We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night at the Opera”
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #136 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My traveling companion and I just spent two nights at the Hotel Opera in the heart of Madrid. This wonderful boutique hotel is perfectly situated on a quiet side street adjacent to the Royal Opera House. it's also within easy walking distance to the Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, and the Royal Palace. Daniel, our gracious host, a third generation hotelier, extended himself to provide exemplary service. The rooms are well appointed impeccably maintained, and contemporary, as well as being priced quite reasonably considering the location. The complimentary breakfast, offered a full array of eggs, meats, cheeses, and pastries, along with hot & cold beverages. My friend and I agreed that this was definitely one of the best hotel breakfasts we have ever enjoyed. Wifi, albeit a little spotty, is also included compliments of the hotel. As seasoned travelers, my companion and I both agree that we would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for the perfect stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the side street, away from the plaza are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spadude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Opera and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your nights in our hotel.
I have shared your kind words with our staff. It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Maria Carús
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Have just returned from a great four night stay here.
The hotel was very modern inside and in a great location with plenty of options to eat and drink nearby. We walked to all the major attractions and never felt the need to use the metro. Hotel staff very friendly and recommended a great flamenco show. We were on the very top floor in the "attic" but it was great. Very quiet and spacious. Room kept spotless by our maid. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you don't mind having no windows with a view, just skylights, top floor really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brookster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Customer,

Thanks a lot for your comment in our Opera Hotel at the heart of Madrid.

Being at Opera Hotel means being next to the main places to visit. without taking the metro of course.

Our rooms on the top are very comfy, quiet and shine rooms.

Its a pleasure having customers like you. Who apreciate our effort. All our staff work hard to offer your best service.

Remember you can continue visit our website to enjoy the best offers.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The staff at the hotel exceeded expectations and were very friendly and helpful! They spoke great english and helped me and my partner with all of our tourist-y questions!

The hotel owner Daniel was a really nice guy and immediately changed our room when requested!

Perfect location, great value and even better service!

Will definately be returning to Hotel Opera!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msk121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Customer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your fantastic comment about your stay in our Family Opera Hotel located at the heart of Madrid.

We love our work and we want to offer you our best smile and service every day, that´s the reason you had a great stay with us.

We will transmit your comment to Daniel, and of course we would like to see you soon again.

Remember you can continue visit our website to enjoy the best promos and seasonal offers.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This old kind of hotel that take care of their customers, the staff solved me 2 problems that they did not have to. Breakfast until 11, perfect for the long nights in Madrid :) They provide good references to shows. Obviously a great location. Worth it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Customer,

we would like to thank you your gorgeous commnet about your stay in Our Hotel Ópera in Madrid.

In our Hotel, we like to offer long breaksfasts: for people who have to work and they need to wake up early, but also for all our customers who are on holidays and they like to wake up late. Thats the reason why people like to come to our Hotel. because we think in all of you.

We look forward to hearing from you soon and remember you canc onitnue visiting our website to enjoy the best seasonal promos and offers.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was until 11am allowing for luxurious lay in's!!! Lots of variety and cooked breakfast was delicious. The room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Situated in the centre of Madrid we had access to everything. Walking distance of the Palace, bars and spectacular views over the park...watching the sunset is a must. The Metro is straight forward and frequent and very cheap. If you visit Madrid definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear customer,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment about your stay in our Hotel Ópera located in the heart of Madrid.

There is any NO for our customers. We try to do all the things we can to offer you our best service

We hope you had a Fantastic days with us, and we look forward see you soon again.

Remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. The staff at this hotel made our stay comfortable. They did a great job of addressing our needs and even provided some last minute modifications to really aid us. They provided us with excellent referrals for local sites and a great flamenco show.
The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The room we were occupying was for a family of four and was very spacious. You may wish to bring ear plugs for sleeping if you are light sleeper as the rooms face the adjoining square and weekend nights can be loud (we were there on a Sunday to Wednesday and found that particular Sunday night to be noisy at 4 in the morning).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom_10591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear customer,

First of all, thanks for your comment about your family stay in our Opera Hotel located in the heart of Madrid.

Its a pleasure for us having familys like yours in our Hotel. Our Family rooms are perfect for all the families who want to stay together. Close to the most touristic places to go walking and enjoy the best tapas areas of Madrid.

About the noise in the rooms,We cant forget that we are located in the centre of Madrid and its impossible not to have a little bit of noise, but even that, all our customers can sleep and relax in their rooms.

We look forward to hearing form you soon to continue recomend you thousands places to visit in Madrid and remember you can continue visiting our website to enjoy our seasonal promos and offers.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location could not be more perfect! The room, although small for American standards, was comfortable and had everything needed. After all, you only spend time in the room to shower and sleep. More importantly, very clean. Walked into the room while maid was cleaning bathroom, and she was on her knees cleaning the floor inch by inch!
The restaurants were awesome, specially the live Opera show while dining some fine food. The management was top notch, very attentive and accommodating. Thank you for making my first trip to Europe a truly unforgettable one ❤

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Machela567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear customer,

How nice is to know that your trip to Spain and in our Hotel Opera has been unforgettable. we thank you a lot for your comment in Tripadvisor.

Our rooms are big enough to relax and chilling with all type of facilities after a lond day visiting the city.

For people who dont know about our cafteria El cafe, is a fantastic one, where you can enjoy our singer dinners, daily menus or the best gyntonics and Cocktails after walk and shopping in the evening.

We will transfer your comment to the rest of staff and we look forward to hearing from you soon for your next trip in Madrid.

Remember you can visit our website to enjoy the best promos and offers.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 438 in Madrid
1,924 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#66 of 438 in Madrid
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 438 in Madrid
1,712 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 438 in Madrid
3,968 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#52 of 438 in Madrid
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#93 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £70 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Splitty, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing