We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5 star service overall - far exceeded my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #42 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Better than the St Regis in NYC
Amazing rooms abs detail everywhere - you will feel like a Saudi prince.
Front desk service is exceptional. Staff are far better than anywhere I have stayed. It's in the heart of the city which is great for accessing tours, shipping and museums. I am a Platnium guest and can tell you this one will not disappoint. It's a gem and the best Westin I stayed at and prefer Westin on any Starwood brand due to such consistency in service.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review about your stay with us.
We are happy to read that we exceeded your expectations in all aspects!
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 4,242 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel has many charms--from the elegant facade to the above-average service--but it also has numerous issues.

We had a room overlooking Neptune's fountain and that was the highlight of our room. The room itself was overwhelmingly plain and showed numerous signs of wear (stains here, there, and everywhere; bathroom ceiling peeling, leaky/squeaky shower door, etc.). More than anything the room felt very dated and many important details seemed to have been neglected. For instance, the bathroom was railroad style (e.g. hallway length) and the toilet/bidet area was in the very back. On its own this is meaningless, but when you realize there are no dim or night-oriented lights, you quickly realize that you must trudge this distance guided by blazingly bright lights should you need to relieve yourself during the night.

There were no cotton balls/pads in the room. Also no qtips/cotton swabs. Fortunately, at this late point in our trip, I was traveling with both. If you need these common toiletries and choose to stay here, I recommend that you bring them with you.

Our less than stellar experience with the restaurant (La Rotonda) deserves its own review, but suffice it to say that we disliked the majority of the food we were served. The service in the restaurant was relatively quick, kind, and attentive, but untouched dishes should have garnered some verbal curiosity (if not a prompt for replacement or substitution) at the very least. They were simply whisked away wordlessly. We'd have complained and/or protested, but we were simply too tired to bother (this was the last night of a 10 day trip). Lastly, the restaurant's atmosphere is visually engaging, but it lacks intimacy (e.g. it's a cavernous and somewhat disjointed space).

The overall service in the hotel was very good. All of our requests were responded to in a timely manner and both our check in and check out were relatively quick and pleasant.

The location of this hotel is quite good as it's adjacent to the Prado Museum, fronts the fountain of Neptune, and is very centrally located. Numerous museums and restaurants (among other establishments) are within easy walking distance.

Fortunately, we only spent one night here, but one was more than enough. We would not consider staying here again.

BOTTOM LINE: A charming, but dated hotel that needs renovating. Our room showed many signs of wear and lacked toiletries that were common elsewhere. Not worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: If your room has a railroad style bathroom, check to see if either of the closets (that lead into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for your detailed review
We are happy to read that you liked the service provided by our front office staff and the hotel location.
I apologize for not having met your expectations with the room received and with our restaurant La Rotonda.
Like with other reviewers when they praise the service and the facilities of the hotel we celebrate; when we don´t exceed them we learn from it and improve.
We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you better.
Best regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

After a long day walking and traveling the Palace is the perfect hotel to go. The receptionist is kind, helpful. The concierge is great and always sugesting the best.
The sushi and tea restaurant is superb! We were there twice!
It was a pleasure being there, we felt at home, like an oasis.
All the staff was perfect!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ninfa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review about your stay on last July.
Happy to read that we exceeded your expectations with the service provided by our staff.
Lookng forward to welcome you again!
Best regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is quite a large hotel so you don't exactly get that cozy feel. But staff is still nice. It has an amazing restaurant which is worth going to see even if you do not dine there. The ceiling is incredible.

Room was very clean, spacious, the hotel took very good care of us I felt.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank ADfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review about your stay last April
We are happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations with the service provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recently stayed at the hotel on a first time visit to Madrid. The hotel is beautiful and ornate exemplifying an upscale European experience. The rooms were spacious. Many amenities available. The concierge was helpful in arranging reservations. The restaurant was fabulous with very attentive service. Location close to the Prado, within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo F, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with other future travelers. We are glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us, being at an historical building in a strategic location in Madrid.
Hope to see you again at The Westin Palace.
Kind regards

Pablo Flores
General Manager
The Westin Palace, Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our first stop on a two-week vacation in Spain. The staff gets highest praise for having our rooms available for check in at 10:00 am after a long trans-Atlantic flight. Reception staff was efficient and friendly. Hotel is grand and old-worldly, opulent and bustling. Our junior suite and adjoining double were large and bright despite facing an unappealing inner courtyard. Bed was super comfy. Breakfast, included in our rate, was a bountiful buffet, although getting that second cup of coffee was a daily challenge. Wi-fi was also included in our rate and worked seamlessly. Staff is professional and most spoke English better than I speak Spanish. Location can't be beat--close to three museums, The Ritz, many dining options the Retiro and great people watching! As others have noted, the Palace is not inexpensive, but in my opinion, was worth every last €.

Room Tip: Although I can't vouch for the noise level, request a room facing the street, rather than the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giddypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo F, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to make this review of our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the great Westin Palace and its prime location, within walking distance to museums, parks and other many attractions of Madrid.
We will check the coffee service during breakfast to serve you better the next time.
Hope to welcome you back in Madrid in the near future.
Kind regards

Pablo Flores
General Manager
The Westin Palace, Madrid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Although beautiful and conveniently located, the hotel was overpriced. Things like ice, room wifi, were available but always for a price. Staff spoke little English which made it difficult when using the concierge especially since there was a train strike. Concierge was not informative when I was trying to schedule places to see only own. Unless you booked a tour with them, concierge did not provide info on opening hours and dates of closing.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay.
We are happy to read that you liked the hotel location. I apologize as we were unable to exceed your expectations with the service provided by our concierge team. I have shared your comments with them for further analysis and learn of it.
Hope we have another opportunity to welcome you again and serve you better.
Best regards,
Paloma H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#37 of 438 in Madrid
1,949 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 438 in Madrid
1,913 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £188 - £571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing