We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #226 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent location, within 3 minutes walking distance from Puerta del Sol. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff are courteous and friendly. The breakfast is taken in the restaurant and provides a good choice. There was some noise from the street in the early hours but easily overcome by shutting the window and putting the aircon on. All In all, a very pleasant stay. Recommended .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sionwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Sionwil
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you found pleasant your stay at our hotel.
Sorry about the outside noise, it's somthing that comes along with our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
We would love to have you back with us your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just spent 3 nights here recently. We enjoyed our stay. The location was great. The rooms were small. We overcome that by unpacking what we need for our stay and to put suitcases up against the wall. The bathroom was adequate. There was no bath, only a shower which had really good water pressure. We looked on the fire escape plan and there was larger rooms there. The rooms at the front were bigger. The breakfast was nice. The staff were so nice, really helpful. There were supermarkets near by and there was plenty of shopping around the area. It was also cloe to the theatres etc. We did the hop on, hop off bus which was fantastic. They run very regularly. We got to see everything we wanted. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear marnology
First of all, thank you for sharing your comments with the community, it's great to know you enjoyed your stay at our property.
We would love to have you back whith us if you return to Madrid. If so, please note we do have romos both with a shower and with a bathtub, please let us know your preference on your reservation or at check-in, we'll be glad to please you.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is really centrally located and that is the best thing about this hotel.
The service was also really good and the staff was friedly and always available.
The breakfast was really nice.

The room was quite small but clean.
The bed was quite hard for my taste, though.
The worst thing about the room was the really notable sewer smell in the bathroom, It really bothered me during our four day visit and lasted the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: Ask a room from the back side of the hotel, they are quieter than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirpasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear sirpasi
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. Customers' feedback is our best way to test the real quality of our services and facilities and subsequently try to improve where we can.
I want to apologize for the smell you could feel in your room, I just wonder if you reported it during your stay; it seems we did not detect it, if we had it would have been solved immediately.
We would be very happy if you consider to stay back with us your next time in Madrid. If so, please do not hesitate to report at our front desk any problm or inconvenience you might find so that we can fix it.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on about 5 previous occasions, so obviously we think it's pretty good, and excellent value for money. We always ask for the same room which is 507 - top floor with a huge terrace. All the rooms at the top with terraces are the best as the terrace space makes up for lack of space in the room. As the hotel is situated in the middle of the pedestrian streets which lead down to the Puerta del Sol, there is no traffic noise at all. Staff members are all courteous and helpful and it's always good to keep coming back to a hotel that still has all the same staff. It's a good idea if coming from the airport to have a map for the taxi drivers as they always seem to have trouble finding the hotel (even when they use a GPS!) Even though the hotel is on a pedestrian street, taxis are quite at liberty to drive up and drop people off at the hotel door. Breakfast tends to be a bit average (a typical hotel buffet) but there are plenty of little cafes and restaurants close by if you just want coffee, (fresh) juice, croissants or pastries, for a fraction of the cost at the hotel. Free internet in the lounge is a bonus if you don't have your own computer. The only downside is the beds - not terribly comfortable and it may be time for them to be upgraded.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with terrace (not a "balcony room") - room 507 is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Zoe005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Zoe005
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the commuinity and for your loyalty to our brans and our property. We are proud to be your home at Madrid.
We'll aslo take very much in consideration your tip about our beds when thinking of future rennovations.
Hope to see you back son.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

As others have said, the really great thing about this hotel is its location. Superbly located for all the main sights. Don't be put off if the taxi driver appears to dump you in a pedestrian street as happened with us. The hotel is just round the corner. Taxis do come to the door for your trip back to the airport or the station. Friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast. The rooms are small as you would expect with this sort of place but perfectly clean with comfortable beds. Bit of city noise at night but not a big issue. Great value as well including free WiFi. Why do so many hotels still charge for that?

Room Tip: Higher the better, just to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear oldbutkeen
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
I am sorry your taxi driver didn’t bring you to our door, although are street is pedestrianized they are allowed to do it, as well as those for your trip back to the airport. I just hope your luggage were not too heavy to carry it the few meters round the corner.
We would be very happy to receive you back at our hotel your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The decision to stay at this hotel was a good one. Centrally located, it was an easy and very eye filling walk to just about everything. Although only 5 minutes from the Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real, Gran Via shopping, restaurants and cafes.....by the way, the restaurant in the Hotel is excellent!!! Very quiet considering it's close proximity to the activity centers nearby. Special gratitude to morning staff members Manual y Andres for their assistance in making our great experience in Madrid a long lasting one.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony.....not for the view necessarily, but because it gives you addition space to rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaheimCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear AnaheimCA
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s lovely to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff contributed to make your experience in Madrid an everlasting memory.
It would be great to receive you back at our hotel your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This a great 3-star hotel and we had no complaints whatsoever. Having read some rather negative comments beforehand, we were a little wary, but it turned out to be an excellent place to stay. Obviously, I haven't seen every room in the hotel, but 508 at the back of the hotel at the end of the corridor was absolutely fine. It was very clean with sufficient space both in the room and the bathroom. It should be remembered that this is a 3-star hotel offering excellent value for money, so if more is expected, then accommodation with a higher star rating should be sought. Being at the back, we heard nothing from outside. Only on occasions did we hear some guests allowing doors to slam noisily, but that is down to lack of consideration from them and is not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was provided in a beautifully furnished room which also acted as a lounge during the day and evening. A range of hot and cold food was served which was delicious and plentiful. Depending on the time you turned up meant the breakfast area could be busy, so we tried to get down before 9 o'clock which made it a pleasant experience. One of the hotel's greatest assets is its location. Considering it is in the centre of such a busy city, the location is really good. All the staff at the hotel were consistently courteous and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: When making the booking, request a room at the back of the hotel which is not facing the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear BritishFlyer
I’d like to start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
Yes, we have some reviews not as good as yours. It is our main goal to try to make our guests feel like home at our hotel but though with most of them, like you, we succeed I am afraid it is not always possible to exceed all the expectations. Anyway, together with those who write good reviews about our hotel like yours, we also thank those who let us know where we can improve.
It would be wonderful to have you back at BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlos V your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#86 of 438 in Madrid
1,193 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#124 of 438 in Madrid
915 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#89 of 438 in Madrid
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £127 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing