We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Meets Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Posada del Leon de Oro
Ranked #143 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old World Meets Modern”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A perfect location and lovely place. We stayed with our daughter for 3 nights. The hotel is located at the old city in the middle of everything, in a charming late 19th century building, renovated. Room has a beautiful new bathroom, stunning stylish modern lamps, chairs and a Murphy bed pulled from wall. There are bar and restaurant at the first floor, but our room facing courtyard was quite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbyjiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Abbyjiang,

First of all, we would like to thank you for spent your time in written this review on tripadvisor site.
We are glad your stay were nice and you and your familiy enjoy in Madrid.
It would be a pleasure if the next time you come back to Madrid, you will visit us. So, you can stay in a different type of room. We remind you we have 17 rooms with a its own style.
Great Regards from Posad del León de Oro Team.
Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    157
    40
    11
    17
See reviews for
114
223
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I absolutely adored staying at the Posada. The staff was amazingly warm and welcoming, the food, drinks, and service were superb. The location was ideal. Centrally located, my boyfriend and I walk all over the city. To the Posado, to the castle, to various shopping and restaurants. It seems to be in a more upper scale area and we always felt safe walking around, even after midnight coming back from a late dinner. We will definitely stay here again, if we ever make it back to Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveCoffeeWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear HaveCoffee,
First of all thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are glad you spent nice days at the Posada del León de Oro. All team will be informed about your comment.
We hope you can visit us again and you can stay longer and you stay in a different type of room.
Each room we have are differente from each other.
All of us want to wish you good days for you.
Regards form León de Oro Team.
Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I've stayed in the same hotel between Sol and the Prado the six or seven times I've come to Madrid, but chose this place after reading a positive review in the New York Times. Stayed here for only two nights and am glad to have done so. I liked this small hotel quite a bit.

The location on Calle Cava Baja in La Latina feels more 'neighborhood-y' in the sense that, at night time, people come to enjoy the many tapas bars and restaurants along the street. In the morning and during the day, the area was quite peaceful even though it's only a stone's throw from the Plaza Mayor and Sol.

My room (not the smallest, nor the largest of the three types available) was quite large and looked over the Calle Cava Baja. I was concerned about the potential for noise, but the sound insulation provided by the double-glazed windows was excellent and I slept exceptionally well. Nice things about the room included clean lines, a huge flat-screen TV, memory-foam mattress, two kinds of pillows, modern tub/shower/toilet/sink, nice tubes of bath products, lots of lighting options, abundant plugs, a large safe, and this sort of clothes-hanger thing that was separate from the hangers in the closet. Clearly a lot of thought went into the design of the rooms.

I ate at the little tapas bar in the lobby and thought the food was of a high quality. Particularly enjoyed the tosta with jamon iberico and salmorejo as well as the croquetas with spinach, bacalao, pine nuts and raisins. The sangria was really nice, too.

The only small drawback, and I suppose an inevidible effect of a room that's almost entirely white, is that small scuffs show up easily on the floors and walls. Nothing major, but noticeable here and there. Similarly, in an all-white bathroom, spots on the grout and dirt on the caulking show up easily. I imagine that, in time, the hotel will need to do a thorough 'once-over' to restore the rooms' original shine.

I'd add that the price certainly was right... I booked many weeks in advance and took the risk that my plans wouldn't change. Paid 100 euros a night and consider that pretty much a bargain for the location and quality of the room. Had I needed to cancel, however, there would have been no refund. Glad it worked out.

I would stay at the Posada del Leon de Oro again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MAWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear MaWander,
Thank you very much for your time in writen a review.
We appreciate everything you have comented.
We are pleased you had a nice stay and you have decide to come back again.
A colleague of us is visiting each room in order to fix every detail whichi is needed.
Leon de Oro Team say hello to you,
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Myself & my wife came across this Hotel just days before our planned 4 night visit to Madrid. We were originally booked in for the first 2 nights, as we had every intention of moving on to our already booked stay at a 5 star Hotel. So it was with our delight that as soon as we arrived we knew we would not need to go anywhere else so stayed the 4 nights here.

If you like a modern and funky hotel, with a super selection of wines by the glass, nice coffee and a bar that's busy then you'll love this place. It's the first time I've stayed in a place where the photos are 100% accurate - no airbrushing on these photos, if anything they don't do the place justice.

The staff are all young & helpful, and the location is ideal for a short break. La Latina is a district with plenty of bars & restaurants (be careful where you go, we had an awful Paella in a nearby restaurant one evening) and walking distance to Plaza Mayor, Sol, the Palace and the Opera, but it has two Metro stops very nearby also.

The only tip I would make is if you need total silence to sleep then book a room on the 2nd/3rd floor and away from the street. Having said that we didn't even request a new room, but if we were to go again we would ask for this. It's not excessive, but at the weekends there will be the usual fun had outside on the street, and also the roadsweepers kick in prerry early there too!

All in all we can't wait to return, and would even consider taking our kids with us next time

Room Tip: If you need total silence to sleep then book a room on the 2nd/3rd floor and away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank very much for your comment. It has been a pleasure having you as clients at the hotel. I promise. We are glad you spent nice days and we say thank you for your nice words.
Our goal is everyone can feel exactly what you felt. It's amazing to know the good job has a result the happyness of our guests.
We have known recently rooms on the first floor could be a little bit noisy, but this not happen in all of them. Anyway, thank you for telling us about it and we will do everything to improve it.
We also are pleased you spent all your free days with us. That means you and your wife had good days among us.

We hope we can see you shortly .

Our very best regards,

Have a nice week!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

When booking our hotel I actually meant to book the property next door (Dragon) but it turned out to be a very happy mistake (thank you Google!)! The desk staff at the Posada del Leon were very helpful and spoke excellent English. After our three-night stay we had to catch a very early morning train and they arranging a taxi and early check-out was no problem at all. Our room was spacious with an incredibly comfortable and huge bed (memory foam mattress) and it also had a walk-in shower/wet room. It overlooked the narrow bustling street below but because of the sound-proofing we had no problem with the noise. The only slight problem we had with the room was that the air-conditioning left both of us with sore throats every morning, but this wore off in the afternoons. Despite this, I would highly recommend the hotel. One of the best things about this hotel is its location. La Latina and the Cava Baja itself is a great area for bars and restaurants and is still within walking distance of the city centre squares. The hotel was very goodvalue for money and was a great place to start our Spanish holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Cava Baja
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Sibhoan,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad your stay were nice and comfortable.
We have viscoelastic beds and pillows due to we want our clients sleep in a good way and they can rest after a long day.
It's a pleasure having you in our hotel.
We hope see you again shortly.
Our very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

A beautiful historic building in a great central location between the Rastro and the Plaza Mayor in Madrid, rooms and public areas are tastefully renovated without spoiling the old feel of the place. The staff is friendly and helpful, the coffee great, the wine selection impressive. The rooms are spacious with excellent beds and great showers. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1travel4fun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We can easily recommend this lovely hotel. Service was friendly and helpful, and the location of the hotel is excellent; La Latina is nice and lively area and the metro station is near. Our room was chic and spacious (even I read in advance that the rooms are small..?). Also Wi-fi worked, which was nice.

The only minus is that the advertised "Breakfast buffet for 12 euros" is not really a buffet, but You can order coffee, bread, eggs etc. from a menu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaJaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#65 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#61 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Silken Puerta America
#97 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
HOTEL OPERA
HOTEL OPERA
#141 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#89 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Property: Posada del Leon de Oro
Address: Calle Cava Baja 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Madrid
#57 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#99 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing