We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It pains me to write this...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #37 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
381 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“It pains me to write this...”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I am a loyal SPG member and have stayed twice at the palace hotel. It is incredibly beautiful. Lisandro the concierge is marvelous. The location, across the street from the Prado, is great. But... I have two complaints that I think are worthy of passing on. First, I think the food and beverage prices have increased to the point where, although I am staying here, I cannot afford to relax in the beautiful rotunda and enjoy a drink. After a long day yesterday, I ordered a sangria. It was of moderate size and sweeter than I prefer. But I was shocked to get the bill --18 euro for one drink!! Sangrias down the street are larger, better tasting, and 4 euro. I expected to pay more in the hotel, but this is crazy. Also, today, we left the hotel at 8:45am and returned at 7:45pm. Our room had not been cleaned! They said they had a busy day, but really? No excuse for that. And we were not alone. When we finally got in our room, we passed people sitting in the hallways waiting for their rooms to be ready. At 8:40pm! Yikes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for mentioning Lisandro one of our Concierges who is indeed very helpful
Are you still in the hotel ? Do not hesitate to contact me westinpalace.madrid@westin.com
Being busy is not an excuse and we could have solved it
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,481
    1,067
    281
    90
    56
See reviews for
885
1,599
172
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We really enjoyed our 3-day stay at this beautiful old hotel. There is a lot of history and local colour on the walls of the bar and in the central dining room with it's magnificent stained glass dome. The overall atmosphere seemed to be quietly dignified, but not stuffy or pretentious. We found the staff to be exceptionally courteous to their guests; friendly and very helpful.

The location is excellent, just across the road from some major Madrid attractions like the Prada and also within a short walk of a wealth of tapas bars and restaurants around Santa Anna Plaza. Santa Anna is a wonderful old neighbourhood and a lot less touristy than the bigger Plaza Mayor a little further on. English is less widely spoken in this area although we never had any trouble getting fabulous Spanish food from the friendly locals. We did once end up in a lesbian bar but nobody cared and we got great service!

The hotel is over 100 years old but we found everything in the public facilities and in our room to be excellent. It had a nice historic feel but it all worked very well. Our room was large, bright and well equipped, with plenty of storage space and a nice sitting area with two very comfortable lounge chairs. The marble en-suite was very impressive with 'his and hers' basins, huge bath and separate toilet.

We recommend this hotel highly to anyone looking for 4-star luxury, comfort and history close to the centre of Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and comments about the staff
Hasta la próxima ¡
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in Madrid with great location and superb service, Westin Palace Madrid should be at the top of your list. We recently stayed there from May 5 to May 8 and we really enjoyed each day. The staff are very cordial and efficient. Marc Lannoy the GM of the hotel is very quick at replying to emails. Haruna the Front Desk person is very welcoming and makes you feel at home immediately upon checking in. Lisandro at Concierge is prompt in attending to our shuttle requests and very good at remembering names. The hotel is walking distance to almost everything in Madrid. From Train Station to Top Landmarks or Places to see. Hotel is clean and elegant looking inside and out. I will surely stay here again in my future trips in Madrid. This is just one of the many reasons why I'm so loyal to Starwood hotels. Thanks Marc and Team for making our trip to Madrid so memorable. G. Cheng

Room Tip: No swimming pool in this hotel. That is okay. There is so much to see around the hotel that it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hola !
Thank you for your nice review and looking forward to welcome you again
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We spent 6 days in madrid at the Palace hotel in April. The hotel's location is perfect; walking distance from The Prado, The Thyssen, and Reina Sofia museums, Botanical Gardens and The City center/Plaza Mayor and Sol area, with great restaurants blocks away.
The staff is great, helpful, and friendly, and everyone is bilingual.
The rooms are good size for Madrid, and beds are great..
The downsides of the hotel include the outrageous prices for breakfast (33 Euros), and the fact that free wifi is only in the lobby (where dozens of people hang out to use it at all hours of the day and night.)
Check out the Westin pre-pay deals if available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Tahnk you for your nice review
We also offer continental and “a la carte” breakfast
Internet is also free at the Business Center and if you are a Gold or Platinum
SPG Member you also have free internet in guest rooms
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,073 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The rooms are a bit small and could use some renovation. However, the location is extremely convenient for museums and the Sol tourist area, the concierges are knowledgeable and helpful, the building is gorgeous, and the breakfast is outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice comments about the staff. In the past 6 years we renovated 5 floors and next year one more to complete the circle.
Best regards
Marc L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed at the Westin Palace between April 23 - 28th on business. A spectacular view all around. Hotel interior is exquisitely decorated and the staff is courteous and humble. Exterior had renovations in progress. Restaurants served traditional local foods as well as some Asian and American choices. Spain has many fantastic tours of history and art, you can spend days just sightseeing. The rooms were comfortable, quiet and reasonably adequate for the business traveler. When in town, don't forget to try the Hot Chocolate and Churros (spelling?) it is to die for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Churros is correctly spelled as is the review...perfectly written ! Gracias
A churro, sometimes referred to as a Spanish doughnut, is a fried-dough pastry—predominantly choux. There are two types of churros in Spain, one which is thin (and sometimes knotted) and the other which is long and thick (porra)
They are both normally eaten for breakfast dipped in hot chocolate or café con leche and at the end of a looong night they are also delicious !
Hasta la próxima
Marc L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

First, it's 100 year old hotel and under current renovations most of which appears to be outside the building but there has been (4 night stay) a bit of jack hammering noise. It is a beautiful hotel and very nice staff. Rooms are moderate in size, very comfortable bed and pillows. Rooms have hair dryers and basic toiletries that you'd expect for a 5 Star Hotel. Great big bath tubs which is nice after long walks around Madrid. The Hotel has a beautiful restaurant with one of the most beautiful chandeliers I've ever seen in Europe. The food was delicious and their buffet breakfast is fast, filling and really tasty. No pool or spa here but for us it was not an issue as we normally are not big on those two amenities. The city is struggling with lots of peddlers, gypsy's and beggars. Beware of the gypsy's more then the other two. If they approach you wanting to read your palm or sell you something, make no eye contact. If they insist, just keep waking and they will leave you alone. Madrid is a beautiful city but there is, with any large city, issues. It would be smart to wear a money belt or place locks on you back packs (get them at travel stores) if you plan in making your outing for the day with them. Would happily return to The Westing Madrid

Room Tip: If you need laundry service it is VERY expensive if done in the hotel so pack wise so you will not n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your review
Saludos from a 100 years young…Westin Palace
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#35 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing