We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location for family of four” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #150 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location for family of four”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. The staff at this hotel made our stay comfortable. They did a great job of addressing our needs and even provided some last minute modifications to really aid us. They provided us with excellent referrals for local sites and a great flamenco show.
The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The room we were occupying was for a family of four and was very spacious. You may wish to bring ear plugs for sleeping if you are light sleeper as the rooms face the adjoining square and weekend nights can be loud (we were there on a Sunday to Wednesday and found that particular Sunday night to be noisy at 4 in the morning).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom_10591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear customer,

First of all, thanks for your comment about your family stay in our Opera Hotel located in the heart of Madrid.

Its a pleasure for us having familys like yours in our Hotel. Our Family rooms are perfect for all the families who want to stay together. Close to the most touristic places to go walking and enjoy the best tapas areas of Madrid.

About the noise in the rooms,We cant forget that we are located in the centre of Madrid and its impossible not to have a little bit of noise, but even that, all our customers can sleep and relax in their rooms.

We look forward to hearing form you soon to continue recomend you thousands places to visit in Madrid and remember you can continue visiting our website to enjoy our seasonal promos and offers.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    427
    152
    46
    25
See reviews for
212
451
58
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location could not be more perfect! The room, although small for American standards, was comfortable and had everything needed. After all, you only spend time in the room to shower and sleep. More importantly, very clean. Walked into the room while maid was cleaning bathroom, and she was on her knees cleaning the floor inch by inch!
The restaurants were awesome, specially the live Opera show while dining some fine food. The management was top notch, very attentive and accommodating. Thank you for making my first trip to Europe a truly unforgettable one ❤

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Machela567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear customer,

How nice is to know that your trip to Spain and in our Hotel Opera has been unforgettable. we thank you a lot for your comment in Tripadvisor.

Our rooms are big enough to relax and chilling with all type of facilities after a lond day visiting the city.

For people who dont know about our cafteria El cafe, is a fantastic one, where you can enjoy our singer dinners, daily menus or the best gyntonics and Cocktails after walk and shopping in the evening.

We will transfer your comment to the rest of staff and we look forward to hearing from you soon for your next trip in Madrid.

Remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is situated in a quieter area of Madrid. Noise in general is minimal, and we certainly were not disturbed by noise once the bedroom blinds were drawn. The staff are friendly and helpful, and their command of English is very good (much better than my Spanish at any rate!) Breakfast is the normal fare you get in most european city hotels; the 'continental' breakfast is great, the 'english cooked' breakfast is probably best avoided.
Our room faced the palace, which is a very short walk away, and a metro station is near enough around the corner.
The bar serves the most enormous and fabulous G&Ts...I'd probably go back just for that! If I were to go back to Madrid, I would certianly stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you close the external blinds as well as draw the curtains to keep out noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treenie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, thank you for your comment about your saty in our Opera Hotel located at the heart of Madrid.

Its a pleasure to know that your excpectative about our Hotel and our services has been great. We try to offer the best of us and the best continental and english breakfast with our homemade and fresh products every moorning.

We look forward hearing from you you soon and remember you can continue visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Like most reviews here, this hotel is perfectly situated in Madrid. A few steps away from Opera Metro station which is a main hub for getting around the city. We received a very warm welcome from Daniel & Vanessa followed by a quick check in procedure. Lift floor access via your entry card was an added bonus. A good size room with a decent bathroom space. Room was cleaned daily and dust free. Breakfast buffet selection was very good. All staff we met were very warm and friendly and always willing to help. I need to mention a big thank you to Lucia who recommended La Cave De Illian to us as we had a wonderful dinner in this authentic restaurant. I would have given a 5 star rating if hotel was not missing in room tea & coffee making facilities and stronger shower pressure. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Madrid!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for this comment about your stay in our Hotel Ópera located in the heart of Madrid.

We will tell to Daniel, Vanesa and Lucia about this gorgeous comment.

We try to help to all our customers, thats the reason why all of you enjoy your holidays in our Hotel. We are a little family, and we want let you feel like that.

Thanks a lot and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Remmeber you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and was very clean. The rooms are normal size for New York or anywhere in Europe. (I live in Chicago so I always want more space). However, the restaurant in the hotel is great for breakfast and the staff is so helpful. The hotel breakfast (buffet) is not worth the extra price. The hotel restaurant is better and has more options. The hotel is just steps away from the Palacio Real and the Plaza del Sol. Love Madrid and this only made the stay better.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cracklepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks a lot for your comment in Tripadvisor about your stay in our Hotel Ópera located in the heart of Madrid.

We offer two options for breakfast: Our buffet breakfast with fresh and homemade variety of products. It is 15 euros per person. But also, we have our cafeteria where people can go for a coffee if you dont breakfast a lot. both options are perfect we try as always, offer you our best service.

Its a pleasure having customers for us, so we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel has a great central location with the plaza major, grand via and royal palace all a few minutes walk away with the opera and metro station across the road. Helpful English speaking reception staff generous hot and cold breakfast buffet. We had a family room for four (room 110) on first floor which was large with huge modern bathroom and air con. Enjoyed windows open to hear city buzz but quite when closed to get some sleep. Book direct in advance for best rates including free breakfast we paid £135 a night for four persons. They offer a taxi shuttle at 13 euro but for more than one person a taxi is better at 26 euro or the metro takes you door to door. Tip most museums are free in the evenings and Sunday afternoon and do try the tapas. Enjoy madrid its a great city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landr0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, thanks for your comment about your stay in our Hotel Opera located in the heart of Madrid.

The room that you had is a family room perfect for families who travel together.

If you are travelling to enjoy the city, our Hotel ópera offers you a great location just because you can go walking to every places in a few minutes, but it also offers you silence if you want to relax and chill after a touristic day around the city.

To go the the airport we offer you two options: one of them is the shuttle transfer (13€ per person) or a taxi.

We hope you had a great stay with us and we look forward to see you soon again.

Remember you can visit our website to continue enjoying the best promos and offers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The service staff were very nice. Very helpful when asking for directions or recommendations for places to eat. There are 9 floors. We stayed on the 6th floor, and we are a family of 4.. The room was dusty, I think because the curtains haven't been cleaned in a while. I had to ask the maid to mop and vacuum the floor (no carpets). I do not think it is a standard to mop and vacuum everyday. The bathroom was very old. The tile around the shower was in need of repair. There was dust/dirt on the wall near the bathroom fan. I asked twice for it to be cleaned, but I guess the message was not properly translated for the maid. It was not a comfortable room, not clean to my standards, and the wi-fii was spotty. Sometimes it worked, and sometimes it didn't work. The room was noisy even though we were on the 6th floor. You could hear people singing (opera) on the street at 3am because there are only single pane windows. We had the breakfast buffet. It was OK for coffee, croissants, yogurt and fruit. The eggs looked awful every day, and the milk for cereal was like cream. Although it said "cold milk" it was warm, so cereal was not an option. The buffet was old after 3 days. We stayed for 6 days. The pictures shown on the website looked a lot nicer than the room we stayed in. They do not accurately depict the quality of the room. Unfortunately this hotel room was part of a package deal. If we did not prepay we would have left this hotel. We will not return for another visit.

Room Tip: Choose only the big chain hotels: westin, Marriott, Hampton inn etc. when travelling. It's bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear guest,

Let me start by thanking you for completing our guest survey regarding your recent stay with us, here at the Hotel Opera
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
Hotel Ópera is situated in the centre of Madrid, and Madrid is a city with a full of live, and sometimes we aren’t able to control the noise in the street.
The buffet is replenished every day, with fresh produce and freshly made.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Maria Carús
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#68 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#153 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Puerta America
#103 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#82 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#26 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Property: HOTEL OPERA
Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#102 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Superbreak UK and Agoda so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing