We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be a st. regis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #39 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“should be a st. regis”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is a lovely hotel that desperately needs to be completely renovated!
The hotel was 100 years old in 2012 and you would think that they would have redone it Like the Princes de galles in Paris,but you would wrong!!

THE service is terrible and I would not waste my time or money staying here until they renovate
I have included photos.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
As the Prince de Galles in Paris the hotel was completely renovated in 1997 and since then we have renovated again almost all rooms, the public areas and the meeting and banquet space. We have recognized the picture of the suite you were in and have corrected the maintenance issues that we should have identified before your stay. As to the service is you have specific points you want me to address please do not hesitate to contact me
(westinpalace.madrid@westin.com). We take our guest comments and constructive feedback very serious to meet and exceed expectations
Best personal regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,550
    1,086
    289
    91
    61
See reviews for
913
1,631
177
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The Westin Palace is a beautiful place. Built 100 years ago, the inside is full of art and beauty. The staff were very helpful to me as a handicapped person and while the building is full of steps, they have elevators to help you. The room was very nice and well equipped for a handicapped person. The breakfast was fantastic and eating Tortilla Espana makes you happy. The bar is a classic also. We had a convention there and they did a good job on the food and helping our 320 plus people happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanhughson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for yur nice review
Hasta la próxima
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at the Palace from 9 till 12 April. To be honest, the hotel looks great on the outside and the inside. Upon arrival we were stunned by the grandeur of the lobby and the restaurant. The location is excellent as well. Breakfast was delicious.
Our room, number 161, however was somewhat disappointing. Why? Well I have three words: details, details and details. The room did not meet a five star standard. First of all we noticed that a curtain was hanging loose. We thought that housekeeping would notice this, but no. Second of all: the disappointing amenities: no free internet(!!), no sewing kit, no shoe polisher, no ironing board, no bag for laundry, no slippers, no shower cap... These are things we take for granted when staying at a five star hotel. Last, the bathroom. Here wallpaper was peeling of the wall, paint was missing on a part of the ceiling and the bathrobes were outworn (holes into it). Things you would not expect in such a hotel. Sorry...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom82_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for your note and first of all my apologies for the maintenance issues in the room that have been corrected. You are right it´s all in the detail if we want to achieve excellence
Thank you for mentioning the breakfast was delicious
Internet is free in the public areas and in the business center. Starwood Preferred Guests (Gold & Platinum) also can choose free internet in the guest rooms as an amenity option.
All amenities you mention can be requested by phone free of charge.
We have inspected the bathrobes and replaced the old ones for new
Once again I regret the inferior service
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week trip to Spain. We spent our first 4 days at this hotel. It is a lovely and gracious old hotel. The public rooms are beautiful. I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. They accepted our early check in request with good humor. Our room was on the second floor facing a major street, but I was not bothered by street noise. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. It was everything I want in a hotel- great location, clean, and a restful retreat from the big city. I definitely recommend the Westin Palace.

Room Tip: Although I was near the elevators, I was never bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for recommending our hotel
Saludos
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a superb 3 night / 4 day break in Madrid last week. As with all intensive city break type vacations, it is imperative to book a high-quality, centrally located base which makes waking up in the morning and end-of-the-day reflections something to look forward to.
The Palace, operated by Westin, is at the higher end of the price bracket but it is ideally located for the central Madrid Museums, it oozes quality throughout its public rooms and customer service is at the heart of its operations.
Roll out of the Palace in the morning and hop on an open-top bus for a 90-minute tour around the Old City.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBlandings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review
Saying a "majestic" stay in the "palace" motivates us to exceed expectations
Saludos
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My family of 5 (wife and three children) just returned from 4 nights at the Westin Palace in Madrid. We had reserved two rooms and the staff provided connected rooms which truly made a difference. The entire staff from the parking garage attendant (don't remember his name but an incredible smile and attentiveness) to the reception desk, all went clearly out of their way to make the stay very special. I cannot remember a hotel where I felt like I was truly valued as a customer and I travel a lot. Lastly, the General Manager, Mr. Lannoy clearly cares about the hotel and its clients. Without hesitation I fully recommend the hotel as a pleasurable stay in the heart of Madrid.

Room Tip: In general, we had what would normally be loud room (street side / next to elevators but the sound p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delvek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and mentioning the parking attendant
He will be very happy that his spontaneous smile is recognized
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have been lucky to visit many cities ....... the whole experience was perfect. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the breakfast very filling in the beautiful domed glass room which I believe is 100 years old. Overall it was a beautiful friendly hotel and the concierge could not do enough when questioned about restaurants etc etc. The in house Chinese restaurant is the best we have tried in Europe (you must book in advance). The drinks however in the hotel bar are TOO expensive.

Everything proved so central which is so often difficult to appreciate (especially as I am not known for walking!). The one thing everybody must do is take the Madrid Bus Tour (tickets available at reception) before you decide where to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Our Asian Gallery is indeed famous and I am happy you enjoyed the
Experience
Saludos from a 100 years young Westin Palace
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#38 of 435 in Madrid
1,837 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 435 in Madrid
1,728 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#32 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing