it is located on a pedestrianised street so no traffic noise.

Our room was fine though beds slightly hard for our taste. All was perfectly clean and we had everything we needed.

Bonus was that there was free internet access via hotel's computer. This was very helpful to us in reorganising our arrangements owing to the General Strike (which did not trouble us by the way).

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice and the dining room attractive. Could be improved by having some ready prepared fresh fruit available,.

We booked through Easyjet and obtained a very competitive price for a central city location.

Staff were efficient and helpful. Overall can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a city break.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacksgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear jacksgrandma
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay and you will recommend us :)
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great hotel, great location. It was clean, good breakfast and quiet (despite being right in the centre). Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkfrncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear lkfrncs
Thank you for your feedback, it's great to know we contributed to your great trip, it will be nice to have you back among us your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel staff are incredible and the breakfast good. I wish I didn't put up with 2 squeaky beds for 3 nights because each time we moved our sleep was interrupted, so woke several times through the night! This was a huge downfall for us. Next time I will speak up. When I mentioned it to the cleaner, she was aware of the problem so that tells me other staff/ owners are aware and still book guests in, not good enough. I also note that although the beds were made each day, there was a stain on the bed cover which was kinda yuk and the toilet was not cleaned or if it was it was not done properly. I would not stay again or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely keep away from the front rooms because although cars do not commute through the street, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Aucks67
Let me first of all thank yo ufor sharing your valuable feedback with the community.
I am sorry you could not enjoy your stay due to the squeaky beds in your room. You may not beleive me, but we just received new ones last week to change those that were not 'working' properly. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to give us another chance to serve you and try one of those new beds!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you want a city centre hotel, this has everything. Spotlessly clean, staff speak good English and fall over themselves to help. Most tourist attractions are within walking distance - 10 mins to the Royal Palace, 15 mins to the Prado museum. The hotel does not do dinners, but the breakfasts are excellent, and there are loads of restaurants and bars in nearby streets. The hotel can also arrange a shuttle service to and from the airport - 10 euros per person each trip. Taxis from the airport are about 40 euros with supplement for baggage.

However, be aware that Madrid is a late-night city which comes alive at about 10.00 pm and carries on way into the early hours. There is lots of noise from revellers enjoying themselves, great if you are part of it, but if you like your 8 hours sleep make sure you get a room away from the street - an interior room

If you want a change from Madrid one day, take a train trip to Toledo. The AVE fast train takes 30 minutes and a return ticket is about 18 euros. Make sure you book as the train is often full does not allow standing passengers. A day in Toledo either visiting the historic sites or just wandering round the city, is a wonderful extra to a trip to Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Davrobs
Thank you for sharing your comments, it's greart to know you enjoyed your stay despite the stret noise. We will be glad to welcome you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We arrived early afternoon into Madrid airport and set off on the Metro, we took the metro to the last stop on the line at Nuevos Ministerios, we then changed metro line to Tribunal, then again arriving at Sol, for a total of €2.50 each, (€1.00 is the airport supplement, on the way back you need to select other tickets at the pay machines). As with all underground transportation it is busy but as long as you have your route planned, keep an eye on your belongings and have them close to you, it is perfectly safe, and a lot cheaper than the shuttle bus or taxi. Coming out of the subway, we walked straight up the main shopping street, and at the top approx (100 yards) turned left, the Hotel was on the right, a small doorway between shops but the Hotel Sign is big enough to see you are in the right place.

We entered a small reception area, but the welcome was huge and very warm from the two gentlemen on duty. We were quickly checked in and confirmed that breakfast was included, (we booked through British Airways rather than the Best Western site as it was a better deal for the time we wanted to stay). We were given our key, and had it explained to us that the key also had to be used to turn on the power in the room. We were given a room at the front of the hotel on the third floor. The room had a double bed, and desk/dressing table, and a lounge chair. Certainly big enough for the two of us, there was a small wardrobe with plenty of hangars and a blanket stored in a zipper bag if we needed it for extra warmth. It was stuffy when we arrived so I tried the air-conditioning; it was very noisy as made by a previous comment on this site, so we opened the window. There was a secure shutter on the outside so we felt safe enough that the window could be left opened during the night. You are immediately aware you are in the city centre with the buzz of people going about their daily business, but we had a balcony and a view up and down the street so we could check out the weather before venturing out. We noticed that the safe needed a key and lock reading the information pack it said it was only $1.30 per day to rent, as in any hotel we stay in we rented the safe to secure our passports and money.

The hotel has a bar on the first floor which through the week had a happy hour of wine/beer or sangria for buy one get one free, we decided to give it a try it was €2.50 per bottle of beer, with a choice of Heineken or Amstel so in happy hour it was worth it. The breakfast room and internet access via a PC are also on the first floor. We used the PC on our last day to check in for our flight home and printed off our boarding cards at no cost to us.

Breakfast was a substantial affair, plenty of fresh fruit, juices, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats, cheese, pastries, bread for toasts which is self service and a hot breakfast area. On offer each day were scrambled eggs, tortilla, bacon and we noticed on one day mushrooms. The waiters were very efficient, bringing to your table, coffee or tea on request. We always had a full breakfast which set us up for the days walking ahead.

We discovered that in Madrid the bin men come around each night/morning and the shops receive deliveries at all hours of the morning from a very early start, if you can put up with the street noise then this is the hotel for you, if you have them, then I suggest you wear earplugs. It was quieter with the window closed, but I am the type of person that likes fresh air, the street noise was bearable, mind you a drunken group of Spanish men singing at the top of their voices was not welcome, but you can’t blame the hotel for that.

The hotel is central to most of Madrid’s main historical sights. It’s only a short walk to the main square of Plaza Mayor and the San Miguel Market where we spent a few hours enjoying wine and tapas each evening. Just down from there is a wonderful street Cava Baja; this street has many restaurants and bars and is well worth a visit, the only problem is deciding which one to go in. We hope to return to Madrid someday and if we do we will certainly be looking to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want to see Madrid then ask for a front of hotel room, if you want quiet then ask to be put a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love_2_travel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear love_2_travel666
Let me thank you for sharing such a detailed description about us wit the community!! I wonder if we should offer you a position in our sales team ;)
It's great to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, it will be such a pleasure to have you back among us your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 435 in Madrid
2,497 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#125 of 435 in Madrid
819 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#84 of 435 in Madrid
1,072 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 435 in Madrid
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing