We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable, traditional hotel in a good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #50 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great location for museums and a short walk to the central shopping area. Clean and comfortable with great food. A bit pricey for a holiday hotel but an excellent choice for business.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCCCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,400 - 2,406 of 4,342 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in March to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On checking in we asked for a room with a front view and we were duly obliged. The bedroom was a decent size but the best thing of the room was the view to the front and amazing beds. For $4000 you can buy the full bed and bedding!
Breakfast was a treat in an amazing room with huge coppula . Everything you could want to eat they had .
The hotel is so central , literally minutes from Prado Museum , shopping , parks , squares . All very easily walkable from the hotel. Concierge were helpful and organised a cycle tour through the local tourist information centre in Plaza Mayor.
Only down side was drink costs and snacks in bar . We paid about €80 euros for 2 sandwiches and a few drinks , seemed over the top.All in all though I would recommend this hotel to anyone staing in Madrid who is looking for a 5 star hotel.
If going back I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the front square. There also was a jazz band busking at the weekend so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This palace just celebrated its 100th year... and it's still grand and elegant and clean and new and very, very nice. The restaurant under the huge, ornate glass rotunda is an incredibly lovely setting... an incredible place to start the day with an impressive breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kht53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

For SPG members this property seems to always have at least a Jr suite upgrade available. The bathrooms are updated and the furniture is in good condition. Typical Westin bed set up

Stayed: March 2012
Thank UHredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Wow! This is a fabulous hotel! Reception staff were very friendly, polite & helpful. It was much appreciated that they were able to speak a good amount of English. 

Our room was on the 6th floor looking onto the inner courtyard of the hotel & was of a great size. The bathroom was also spacious. Everything was clean, in working order & on the luxurious side. Furniture, decor etc was clearly of a high quality. We were concerned about noise, but needn't have been as it was very quiet, peaceful & relaxing. 

The location of the hotel is superb, fabulously close to everything. 

It was a shame that the wifi was 16 euros a day or 7 euros for an hour...rather expensive to say the least!! Needless to say I didn't use it. On the couple of occasions I wanted to check something on the Internet I just had a drink at Starbucks which is a minute away around the corner. Much cheaper & very tasty coffee!!

We didn't eat in the hotel or have room service, as the prices were, in our opinion, particularly expensive. 37 euros for breakfast just didn't seem justified for us.

Only tiny issues I could think of, though they're not at all major, is that the pillows were extremely soft & the bed felt a little small. I would also have quite liked tea & coffee making facilities in the room. It is also rather annoying that people/guests think it appropriate to stand on the front steps of the hotel smoking. One would expect polite & somewhat basic manners to be the norm, i.e simply standing to the side & not be so rude!

These are quite minor points however & I've had to rack my brains to think of a negative! They didn't take away from our stay & we still had a fantastic time at The Westin Palace. 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secretskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Excellent location for museums and restaurants. Lovely beds, fair but expensive breakfast. Free business center web connection and free spa usage. Overall a fine choice, better location than the Ritz.

Room Tip: Stay away from main road, noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here in early March for several nights. I had used the SPG points and cash option to give me a nightly rate of $60. When I checked in, the lady at the front desk said, "We are upgrading you at no charge." I couldn't believe it. You can imagine my dismay when I went to the room and smelled cigarette smoke. Someone had definitely smoked in that room. I went back downstairs and the woman gave me an equally nice room on the same floor. She apologized profusely. I still couldn't believe I was getting a super nice room. The staff is lovely, especially the staff on the SPG floor where I stayed. I couldn't justify spending money on the expensive breakfast so I missed out on that. (I stayed here two years ago and splurged on the breakfast once back then.) The hotel is near everything I wanted to see: Prado, Queen Sofia and Thyssen. Plus it's a quick walk to Sol and almost anything else you want to see in Madrid. The restaurants on the street where the guest entrance to the hotel is are great for the most part. I will stay at this hotel again without a doubt and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The SPG floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balkanmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#35 of 443 in Madrid
2,025 reviews
Chamberí
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#39 of 443 in Madrid
1,947 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 443 in Madrid
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 443 in Madrid
2,092 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#37 of 443 in Madrid
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#39 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £193 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing