We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #201 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Excellent location for the tourist visitor to walk and see key attractions, shopping, eateries or access the metro (though we didn't have to). We opted for the breakfast package too - simple food (hot, cold, cereals, bread etc) for the Western and European palate. Ample quantities. Helpful, English speaking staff. Room sizes aren't large but adequate given our experience in other European capital cities. We had a room with balcony that overlooks the shopping mall. Could be noisey at times during the night but for us the sounds of Madrid are part of he experience. Would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Chris W
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to others.
We'll be gald to see you back yuor nextvtime in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I was in Madrid for one night and this was the place to sty, it was literally near the heart of Madrid. It had a great location steps from Gran Via, Puerta Del Sol and Plaza Mayor along with all the shopping. The hotel was cute but not glamorous, however it suited me find for the day. The staff was friendly and went out of their way for me even when I asked if they had toothpaste they checked for me and gave me some (although it was old and dry lol) but I didnt fuss about it. The room was not large but did the job, it had a flat screen tv with lots of channels. THe AC was old and one of those wall AC's however It did the job and cooled the room. There was an odd smell int he room I admit and the furniture/bedding looked very stereotypical European which you would expect, it is Europe! THe bathroom was VERY GOOD. Better than the room itself. All white, tile, bidet, toilet, since and full shower. Not to mention I think this hotel had the BEST water pressure I have ever experienced EVER in a hotel. It was very powerful and AMAZING plus there was ample soap dispensing provided. They had a good breakfast. My negative complains are that I paid the same rate which was supposed to get breakfast and I ended up having to pay for breakfast for about 20 euros which is about $26 (not happy). Another gripe was that since it is int he center there is no parking and parking nearby is very expensive. Also, you have to pay for use of the safe which was not much but annoying. Overall I would recommend this hotel for a one or two night stay, i think for a longer stay I would not recommend it because it is not totally comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertsTrvlTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear RobertsTrvlTips
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. Your feedback is very mcuh appreciated, as it is our best way to try to upgrade our level of service.
It's great to know that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us despite the small cons you found. I would like to know wich the misunderstading with your breakfast was, we must have received you reservation without breakfast if we charged you for it. It would be helpful if you could send us further information by mail.
It would be great to have youback with us your next time in Madrid. If so, I just hope you found us enough compfortable as to reccomend us for longer stay, and not just for one or two days.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Carlos V Hotel twice on a trip to Spain. We got the name of the hotel from the Arthur Frommer book and it was worth it. The price was very reasonable and the rooms more than adequate. The best part is that the hotel is right in the middle of the downtown area and it is just a few minutes walk to department stores and restaurants. Don't be discouraged by the small entrance as the real hotel is on the second floor where there is a beautiful dining room and the hotel rooms. We also had a small balcony from which we could watch all of the activities in the busy area below. I highly recommend the Carlos V as reasonable accomodations for anyone. We thought it was great and would go back any time.

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice to us, but ask for their best room at the desk downstairs. The employees are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Leonard S
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community and your kind recommendation. Our main goal is to try to make our guests feel comfortable and we are proud to know we reached it with you! We would be glad to be your home at the heart of downton in case you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel in July 2013. it's small, and spartan accomodations; basic, but just fine for a major European city. Rooms are small, and decor is outdated, but very clean, and had air conditioning, which was welcome in the 35 degree temps. The location is the best thing about this place; it's walking distance to everything --just steps from Plaza del Sol, and a few minutes from Plaza Mayor. The staff were kind and helpful, and spoke limited English. I'd stay here again easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e-travelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear e-travelchick
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to give you shelter from the heat. We'll be glad to recieve you when you com back to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here multiple times on my visits to Madrid, last visit was this past weekend. As always a nice experience and excellent customer service. The location is out standing, right between Sol/Gran Via. Metro Sol/Callao is a two minute walk. Can't beat it

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Stan H
Thank you for sharing your comments with the communtiy, your feedback is very valuable to us in order to upgrade our level of service.
We feel proud and thankful of being your home at Madrid. Our main goal is to try to make our guests feel comfortable. It will be a pleasure to continue receiving you on your trips to our lovely town.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Comfort at reasonable price. Room and facilities excellent.Quiet location, but very near Plaza Mayor, so lots of places of interest within walking distance. Staff helpful and friendly , even when we came back at 5 a.m. !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldLooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear SheffieldLooby
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to see you enjoyed not only our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown but also Madrid's gorgeous nightlife!
It will be wonderful to have you back with us your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with my husband and eleven year old son. The room was clean and reasonably appointed with a double bed for my husband and I, and a day bed that converted to a single for our son. Our room was very quiet as it was at the back of the hotel with a window opening into a small courtyard. The hotel is located on a pedestrian street and within easy walking distance of the Plaza Mayor, the Palace, and most other major sites. The breakfast buffet includes hot and cold items and a good selection of meat, cheeses, and bread/pastries. The staff are very helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLM145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear JLM145
Thank you for sharing your coments with the community. It's great to get to know you enjoyed your stay with us at a quiet triple room. We would be very glad to receive you back if you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
BEST WESTERN Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
2,307 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Londres
Petit Palace Londres
#127 of 444 in Madrid
780 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#90 of 444 in Madrid
1,017 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#103 of 444 in Madrid
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing