We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, small hotel in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada del Leon de Oro
Ranked #179 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in this small hotel for the last night of our trip to Spain, but I wish we had been able to stay here for several more days. The rooms are each very unique - my in-laws had a room on the upper floor with sloping ceilings and a window overlooking the quiet street. My husband and I and our two kids had two adjoining rooms that had small balconies. The location is great - a quiet street but near lots of restaurants, etc. There is an excellent fruit market a few doors down. When we arrived, we were served a wine drink (juice for the kids) while we completed the paperwork. The breakfast was not included in our rate, but by paying the day before for the next morning's breakfast, there was a discount. The breakfast didn't look like much at first, but a server will bring coffee, juice, and eggs cooked to order. Excellent croissants. I recommend eating here before heading out for the day. All staff members were very friendly and accommodating, and spoke English pretty well. We loved this hotel and would look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, make sure to ask first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

I really can't speak too highly of this hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were warm and friendly and anxious to help. The entrance to the hotel and the bar area have a lovely, welcoming feel and plenty of character. It's in a great location right in the heart of La Latina which is a lovely part of the city and one of the main tapas bar areas and it's only 5 mins walk to Plaza Mayor.
Our room was fantastic and very thoughtfully designed with a jacuzzi in the centre of the room, a separate bathroom with a walk-in shower, a velvet chaise longue and an enormous king size bed which was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was delicious and very varied and the hotel bar had a great selection of wines and tapas.
Look no further than this hotel for a wonderful stay in Madrid!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Talblet,

First of all thank you very much for writing a review on Tripadvisor site.

We appreciate all your comments and we are glad you had a godd stay at Posada del León de Oro and Madrid.

The room you had is one of the biggest of the hotel. It is a fantastic room, big, with jacuzzi..

We hope see you again shortly.

Regards from Posada del Leon de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed for a week in Madrid with our two children aged 9 and 7, using this hotel in the centre of the city as our base. While there were one or two things we would have like to have had available to us, we can have no argument over the price of the room for a week in high season. Madrid was very hot at the end of July and packed with tourists, so the return each afternoon to a airconditioned room with fresh linen, a large TV and interesting modern furniture was greatly appreciated. The maid service too was excellent - we were often late up and out, and they were quite patient in waiting for us to leave before cleaning our room.

I could have wished for a lock on the bathroom door (something the hotel can fix), and that our room had a balcony on which we could sit and watch the world go by once the children had gone to bed (less easily fixable) and also perhaps that the breakfasts had been priced slightly lower which might have enticed my family to indulge (rather than survive on cereal bars). Oh, and the mini-bar could have been colder. For these points, the hotel gets 4 out of 5.

There are simply some things that cannot be changed about Madrid which one simply has to accept e.g.
- the high prices of beer
- the insistence of all restaurants to rip you off through charging for covers (reduce your end-of-meal tip if you do not agree with this practice)
- the inability of 95% of any restaurant serving pizza (my kids don't do Spanish food!) to serve you anything other than a sloppy cheese-fest (the one exception being on the south eastern corner of Plaza Mayor which did a lovely plate of pasta for about 8 Euros.
- the beggars
- the heinous price of the theme park near the zoo. The zoo is fairly heinously priced as well but it is a very enjoyable afternoon's entertainment.

But on the whole, very reasonable value in a high-priced city. Thank you for a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Go for the rear of the hotel on a higher floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Harpmj,

First of all thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor Site.

We are glad you had good days at Posada del León de Oro and you had enjoyed in Madrid.
All of our rooms are different and they have pillows and mattress viscoleastic.

We inform you all our bathrooms have not lock on the door. We understand it could be a little uncomfortable.

We hope you can visit us again if you decide to come back to Madrid in a future. So you can stay in another type of room.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay, we had an excellent time, the hotel is in a great location with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. I had noticed when looking on trip advisor that some people had mentioned the noise from the street generated by the proximity of the bars , we had a room on the front but I can honestly say we did not hear anything when we went to bed.

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff very helpful, I can recommend the breakfast and the restaurant in the evening as we did eat our first evening meal at the hotel due to arriving so late.

All in all a great hotel, great location if you are looking for a hotel in Madrid look no further stay here.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mike6260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Mike6260,

First of all, we would like to thank you for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor Site.

It is a pleasure to know you had a nice stay at Posada del León de Oro.

We will inform our staff your kind words and we will work in order to offer you and other guest all of our best.

We hope you can stay with us your next time you visit Madrid. So you can sleep in another different room type.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed a few nights last week in July with 2 older children so had two rooms. Both were really. Modern and clean. Staff helpful and happy. Bar was the best along road and good prices.
We live in Spain and will definately return here and recommend to friends.
Air con was nice and cool as very hot few days. Car parking close by.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Pauline B,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writin a review on Tripadvisor Site.

We are glad you had a nice stay at Posada del León de Oro. We hope you can visit us again if you decide to come back to Madrid shortly. As we have different type of rooms, we would try to offer you another room to enjoy your new stay in Madrid.

We hope see you again.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were generally impressed with this hotel - it is conveniently located and easy to get to and in easy reach of several Metro stations. The hotel is clean and well maintained and the staff are very helpful in general. However there were a couple of negatives:

- The room was not ready when we arrived, which was just after the advertised check in time. We were not put off by the duty managers attempt at a rebuff but to their credit we eventually got an apology and a free drink after some remonstration.

- We asked for a family room and this consisted of a queen bed and a pull down double. This was too small for our teenage son and also with the bed down, there was not much room to move around. Not really a proper family sized room.

- The bar stopped serving drinks at 10:30. Bearing in mind most locals are just setting out for dinner at that time, we found this surprising.

We would probably stay here again but in a different room configuration.

Room Tip: Be careful if you want the family room - it is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Kiwilah,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Triadvisor site.

It's has been a pleasure to having you with us. We are in the downtown of Madrid and you can reach every place walking. It is no neccesary to take a meaning of transport.

We regret we could not offer you the room at the regular check int time. Though this timetable is from 14:00 hours, we couldn't provide the room due to we depends on the check out time of the rest of the guest. In case you come back to the Posada del León de Oro, please, let us know your arrival time to provide you the room at your arrival.
All of our family rooms have two double beds. Probably if you have some luggages you wouldn't have enough space for you. In this case, we suggest you can book two rooms in order to be more comfortable.

So, we would like you can visit us shortly and we would offer you a different room type. So you could enjoy in a different way.

Best regards from Posada del León de Oro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Posada del Leon de Oro is a real gem and much better than the 4 star rating the Spanish hotel ratings give it. We were greated by Nacho, who let us choose our room from 2 that were available. The rooms are very modern, in contrast with the exterior and common rooms of the hotel which date way back. Our room was in the back of the hotel so we were not disturbed by the street noises.
The Calle Cava Baja is known for its many tapas bars and restaurants and in true Spanish style, they are open and partying until the wee hours of the morning.
The location is very convenient to the Plaza Mayor and other tourist areas, including the Royal Palace. If you don't want to walk around, you can get the red bus at the Plaza.
The restaurant in the hotel was excellent and the service very attentive. A unique feature of the restaurant and the small bar at the front of the lobby was the glass floor which allows you to see the archeologic structures found during renovation and excavation.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the back of the hotel to avoid the late night revelers on the street in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnitMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisspelaez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Leon de Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Knit,

First of all, thank you very much for spending your time in writing a review on Tripadvisor site.

Thank you again for everything you say about us. It is truth when you arrive at the hotel, you believe that the room could be decorated in a classic style. But it isn't. So, when you come in to the room, you enjoy of a modern style in a old guest house of XIX Century.

The hotel is located in the district of La Latina, it is known for its tapas bar and restaurants. And we are close to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, Teatro Real, Palacio Real...

We have part of the Christian Wall XII Century on the floor, which you can see them by the glass floor.

We hope you can visit us again and you can stay in another different room.

Regards from Posada del León de Oro Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Dragon
Posada del Dragon
#80 of 443 in Madrid
731 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#76 of 443 in Madrid
1,480 reviews
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 443 in Madrid
1,810 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Address: Calle Cava Baja 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#130 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £62 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing