We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Villa Real(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (4,407)
Filter reviews
4,407 results
Traveller rating
2,757
1,173
308
96
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,757
1,173
308
96
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedstained glass domeopera brunchprado museumneptune fountainconcierge staffclassic hotelbusiness centerbreakfast buffetthyssen bornemiszawithin walking distanceperfect locationexecutive roomtapasreina sofiafive star hotelmajor museums
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,430 - 2,435 of 4,407 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Dates: 30 March-2 April 2012
Webb: www.westinpalacemadrid.com/
Internet: Not free and very expensive
Style: Classic large Luxury hotel
Situation: Excellent location next to Thyssen and Prado museum. 5 minutes to Retiro park. Plaza Mayor about 10 min.
Service: Top quality although a little stiff
Room: 442, Executive  
Description: Large (29 sqm), belle epoque style and tasteful, desk, table and chair, TV, minibar (expensive), small balcony but door only opens 10 cm, iron/iron board
Bed: Excellent as well as pillows
Bathroom: Good size, bathtub with shower. 
Amenities: Very good
Restaurant: Gourmet but very expensive
Breakfast: €35. Plenty of nearby alternatives including a Starbucks around the corner
Bar: Beautiful but prices 4 times more expensive than other bars
Facilities: 24 hrs modern gym. Terrace (balcony) with sun loungers (not open during our stay)
General: A traditional classical Gran Luxury hotel. It's very well maintained and service top notch. It’s a conservative atmosphere. Due to the very high prices in bar/restaurant it is not crowded. But it's a very large hotel. Our room was as far away as possible from the elevator so quite a walk. To get to gym/sun lounger area bit complicated and a walk. If you like the belle epoque style it's great choice. Stayed here with Starwood points which was an excellent and very comfortable deal, but there are many modern/design hotels in Madrid which style is more to my liking (i.e. ME or Hospes).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our family of three stayed at the Palace for four nights ( wish it would have been more!). Gracious and attentive welcome from the front desk staff who accommodated an early check-in with an upgraded room. Housekeeping was already moving an extra bed into our room by the time we got upstairs. The room was large, very quiet and luxurious (super-soft sheets, comfy mattress, and high end bath products).
We had several meals in the hotel - every meal was above-average. Breakfast at this hotel is without question, the best breakfast experience I've ever had. A beautiful space rich with history staffed bt attentive, gracious and sophisticated servers make the experience. The food was great, but the experience is one that will always be the standard for others to try to meet. It's very expensive, but well worth it!
The hotels's location is perfect for tourists. It's a 2 minute walk to the Prado, 10 to the train station, and the many plazas are within a few minutes walk. Perfect for experiencing a wonderful city.

Stayed: June 2011
3  Thank medicalalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just returned from a two-day trip to Madrid where I stayed with a number of colleagues at the Westin Palace. While not a luxury hotel, it is certainly every bit first class. I would absolutely recommend the hotel for either a business trip or while on vacation. I reserve five stars for only the very, very best luxury properties and this is a solid four using that scale.

Here are some things that might help you decide to stay at the Westin.

Check in was easy, my room was ready (at 8:00 am) and was upgraded to a bigger room with a top view – I am a SPG Platinum, so I’m sure that helped. One thing that we did do at check in was request to add breakfast to our rate. At 22 Euro, it was significantly less than if we would have gone to breakfast without the add-on. (Do it!)

My room was very nice. King bed, very modern bath, flat screen TV, plenty of plugs. Very large by European standards. Advice – ask for a room with a fountain view. It’s faces the street, but I did not hear any traffic noise.

The location is fantastic. A short walk to the Prado, the Museo Regina Sophia (definitely see that) and the Plaza Mayor. Everywhere we wanted to go, we could walk.

Finally, that 22 Euro breakfast. Worth it – especially if you are hungry in the mornings as not open in the mornings in Madrid. NB, there is a Starbucks around the corner if you need a taste of American coffee.

Room Tip: Try to face the fountain in front of the hotel. There is no business lounge floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drosen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, the staff were very accommodating. The rooms were nice and clean, and the hotel was very well located.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MargaretBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Hotel is perfectly located in heart of museum district, only blocks from heart of the city. Nice park and walking adjacent. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews