We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Palace is a good start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #41 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Edina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Palace is a good start”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is a great hotel to start a trip to Spain...or just to stay in Madrid. Beautiful lobby, comfortable room, excellent international buffet breakfast; also good place for a drink. Staff very courteous and helpful. Great location; our room looked out on the Neptune fountain in the Plaza de Canovas del Castillo. We happened to be there when Madrid Atletico beat Barcelona to win their league for the first time in 16 years. There were celebrations outside our window into the wee hours but quite civilized and did not deprive us of sleep.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnesotamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
It's a pleasure for all the Westin Palace, Madrid team to read your review and verify that you liked the hotel and the servcie received
Looking forward to welcome you in a near future!
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,576
    1,097
    291
    91
    64
See reviews for
929
1,643
179
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham AL
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

PROS: Beautiful historic hotel. Rooms were very modern and well furnished. Bathrooms well lit and the shower and tub were a nice touch with the option of a regular shower or a Rain shower. Service at the breakfast buffet was efficient and quick. Most of the staff spoke excellent English. Location to the Prado and Sofia Museums is ideal.
Cons: Free WIFI was only available in the common areas of the hotel-very inconvenient. Only serves breakfast buffet and afternoon tea. You must go out for other meals, which most require a cab ride or a 30 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed and if you are arriving early, call ahead and arrange for your room to be re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolAuntBirminghamAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your last stay at the Westin Palace, Madrid. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel location as well as the room received and the hotel staff.
I apologize if there was any misunderstanding in the communication during your visit, as our Rotonda Restaurant located in the lobby is opened from 7:00 am till 11:30 pm to serve you any meal at any time. Apart of La Rotonda, you have two more options: we also serve in the Bar from 11:00 am till 2:00 am and we serve room service 24 hours.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The foyer and restaurant/function of this hotel are palatial, however that is probably where it ends. The rooms are dated, cracked flooring, old wardrobes, baths and having stayed at other Westin Hotels I would challenge that the beds are 'heavenly'. The hotel has a small gym and does not have a pool. Summer in Madrid is hot so a pool is to me fairly essential. The elevators are tiny (yes it is an old building - but there is room for other lifts). In the room the bathroom paper (tissue and toilet) are coarse (the public toilet paper at KFS airport is softer). Small issue but isn't that what 5 star hotels are about.

The plus side is that majority of the staff are incredibly nice. The only issue we had was when we asked the concierge re travelling to Toledo and he advised that we did not need to pre-purchase train tickets of a week day (we questioned because we had read on the net that it was advisable to do so) - hence we went to the station only to find the train was full and we missed our opportunity to visit the town.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel is extensive, and as aforementioned the dining area is impressive. The gym small and there is no direct guest lift to the floor (there is a service lift though). The location of the hotel is also reasonable, close to Centro although distant from the upmarket shops of the Salamanca area of the city. Would I stay here again? No I don't think so.

Room Tip: Exempt last two grades (no pool or spa). We were advised (by trip advisor) to get room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhondda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review about your last stay with us.
We are happy to read that the plus of the hotel is our staff and that you liked the dinner area. I apologize as we were unable to exceed your expectations with the room received and for not having a pool or spa.
Hope we have another opportunity to welcome you in the future and serve you better
Best Regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stunning hotel! Loved everything about it from checkin to check out.

The hotel building itself is very impressive and that carries on inside the buliding. Our room was of a nice size and very comfortable with nice toiletries to pamper myself int he evening.

I did not use the outlets as i had plans outside but breakfast was very tasty and i enjoyed everything i ate!

Location is perfect as everything is very close by.

I will come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilees K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for your nice review! We are happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations,
Hasta pronto!
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersburg, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location. We were within walking distance to almost everything. The hotel is beautiful. We were very grateful that they allowed us to check in about 9:30 in the morning as it was our first stop after flying all night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FL_Traveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
we are happy to read that you liked the hotel location and enjoyed your visit. Thank you for sharing your good experience at your early check in.
Looking forward to welcome you in a near future!
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, NSW, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived after 22 hour flight, doorman on his mobile, didn't greet us or assist with bags....rooms supposedly upgraded however rather shabby, breakfast queues outside the restaurant, breakfast selection very nice however to order omelettes another queue leaving other guests unable to access the hot food available. Stayed 6 nights however rarely greeted by the staff on any occasion..central location, however would not recommend, no tea or coffee making facilities in room. Staff seemed an unhappy lot.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 22Victoria22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for mentioning our central location. I first of all would like to apologize for not having met your expectations
Like with other reviewers when they praise the service and the facilities of the hotel we celebrate; when we don´t exceed the service we learn from it and improve. I have taken good note of all your comments and rest assured that we will work on it.
We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you better
Best regards
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had such a wonderful time in Madrid and in great part to having stayed at the Westin Palace! The location is ideal if you like museums and great restaurants. We were across the street of the Thyssen, around the corner from the Prado, and a few blocks from the Reina Sofia. The botanical gardens and the Retiro are behind the hotel. Our room had a great balcony and the best part was Lissandro. He gave us the best restaurant recommendations and even called on our behalf and made reservations all with a smile!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLCADG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your experience in your last visit. It's great to read that you enjoyed the city and we exceeded your expectations with the service provided by Lisandro. It's very motivating for him!
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#40 of 436 in Madrid
1,864 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 436 in Madrid
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 436 in Madrid
1,759 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#33 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing