We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time in this wonderful hotel - Highly recommended”
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #125 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Third time in this wonderful hotel - Highly recommended”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed eight days in this hotel (my third time in three years) and can't say enough good things about it. The location is wonderful: a very short walk to the subway, Palace, Gran Via, Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. Comfortable, clean room with plenty of electrical outlets, safe. The buffet breakfast is very good. The staff is wonderful: helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maiglesias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Ópera.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Maria Carús
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    470
    164
    49
    29
See reviews for
242
507
70
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed 1 night as part of an excellent inclusive deal with BA. Warmly welcomed.
Good enough room with a street view but still quiet.

Breakfast time was actually not what was stated in the room, finishing earlier but the staff were relaxed about it. The breakfast was good.

Location was central for walking and also to access to the metro

Service in Café rather slow possibly as some folk who may have been regulars got more attention than the staffing level could really afford.

Would consider again dependent on price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

Let me start by thanking you for completing our guest survey regarding your recent stay with us, here at the Hotel Opera.
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Maria Carús
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Firstly let me start by saying this hotel isn't a bad hotel. It was average but with a little tweaking could be a lovely place to stay.

The Room
I was a singe traveller so put in what felt like the smallest room in the hotel but it was perfectly acceptable for my needs. However, they clearly had split one big room into two small ones but not properly so you could hear everytime someone showered, went to the toilet or made any normal loudness of noise at all from the other side of the wall.

The room was mostly clean apart from I did notice my toilet bowl hadn't been cleaned and had wee down from previous guest. Little thing that should have been picked up.

Also when I arrived I noticed my TV was 'propped on the side'. I looked closer and the entire TV fell out of the wall. When reported a man came to fix straight away but again something that should have been noticed prior to anyone checking in and potentially dangerous.


The breakfast
Is expensive for what it is but has adequate fruit, cereal, bread and bacon to make your own bacon sandwich. However, I noticed on final day I asked for coffee and was given a coffee pot from someones table who had just left - fresh coffee isn't too much to ask!!

The Staff
All seem ok but no one went hugely out of their way at all, apart form one lady on reception who seemed to be the only person who knew what to do. A good morning / afternoon as you come back in shouldn't be too much to ask not been told where breakfast is served or directed to your room on your first day.

The Gym
Finally the gym is small but works well - but don't expect and great views your cant see through the window as they're in desperate need for cleaning

Overall, the hotel is OK. Its clean linen and comfortable bed but didn't give me much more, other than a great location to base yourself from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

Let me start by thanking you for completing our guest survey regarding your recent stay with us, here at the Hotel Opera.
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.

From Manager Department we assure you that we take note about your comments to improve our installations and our service.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Maria Carús
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel over the weekend of the Champion's League final and felt right amongst the atmosphere but a quiet location come evening. Just off the main thoroughfares of Gran Via and Calle de Arenal, ideally located for easy reach of the Royal Palace and most of the key attractions. Perfect for hopping on the open top bus tour and easy access to the Metro too. Rooms are compact but have all the amenities you'll need for a short stay. Modern and clean feel although the layout of the bathroom required some careful negotiation if paying a visit in the middle of the night or after a bottle or two of Rioja! Rather a tight squeeze to access the toilet...
Initially concerned about close proximity of room to the lift shaft but this didn't cause any disturbance for a light sleeper!
Breakfast was good, a variety of things on offer and sets you up for a busy day of sightseeing. Reception staff helpful and obliging and always ready to say hello. Didn't try the restaurant but visited the Cafe for a light lunch one day - Great cakes and pastries.
Took a pre-booked segway tour on our first morning, great way to get your bearings and also took the Metro to the Zoo (get off train at Casa de Campo rather than Batan, as it's signposted). Worth making an early visit, especially at the weekend, to beat the crowds at the animal enclosures. Loved seeing the Pandas and walking through the lemur enclosure.
Would definitely recommend this hotel as the perfect location to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went to the Hotel Opera in May and we really enjoyed our stay. Extremely nice and very helpful staff and its location is absolutely perfect! We did not have to take the transport at all - we could walk virtually to every major tourist attraction in Madrid. The area is beautiful with a lot going on during the day and at night time. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

For Madrid, this hotel is in an great location - you can easily walk to so many of the great sites, including the Palace, Mercado, Puerta del Sol and Plaza de Espana. Outside the hotel is a really nice small plaza with restaurants and while I was there a great little food fair.

I had a single room and I was not pleased with it. There was about a foot between the bed and the desk with no room to move around, really sit at the desk comfortably, etc. The bathroom was a decent size. Hotel seemed fairly clean. I had the breakfast and if you can get it free in your room rate, it is good, otherwise, I would step outside and enjoy something a little less expensive nearby.

Service overall was not very good. The front desk staff always looked as if I was bothering them if I asked a question or even upon check in and check out. I saw them be friendly with others, so I don't know if it was because I was American or for some other reason. I had dinner in the Opera Café one night and the service was horrible and the food wasn't too much better. The waiter was actually quite rude. I would not recommend it.

I would return to this hotel again if I was able to get a good rate simply for the location. I really loved the ability to quickly walk to so many places.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngieRoberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for four nights and couldn't believe the location. It's really close to the palace and (unsurprisingly) the Opera House, which means it's also close to lots of shops and restaurants. A lot of the shops are open late so you can go for a browse after dinner, you know you're on holiday when you can do that! Great for the palace too, it's useful to get there early as it gets so busy, as it's literally round the corner that's easy to do.

The room was large and quiet, with a clean fully equipped bathroom (no bath but you don't tend to get them in Spain). Also no kettle, but again they don't tend to provide them so fair enough.

The hotel is really close to the Metro so easy to get around, but surprisingly quiet at night. We felt really safe wandering around. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,709 reviews
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 436 in Madrid
3,001 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 436 in Madrid
3,831 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Property: HOTEL OPERA
Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#89 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing