We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the heart of Madrid”
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #135 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“At the heart of Madrid”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel Opera had a great deal going, stay 3 nights and 4th is free, breakfast included! Positive comments on TripAdviser sealed the deal. Rooms are clean, air-conditioned, hot/cold water, with television and WI-FI. Traveling as a family of 4, they also accommodated our request to have rooms close to each other.

It gets better. The staff genuinely treated us as valued guests. When we checked in I finally met Noelia who had been promptly responding to my email inquiries before our arrival. She was extremely helpful mapping out nearby restaurants and shopping areas. Luis went out of his way to locate souvenirs I wanted to purchase from the duty-free display. All under the watchful eye of the Front Desk Manager, Ricardo. When we returned home, I had a billing inquiry that Daniel quickly resolved.

One of the best recommendations was the Opera dinner and show in the hotel’s restaurant. OMGosh! Cast of the Opera next door entertained us at the dinner show, what an amazing performance, a highlight of our visit. The dinner itself was fabulous and the service was outstanding. If you’re in staying at Hotel Opera or anywhere in Madrid, Hotel Opera dinner and the show should be on your “must do” list.

Breakfast buffet was awesome! Choices included pastries, coffee, tea, juice, fruits, yogurt, toast, eggs, meats, cheeses, cereals, and so many other options. Hotel Opera also has a café serving the best Sangria, gotta try it.

Just outside the doors walk around Plaza Isabel II to the Royal Palace and many wonderful cafe’s. Across the Plaza walk up Calle del Arenal through more restaurants and shops. Within 5 minutes you’ll be walking onto Gran Via with historic and modern shops. If you need to do laundry, there’s a great Laundromat on Calle Silva just up the street from Hotel Opera.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,

Antes de todo, agradecerle su fabuloso comentario acerca de su estancia en nuestro Hotel Ópera, situado en el corazón de Madrid.

Es un placer comprobar que durante toda su estancia con nosotros, todo ha sido de su agrado y que se llevan un estupendo recuerdo.

Transmitiremos su comentario a los departamentos y personas correspondientes y esperamos pooder contar con ustedes en otras ocasiones para que de nuevo se sientan como en su casa.

Recuerden que pueden seguir visitando nuestras promociones y ofertas en nuestra página web.

Reciba un cordial saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    449
    162
    47
    28
See reviews for
224
488
65
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Hotel was super clean. great staff - Daniel was awesome... I mean really awesome in helping us navigate everything from parking to places to see. The bathrooms are huge - we reserved an upgraded room with an extra large balcony. The location was great - so close to the Palace but not in the midst that is the zoo of Puerta del Sol.

Room Tip: Rent the balcony rooms - definitely worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpanawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Opera and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your nights in our hotel.
You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights second week of May. Great location handy to metro and bus connections to everywhere. Royal Palace (worth a look) very close by. Room was fine and bathroom excellent also. Breakfast typical continental but plenty of it and good. A special thanks to Martin on the Front Desk for his warmth and help when I got my wallet stolen. He helped me connect with relevant card services to cancel cards stolen (luckily my husband had his). Couldn't have asked for better service from Martin. Other front desk staff very good also. Cafe/restaurant located in hotel is very good too and food excellent. Was always busy when we were there. Would definitely recommend this hotel as great value for money and excellent location. Well done, Hotel Opera, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieAnn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Ópera.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel in late June and early July 2013 for 7 nights. I had a single room on the third floor which overlooked the street. I must say that the noise from the street at night was bothersome but not a deal breaker. The room was small, typical of European standards. The bathroom was larger than I expected. The room and bathroom were very clean. The front desk staff were wonderful, but the late evening-night staff could use a lesson in being friendly and helpful to their guests. The breakfast was good. The scrambled eggs were a bit overcooked but they also had hard-boiled eggs. A variety of fruits were available, as well as cereal, yogurt, donuts, muffins, churros, cheese, meats and bread. Coffee, juices, water were also available. One of the best attributes of this hotel is the location. It is very centrally located, within a walking distance to many sites, including the Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor. The metro is very close by. The hotel is good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Ópera.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Hotel Opera is located in the very heart of the old part of Madrid, so it is an ideal base for exploring that part of the city. Subway and bus connections are also excellent so it is easy to visit other areas. It is a very short walk away from the Royal Palace and the beautiful square in front of it. There are any number of great bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood and there is a lot going on in the square in front of the Teatro Real which is just around the corner. The hotel is fine, friendly and convenient. Not exactly luxurious but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good and the bar and coffee shop are fine. Good enough at its price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burns62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Opera and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again, here in our hotel situated in the heart of the city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I really recommend this hotel. Very good service and very helpfull people at the recepcion desk. Free wi-fi. Very good location, at the city center just next to Opera building. I had a great time in Opera Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for your comment about your stay at our Ópera Hotel in Madrid.

Its a pleasure to know that your stay has been greatful. We always like to offer our best service and be helpfull with all our customers.

We look forward to see you soon again and remember you can visit our website to have the best offers and promos.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The rooms were smaller than I imagined (way too small compared to US standards, but still tiny).. That said, very clean and convenient location. The staff were very friendly and helped out! Value for money! Breakfast was fresh and great.. Would have loved if the cleaning staff paid a little bit more attention to what they were doing. But that NIT..

Room Tip: dont get the one next to elevator..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear guest,

Let me start by thanking you for completing our guest survey regarding your recent stay with us, here at the Opera Hotel.
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 436 in Madrid
2,932 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,674 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#44 of 436 in Madrid
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Property: HOTEL OPERA
Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#94 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing