We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was Awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #41 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Everything was Awful!”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

1-On the first night I was ready for bed, tucked in, and then planned to call the front desk for a wakeup call. To make a long story short: my phone didn’t work, so then after two sets of engineers come to my room they find out that the room doesn’t even have telephone wires in the walls to connect to the phones!!! Now it’s past 1AM and they tell me I will need to switch rooms. Remember I am fully unpacked for a weeklong stay and already with my pajamas on ready for bed.

2-The rooms do not have alarm clocks, or any clock for that matter (thus the reason why it was necessary to move rooms)!

3-No one even so much as said sorry for my major inconvenience. Only after I had finished re-packing and was moving to my next room down the other hallway did anyone even offer to assist with my bags.

4-I’ve had better service at a 1 star motel…

5-Now that the trip is over, guess what….this hotel doesn’t provide starpoints for “some” of their rates! And I had booked directly through the hotel!

6-Everything was awful, the internet is a major rip-off, and who on earth doesn’t put alarm clocks in hotel rooms???!!!

WATCH OUT FOR THIS ONE!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank _Mundo_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review
All rooms have alarm clocks incorporated in the TV. We offer SPG points for all rooms and all rates reserved with Starwood
Do not hesitate to contact me at westinpalace.madrid@westin.com to understand your comment
Internet is free of charge in public areas and in the business center. SPG Gold and Platinum members also have free internet amenity option in the guest rooms. Pls also inform me about the telephone comment
I apologize for not having met your expectations
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,576
    1,097
    291
    91
    64
See reviews for
929
1,643
179
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was an awesome hotel...rooms were a nice size, great comfortable king size beds, staff were just excellent. location was right in the centre of everything. Madrid is a great city and the hotel really topped off our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Muchas gracias for your nice review
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Now this is what I call Starwood service. Great staff, great location, nice buffet. There is not much to complain about, except it could be pricey (of course we used points for our rooms). Alberto at the front desk was excellent. Concierge was good too. Even tried to help me get tickets for an FC Barcelona game (in a different city) - this was above and beyond, but really appreciated. Location is great - you can walk to most things in Madrid. Breakfast buffet was expensive, but had a lot of options. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TRJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and saying that you enjoyed the service
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was my first and hopefully not last trip to this lovely city and the Westin Palace. As my husband is a Starwood Preferred Guest we were given a fountain view room which was tastefully decorated and scrupulously clean. We ate in the bar and the Rotunda and both times the food was delicious. There was free wi-fi in the public areas but not in the bedrooms, this we felt, is our only complaint. All staff we met were friendly and helpful. I would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrygate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
When saying : “ I would love to return” this makes us happy
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

The location is THE only thing going for it. Service is horrible-cant get through to reception, concierge doesn't know anything basically, if you don't care about any service and just want an OK bed- maybe stay here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pappaschatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
I regret we did not meet your expectations
I am always interested in constructive criticism and feedback that allows us to improve
So do not hesitate to send it to me : westinpalace.madrid@westin.com
Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

By all accounts other thana few minor ones, this is a great hotel.
Its an old but whistle clean building with classic arctitecture of a grand hotel. Think waldorf astoria, or beverly hills hotel, very classic. The only noticable deficencies are the following...

No executive lounge.. So no coffee, or private area for loyalty members to relax and read or grab a bite or a drink during the day or happy hour.

The resuaraunt is grand, but food quality is not so great..for a hotel like this ( expensive)

The telephone system amd handsets are old and cheap and should be replaced woth modern clearly readable with hot buttons to concierge etc...

No spa or pool.

Room Tip: All are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for saying “Great property”. I am confused with the comment
of the telephone set as they were all replaced last year and we centralize
all calls with 1 button “service express” who transmits the calls to the
wished department. Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a beautiful property in a great location in Madrid. The common areas are beautiful but the rooms are small and the hotel is just too large for my taste. At hotels like this you are nothing more than a number. The staff is indifferent because you are, well, just a number. We enjoyed our stay but will settle for a smaller boutique hotel that provides a higher level of service and personal attention on our next trip to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantosdeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for saying you enjoyed your trip. Indeed with our 468 rooms we are a large hoteland there is always something happening at the Westin Palace,Madrid ! We strive to give a personalized service.
Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#40 of 436 in Madrid
1,866 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 436 in Madrid
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 436 in Madrid
1,759 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing