We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a safe, convenient part of Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #38 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a safe, convenient part of Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in the Westin Palace for two nights during a weekend trip to Madrid. We arrived by train and the hotel is conveniently located approximately 15 minutes away (walking) from the Atocha train station. The property is a beautiful building, and is located just east of Madrid's Embassy district and just west of the city's Museum district. The Prado museum is literally a five minute walk away, and the Retiro park (Madrid's version of Central Park or Jardin du Luxembourg) is just east of the museum. Taxis are abundant if you don't like to walk, but otherwise the main people-watching areas of Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor are only ten minutes west of the hotel.

The hotel feels like a large Ritz Carlton, with Victorian style moldings, furniture and décor. The breakfast area is very large and sits under a glamorous stained-glass ceiling that pours in a beautiful palette of colors and is naturally lit. The breakfast spread is ok, with a typical offering of meats, cheese, and made-to-order omelets. Coffee is "ok" at best and the staff circle around refilling cups.

Our room was a junior suite and it was very large. We had a separate sitting area with a couch and computer desk, a large bedroom with pocket doors to close off the living room, and a comfortable bathroom with marble floors and strong water pressure. The décor felt a bit dated, but was acceptable. We also took advantage of the bar/pub downstairs to catch a world cup match for which the hotel staff set up a variety of HD screens so patrons could see from all angles of the room. That was a nice touch. The match was between NED and MEX and there were fans from both countries there. We're Americans, so we stayed neutral, but the atmosphere was friendly and animated which was a nice reprieve from the somewhat stuffy atmosphere of the Palace.

The only real complaint I have is that the hotel itself is very busy with guests coming in and out all day, not to mention conference attendees mingling in common areas. That can be fun if you like being in busy lobbies, but otherwise, it can place great strains on the staff and can make you feel a little stressed. All in all, a positive stay however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJ917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the city and the hotel and had a fun time during the football match.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,439
    1,051
    278
    89
    56
See reviews for
866
1,571
169
616
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel in an location that can't be beat. I was in Madrid for business though with this hotel's great location, I was able to take in some sightseeing without too much efforts and time. Walk across the street and you're literally in some of the world's best museums. No more than 10 minutes' walk take you to the widest selections of restaurants and bars. Hotel room is comfortable and spacious (I had a premium room, I believe) and adheres to the highest Westin standards. I bought the breakfast package which offers discount to daily breakfast. Eating under the doom with ample natural light every morning is definitely a great way to start the day, but the food selection and quality has room for improvement. By Day 3 I was getting quite tired of the offerings and the mediocre food. But overall, a great experience at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your last stay.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the city and liked the hotel location as well as the room received and the doom area. I apologize as we didn't meet your expectations with the breakfast food I take note of it to analyze with my team.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Tastefully decorated in a classic fashion, very appropriate for the namesake and matches the exterior of the hotel. We were upgraded to a renovated corner suite which was extremely spacious with an excellent view - thanks to Starwood platinum status.

The breakfast atrium is beautiful with stained glass dome ceiling, great place for a leisurely breakfast. Service is reasonably good and the location terrific for visiting museums and bar/restaurants nearby. Everything was comfortable and inviting.

I would definitely stay here again for my next visit to Madrid.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a renovated room, the difference is significant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your nice review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the city and liked the hotel location ss well as the suite received and breakfast.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is my second stay at the Westin Palace Hotel Madrid in twenty years and I found the property and hospitality have remained top notch. Entering this property from the beautiful front entry you are immediately greeted with efficient and warm Spanish hospitality. Upon our 2 pm arrival our suite was available and as Starwood / Westin members, we were given a card for a free cocktail and were informed of the complimentary daily coffee and tea in our room as well as free wifi for loyalty club members.

The beautifully appointed dining room has lovely tapas and a gorgeous stained glass dome ceiling which is worth a trip to the hotel in and of itself.

The wood paneled bar to the left of the lobby became a daily meeting place for great snacks and drinks and we happily watched World Cup Football matches there with people from all over the world- the staff in the bar is excellent and extremely professional.

Room accommodations are beautiful with comfortably plush sheets and abundant towels refreshed twice daily.

We enjoyed a great stay in Madrid in this centrally located, beautifully preserved property.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but I was unable to uncheck the box-
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your last stay!
It's great to read that we were able to exceed your expectations once again after 20 years!
Hope to welcome you back soon and please, do not wait for another 20 years to come back!!
Hasta pronto!
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here a long weekend, for wife's significant birthday. What a pleasure staying here. Extremely good room, luxurious, comfortable and large. Great location, walking distance to all the central attractions, museums etc... Lots of bars and restaurants in surrounding area, and rooms quiet. Brekkie was very good and staff were brilliant.
Brilliant hotel, thoroughly recommend for weekend break and business stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review about your stay and for recommending us!
Happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations with the service received and the hotel location.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future!
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel has a wonderful location for a stay in Madrid. Beautifully restored grand hotel, with a fabulous breakfast. 5 star service, fun bar... Our room was a bit small (typical older European hotel and we were 3 people) and I wish I had reserved a suite. The beds and linens where very comfortable and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for the best view, which is a fountain view, however, for the time of year we visited it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmoritz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for your great review about your stay!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the location
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Everything was top notch. After arriving early morning after overnight flight from Charlotte, we were pleasantly surprised that both rooms were available to check in. The hotel is beautiful, in a great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was incredible. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoolmomBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for your nice comments about your stay.
We are happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations with the service received.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#33 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#28 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing