We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Palace Oasis in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #47 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Madrid is the capital city of Spain and is tough to navigate and the people are not happy (27% unemployment would make that understandable). There are plenty of demonstrations and government workers to keep you on your toes. So when you are not on the streets, you want a place to chill out with a great location.

Located minutes from the park (great place to run and walk around) and the city center, the Palace offers decent rooms and a very comfy bed. The place is 100 years old so don't expect modern wonders but they do the best they can.

The restaurant is the visual highlight of the property and it is where you will have a buffet breakfast each day. Beautiful glass ceiling adorned with butterfly's (some have keys) and plenty of orchids around. Breakfast is quite good, and so is dinner. The adjacent bar is roomy and offers great drinks and snacks.

The fitness center is decent with a very nice locker room. There is no spa and there is no pool. So there really isn't anywhere to relax outside of your room. However, there is a nice massage place within five minutes that offers great massages for $75Euro.

Overall service is very good. We did walk nearby to the Ritz to check it out (not related to the Ritz-Carlton) and had a drink. The Ritz is much more elegant (afternoon tea is a big event here) and they offer a pool along with a huge outdoor restaurant (open in good weather only). But for a city that hardly smiles, the Westin is the smart choice.

Room Tip: If possible upgrade to a suite since you will want the extra room to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review.
Please note that my colleagues at the Ritz have no pool but indeed a very nice outdoor restaurant and garden but as you say our hotel also feels an “oasis”
Saludos from a 100 years young and Happy Westin Palace
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,001 - 2,007 of 4,309 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Westin Madrid during Easter week. Checked out on Easter morning, and while on the flight home to New York, I realized that I did not have my (very expensive prescription) eyeglasses...nor was I quite sure where I had left them. Contacted the concierge via email...and within 24 hours...not only had they had located my glasses at a local restaurant where I dined the night before, but they retrieved and shipped them (internationally) at no expense to me. I was and remain extremely grateful for this extra level of care.

-Diane A. Fraser

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank diane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review. I am happy we exceeded your expectations and want to make sure we do this with all our guests
Saludos
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it is a very nice hotel in a great location. Hotel is beautiful, especially the main rotunda, breakfast buffet is excellent, bar is relaxing. Minor niggles, expensive Internet in rooms (free in public areas) always annoys me, slow and small lifts, I understand its an old hotel but still....

We were on the 6th floor and could hear some pipes banging all night, not enough to have a moan about but enough to wake me up at night, again, I understand it's an old hotel but still....

Staff were all friendly and helpful, but check out seemed overwhelming and rather slow. Rooms are fine, not massive but nicely done out with basics provided (not Dubai style luxury toiletries but essentials all there).

We had an enjoyable stay overall.

Room Tip: Not located in a noisy square so I think any level should be fine for street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for saying you had an enjoyable stay
Hasta la próxima
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent! It's close to EVERYTHING, museums, downtown and the Market! The staff was great! Beautiful hotel! They have a doorman and plenty of staff in the lobby to assist you! The only negative is if you are from the U.S.A. the money exchange is awful and the hotel charges 20% on top of that for currency exchange, but I guess the good thing is you can exchange at the hotel! Lol

Room Tip: Pricey rooms but an awesome stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamroc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for saying you had a "awesome stay"
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

If you visit Madrid and you can afford it, stay here...
Very good location, great service, nice old building feel.
Restaurants in the hotel are very expensive but walking distance from great options.
Definetly recomed this hotel if interested in the museum area of Madrid.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArqJackZyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review and for recommending us
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

1-On the first night I was ready for bed, tucked in, and then planned to call the front desk for a wakeup call. To make a long story short: my phone didn’t work, so then after two sets of engineers come to my room they find out that the room doesn’t even have telephone wires in the walls to connect to the phones!!! Now it’s past 1AM and they tell me I will need to switch rooms. Remember I am fully unpacked for a weeklong stay and already with my pajamas on ready for bed.

2-The rooms do not have alarm clocks, or any clock for that matter (thus the reason why it was necessary to move rooms)!

3-No one even so much as said sorry for my major inconvenience. Only after I had finished re-packing and was moving to my next room down the other hallway did anyone even offer to assist with my bags.

4-I’ve had better service at a 1 star motel…

5-Now that the trip is over, guess what….this hotel doesn’t provide starpoints for “some” of their rates! And I had booked directly through the hotel!

6-Everything was awful, the internet is a major rip-off, and who on earth doesn’t put alarm clocks in hotel rooms???!!!

WATCH OUT FOR THIS ONE!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank _Mundo_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review
All rooms have alarm clocks incorporated in the TV. We offer SPG points for all rooms and all rates reserved with Starwood
Do not hesitate to contact me at westinpalace.madrid@westin.com to understand your comment
Internet is free of charge in public areas and in the business center. SPG Gold and Platinum members also have free internet amenity option in the guest rooms. Pls also inform me about the telephone comment
I apologize for not having met your expectations
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This was an awesome hotel...rooms were a nice size, great comfortable king size beds, staff were just excellent. location was right in the centre of everything. Madrid is a great city and the hotel really topped off our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Tripadvisor
Muchas gracias for your nice review
Marc L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#35 of 441 in Madrid
2,004 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#39 of 441 in Madrid
1,937 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 441 in Madrid
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#22 of 441 in Madrid
2,078 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#36 of 441 in Madrid
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Family Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £180 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing