We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel name but you can't live off that forever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #38 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel name but you can't live off that forever!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

A good welcome from the door staff, check in was good and then you meet 'the stairs' which is just a natural issue with an old hotel so no big drama but be prepared to carry up around 12 stairs to the level where the lifts are. The bar is expensive 'for me' 30 euro for two beers! Food OK but as with all these places its when things go slightly off piste is when you see the real colour. The Intercontinental does not ask you to put your room key in the lift to access a floor and has good security, the Westin has security in the lobby but does ask you to put your room key in the lift to allow you to access your bedroom floor. So, when it doesnt work the reception is where you get things sorted out...well please take your ID! Mr. Jobsworth is waiting for you...your name and room number is typically enough to gain a recharge around the world not the Westin Palace. For your own safety and security they need ID and if you don't have it they'll ask to come to your room to prove you are who you say you are even though the screen tells them. However, this procedure which is what I heard a lot about doesnt matter if one of their colleagues recognises you...thats good enough. So do try and pick someone who either follows procedure and you take ID or work with someone who recognises you...maybe a pink hat with a budgie reciting shakespeare! I can't wait to read the managers response to this as it was he that talked about 'procedure' to such an extent I could see 'procedure' was endemic and at these prices! You live and learn as they say...

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor just in case you need to use the lift at any time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnluckyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with other Tripadvisors
To enhance security we indeed have card readers in the elevators and when guests do not have the card we ask for a proper ID to issue a spare key
If the guest does not have an ID we accompany the guest to the room and check the ID
Also on the first floor we have glass doors with card key access
I apologize for the inconveniences and if for a technical reason the card reader did not read your card
Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,438
    1,051
    278
    89
    56
See reviews for
866
1,571
169
616
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at The Palace from January 4-6, 2014 on a Priceline stay. The service at the front desk was wonderful. The lady that checked us in spoke flawless English and was very professional and courteous. She upgraded us to a nice room and made sure our college age kids were right across the hall. When we checked in we purchased breakfast tickets at a reduced price. The breakfast was still expensive at the reduced price (I think it was about thirty five dollars apiece), but it was well worth it. The dining room is absolutely gorgeous and the food was fabulous. All the major sites were in walking distance of the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice comments on the check-in experience and happy to read we exceeded your expectations
Hasta la próxima!
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at the Westin Palace in mid January for a business trip to Madrid. Hotel was a great choice. The hotel is walking distance to a number of popular tourist spots (Plaza Mayor, Prado Museum, etc.)
Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Food at the hotel was quite good and the bar is very cute.
The business center is very good; 24 hour service however I did have a few problems trying to print.
Nevertheless, I was very impressed with the hotel. I actually went across the street to the Ritz where a colleague was staying and was very happy that I chose the Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank map1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice comments about the staff, the food, the bar and the business center
Hasta la próxima !
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My mom and I stayed here in January and we LOVED this hotel. It is centrally located and is right across the street from the Prado and walking distance to Puerta del Sol, The Royal Palace, the cathedral, El Mercado de San Miguel (10-20 minutes) and many other attractions in Madrid. The hotel is beautiful! We loved the breakfast/dining area and ate there every morning for breakfast. We also ate there one night for dinner and the food was great and there was live music. The staff was very friendly and helpful and recommended great places for us to eat during our stay. The beds are very comfortable. In terms of an authentic spanish hotel, I would look else where if you want a more spanish feel hotel. The Westin was perfect for us because we stayed here when we arrived from the USA and before traveling to Barcelona and the rest of our cities in Europe (we stayed in local and more authentic european hotels during the rest of the stay. We wanted to stay away from American chain hotels but as I said, the Westin was great for the first few days). It was nice to have an amazing American hotel in Madrid while we fought jet lag (we stayed here only for 2 nights).

Amazing beautiful hotel close to everything central in Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szigman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice comments and saying you liked the friendly staff and that we exceeded your expectations
Looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

It cost us 367€ per night,bad food bad service bad rooms i dont recomend it i prefere much more a Meliá Hotel when we came we saw our horible room, a coca cola of 500ml cost us 7€ indeed It needs reforming!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go to that horible hotel, a normal room not cleaned cost us 367€
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan_139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
When we meet and exceed expectations we celebrate. When we do not like you mention we do our utmost to learn from our mistakes and improve.
Please do not hesitate to send me additional feedback at westinpalace.madrid@westin so I can understand your disappointment.. I apologize for not having met your expectations
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a hotel. This beautiful historic hotel is a must to stay at if you are in Madrid. Rooms are spacious, very luxurious and well appointed. Service was exceptional with extremely friendly and helpful staff. We stayed here at the end of a lengthy trip and just had a wonderful stay really enjoying the "heavenly bed". Only negative is that there is no pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealW0rldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice comments and looking forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
968 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had a few nights on a layover in Madrid, so this was the place I chose. Centrally located to everything, restaurants, clubs, sightseeing.

The hotel was a little more than was expected which is why they get the highest rating, because they deserve it. Staff was amazing rooms the same, nice clean quiet as can be.

Truly enjoyed

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AARDVARKKILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hola Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice rating and reading we exceeded your expectations
Hasta la próxima
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#33 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#27 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing