We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada del Leon de Oro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Apolo(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Rubio(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
314
186
52
18
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
186
52
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscava bajatapasglass floorplaza mayorgreat locationgreat streetbars and restaurantslovely boutiquethe hotel sitssmall hotelfamily roomfirst floorboutique hotelextra bedwelcome drinkbalcony overlookinghuge bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Posada del Leon de Oro is a real gem and much better than the 4 star rating the Spanish hotel ratings give it. We were greated by Nacho, who let us choose our room from 2 that were available. The rooms are very modern, in contrast with the exterior and common rooms of the hotel which date way back. Our room was in the back of the hotel so we were not disturbed by the street noises.
The Calle Cava Baja is known for its many tapas bars and restaurants and in true Spanish style, they are open and partying until the wee hours of the morning.
The location is very convenient to the Plaza Mayor and other tourist areas, including the Royal Palace. If you don't want to walk around, you can get the red bus at the Plaza.
The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and the service very attentive. A unique feature of the restaurant and the small bar at the front of the lobby was the glass floor which allows you to see the archeologic structures found during renovation and excavation.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the back of the hotel to avoid the late night revelers on the street in front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnitMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Knit,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor site.

Thank you again for everything you say about us. It is truth when you arrive at the hotel, you believe that the room could be decorated in a classic style. But it isn't. So, when you come in to the room, you enjoy of a modern style in a old guest house of XIX Century.

The hotel is located in the district of La Latina, it is known for its tapas bar and restaurants. And we are close to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, Teatro Real, Palacio Real...

We have part of the Christian Wall XII Century on the floor, which you can see them by the glass floor.

We hope you can visit us again and you can stay in another different room.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 5 nights in July. I did so much research on hotels in Madrid before going - this was a perfect fit for our family. We got 2 Cava rooms for the 4 of us and this gave us a lot of space. The rooms were connected by one main outside door. The hotel is very modern, new and contemporary. The king beds were super comfy and the rain showers were awesome. The best part of this hotel is its location. It is right on Cava Baja with some of the best restaurants in Madrid with 1 - 5 mins walking distance. We didn't have to go far for great food and that was absolutely the best. The hotel is 2 mins walk to Plaza Mayor and 7 mins to Puerto del Sol. Location was superb if you are a foodie. The hotel is in the older part of Madrid with lots of charm. It has a very different feel than the chain hotels near the Prada/Retiro park. Our family preferred the more intimide setting of this location and felt we were really experiencing the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Mom,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor site.

It's a pleasure to know you had a good stay at Posada del León de Oro. All of our rooms have viscoelastic mattress and pillows and it makes you can rest in a good way.

Not all the rooms have the same style and decoration. So, we invite you can stay here the next time and get another room type.

As we are in the downtown of Madrid, you can reach every place walking around, and you don't need to spend lot of time.

We hope see you again shortly.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Our room was upgraded to a much larger room than normal upon arrival. It was a little funky but very clean. Had read about noise but had none. Perhaps because we immediately went on Spanish time. Up very late!
The location was amazing. Close to everything! We walked to the Royal Palace, Prado, and Reina Sofia. (Don't bother to wait in line for the free times for these museums as it does not apply to Americans.) The bed was so comfortable and
the A/C was great after a long day of touring. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room if you are worried about noise and need to go to bed early.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear Yksy,

First of all, thank your very much for your review on Tripadvisor site.

It is a pleasure to know you had a good stay at Posada del León de Oro, you enjoyed and you learnt more and more about Madrid.

We would be glad if you visit us again when you decide to come back to Madrid. So, you can sleep in another room type. We have 17 different rooms with all their facilities.

We hope see you shortly,

Our very best regards from León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Arriving late was no problem at this lively hotel. Our two teens were thrilled to see our taxi stop in the middle of a friendly, narrow street lined with tapas bars, restaurants and gelato stands, each brimming with lots of families as well as many young adults and teens. The hotel's street doors were wide open at ground level, welcoming guests into their popular bar and restaurant area. We were given a clean, third floor room with two queen beds. Surprisingly, it was actually quiet despite the party down below (even on the night of the European Soccer cup!) Much needed, on the premises laundry service was available for about 15 Euros for a small load.

Our only problem during our stay was the shower's slow drainage; the two inch stall rim flooded over during one of my daughter's showers. We forgot to mention this problem to the staff on our early AM checkout -- I hope it gets repaired soon. We loved our stay otherwise; the staff was very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room if you wish for more quiet. Be careful with your shower length to prevent flooding or check that drainage is sufficient.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Dear Camille,

First of all, we would like to thank you the time you have spent in writting a review on Tripadvisor site.

It's a pleasure for us to know you had nice days at Posada del León de Oro and you enjoyed during your stay in Madrid.
Due to the European Soccer Cup, there were lot of people on the bar watching the match. So, for this reason, you probably found overcrowed on the bar.

We appreciate the details you have informed us about the shower. We fixed it up and everything is working perfectly.

We hope you can visit us again shortly.

Regards from Leon de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Hotel was very clean, staff was nice & helpful! Sounds from the bar/restaurant might be difficult for young family trying to sleep early, but if you do as the locals & stay up later for dinner/socializing, you'll sleep just fine. The location was close to Plaza Mayor & lots of food/shops/metro. A/C worked great in the room (it was really hot during our visit to Spain).

Room Tip: If using metro to get there, print a map to use short cut to get there. We weren't as prepared & walked the long way to get there....not too much fun when you're hot & tired. There's little side streets to get to the metro entrance (La Latina).
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Lisa L,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor Site.

It is a pleasure to know you had a good stay at Posada del León de Oro. We hope you enjoyed during your days in Madrid due to we are in the downtown of the City.

We hope see you again the next time you visit Madrid.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews