We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT place to stay in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada del Leon de Oro
Ranked #154 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“PERFECT place to stay in Madrid”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We looooved our stay at this hotel.
Staff were extremely helpful and very accommodating
the location is superb few min walking distance from Plaza Mayor and the heart of Madrid
The room was beautifully decorated. every thing is compact but very efficient.
And best of all the price was very reasonable. i highly recommend this place

the only downside is It can get a bit noisy at night because of the restaurant and bar downstairs

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    165
    42
    11
    18
See reviews for
115
233
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and I love the hotel and will definately return. It has a real boutique feel about it and the location is brilliant. The staff are really lovely and go out of their way to help. We were on an early flight and arrived much earlier than the advertised check in time but they said to leave our bags and give them 30 mins. When we returned the room was ready and they had put the bags in the room.
I don't think I would include breakfast again which is pricey for the standard you get. Although they are happy to cook something I prefer cereal and toast. The buffet breakdast is sat out on a table for hours, not covered or chilled and I did see a fly on the food. Also I prefer milk on my cereal to be cold not room temperature! There are so many cafes in the area I would go out for breakfast next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JS0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our first hotel on a 5 week holiday and it set the bar very high. We were welcomed with warmth and pride in the hotel and once we saw our room we understood why there was so much pride. Our room overlooked the street and was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was really nice. We did not find it noisy at all. The bathroom was really nice and roomy. In fact our room was extremely spacious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I reserved a room for two nights at the Posada del León de Oro. We were very excited to stay here. Upon checking-in, we were told that our room was in the hotel's "building next door". This turned out to be a completely different hotel - the Hotel Posada Del Dragon. I told the clerk that this was a different hotel - one I recalled as having lower rates online when I booked at Posada del León de Oro. He insisted that it was the same hotel and the rates were the same. I spoke with another clerk later in the day and was told the same thing. She offered to look into doing something for me, but did nothing. Room at Posada del Dragon was fine, but a completely different style than we were looking forward to experiencing at Posada del León de Oro. I would have been okay staying there had the hotel been honest - they likely were overbooked - and offered to reduce the rate if we agreed to stay at the hotel next door. When we checked out at the Posada del León de Oro, the clerk had to go next door to Posada Dragon to complete the checkout - further reinforcing that we stayed at a different hotel. Only saving grace was that the hotel is in a fantastic neighborhood and very convenient to many of the amazing sites and restaurants in Madrid. We also asked for an additional blanket one evening and got no response from the desk clerk who promised to get us one. Room was also very loud. Door provided no sound protection from patrons at their bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I booked well in advance. Perfectly located in the centre of La Latina. Rooms very modern, great facilities, very comfortable bed. Wifi was touch & go and kept falling off. Given our advance payment, was expecting a better located room-- we were directly above restaurant thus sleeping-in wasn't possible; staff were not accommodating to allow us to change and wanted a fee (i suggest look at rooms 2nd floor and above). Staff were professional but you feel like a number rather than a guest. Sink plumbing in our room very slow to drain. You would stay here for location & modern atmosphere but not hospitality.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NomadicAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were given a room in the hotel as a wedding gift and extended our stay another night. We had the buhardilla room with the tub in the center. I found the room to be very comfortable. I know that others noted noisiness, but we didn't have much of a problem- maybe because we were on a higher floor? We napped for a short while during our first day and it was pleasant to fall asleep to some of the street noise. During the evenings, we had the windows closed. The bathroom was modern and comfortable, but the tub was the best- the jacuzzi jets were strong and there was no shortage of hot water. The bed was also very comfortable, and the hotel provided an extra blanket for me. While this is not a very traditional hotel, the customer service was very helpful if you sought it out. For example, there was a mistake with our car rental agreement that would have been quite difficult for us (as non-Spanish speakers) to work out, but the person working the front desk made some calls to fix it. Breakfast was above average, and the crowd at night in the restaurant is warm. Overall, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: I think it's worth it to get the large room with the tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Cute posada. I must say I hate writing a bad review. The Posada itself is really nice, rooms are nicely furnished, clean, simple, trendy, comfortable. The restaurant is excellent, great tapas. However is it is SO noisy! We live in NYC so are used to noise and this is the equivalent to staying on Bleecker Street. We are also in our 30s and like to stay out late but this was ridiculous. The rooms are advertised as sound proof but they are not. The street and restaurant noise is so loud the I was up in bed until 5am, not happy. Also, there was one concierge who was NOT helpful at all. The day we arrived we asked for recommendations for restaurants and she said "anything on the block" -- how can all of the restaurants on the block be good? Plus we were interested in something more trendy. Then she called a restaurant that we found and told us she couldn't get us a reservation but when we tried in our own we were able to get one. We also asked for directions to rooftop bars and she ignored the request. Google map was much more helpful. The location is OK, walking distance to most, but not my preference, too crowded and touristy. Plus it rained one night and they didn't have umbrellas to lend us and could get us a cab so we got soaked trying to hail our own. It's a cute place but not 5star quality. For the price i guess it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbl6037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#66 of 435 in Madrid
685 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#63 of 435 in Madrid
2,167 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#97 of 435 in Madrid
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silken Puerta America
#107 of 435 in Madrid
2,685 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 435 in Madrid
2,089 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Property: Posada del Leon de Oro
Address: Calle Cava Baja 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Madrid
#57 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#108 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing