We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT Hotel & Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
Ranked #36 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
1 review
“GREAT Hotel & Staff!”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Stayed here recently with a few friends and had an amazing experience. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel was simply fabulous. The rooms were perfectly sized with a generously sized bathroom. Calls for extra towels were answered immediately and we didn't have to wait the usual 30 plus minutes for service. They were at our door within minutes of placing our call. HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,486
    1,068
    281
    90
    56
See reviews for
888
1,601
172
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washingto DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Westin, Madrid. I spent a great deal of time reading hundreds of reviews on different hotels and decided on the Westin due to wanting to take advantage of our travel points, as well as an incredible four night offer they had. My husband and I travel frequrntly and usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. We love the uniquess of small boutiquey hotels as well as the traditional elegance of fine , old large hotels. I admit I was a bit nervous about staying at the Westin after seeing reviews stating that it was in need of a renovation, feeling wear and tear and somewhat dowdy. I have to flat out disagree with any of these comments. Maybe because the hotel did upgrade us to a better room. I am not sure. However, the location was perfect. We never got in a taxi or on the metro and we really did a lot of sight seeing , covering many different areas. True, we enjoy walking , especially after eating many delicious meals. But, we never felt exhausted from lengthly walks. The area was safe . We walked around at night and never felt threatened in any way. It was my husbands birthday and our anniversary. They sent up fine chocolates and a bottle of champagne to celebrate. Our room was large , clean ( I am a clean freak!) and modern. The shower had great water pressure, the bed was comfortable and the linens were of high quality. They supplied us with a never ending amount of shampoos and lotions. On our floor, near the elevators was a sitting area , fresh bowels of apples and coffee and tea set out in the morning. Breakfast was included and was one of the nicest breakfast buffets I have experienced. It was in a beutiful large room known for ita stained glass domed roof top. The concirge was helpful with getting us into the restaraunts we wanted, and even made some very good reccomendations. When we return, we will without a doubt stay in the Westin again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ungs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Beautiful hotel built in 1906. We were thrilled with our stay here and have many positive comments about our lovely, very well furnished room and the hotel itself.

Room: The beds were covered with wonderful, high quality linens and were super comfortable. The modern bathroom was so pretty with an etched glass door separating the toilet area, double sinks, all marble floor, bath/shower, counter, etc. Three built in lighted closets hold drawers, safe, iron and ironing board. The furniture was mahogany antique reprodutions.Yes, there were a few little imperfections as in dents in the woodwork, or a scratch on the paint (this is a 100 yr old hotel) but nothing that took away from the pretty room. It was also very quiet.

Hotel: The style of the hotel was very traditional so if you're looking for modern/contemporary this is not the place for you. The lobby was bright, colorful, pretty and smelled wonderful especially in the evenings when they put scented candles all around.There is a small room off the lobby with displays of memorabilia from the hotels' past.....old registers, keys, photos, famous guests, etc. Breakfast is served in a gorgeous room with a stained glass domed ceiling with a huge crystal chandelier. There are many, many food choices from pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs made to order, etc. The cost for the buffet is high but it was included in the great rate we got on Expedia. Breakfast is served from 7-11 AM. The hotel also has an Opera Lunch on Sundays including live Opera and costumes if you are into that. There is a computer room (four computers... at least one was always available when we went in there) with printers available free to each guest for 30 minutes per day and then for a fee beyond that time limit.

Location: Great location across from the Prado. Also across from the Congress building so lots and lots of security around the hotel. Everything is within a 15-20 minute walk including the Royal Palace. There is a Starbucks just to the right as you come out of the hotel and a VIPS. This is a bookstore/convenience store/diner serving hot meals, salads, and sandwiches; it also has some grocery items, toiletries, etc.

Outside Activity: If you're looking for somthing different, you can take a 3 hour Segway tour through www.madsegs.com. Very professional guide and so much fun!! The conceirge didn't tell us about it since we asked about a bike tour but this was a great way to see parts of the city we might have missed.

Only negative is that the service (front desk, conceirge, waiters) could be a little more friendly. Also, we never had turn down service. No big deal.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go Travel Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

The hotel is in a great location. You're not far from so many great museums, restaurants, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, train station...you can just about walk anywhere. The rooms were nice -- we were upgraded but the room didn't have our bed choice - got two twins instead of a king or queen. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful - truly grand. The one major complaint is that the concierge staff is not too reliable. We asked for reservations at two restaurants and one flamenco show. Never heard back on any of them and found out one dinner reservation was made at the wrong time on a different night! Gave up on their assistance. A hotel of that quality should have much better concierge service. We were also there on the May 1 holiday weekend and were told by the concierge that everything would be closed for two days....restaurants, shops, museums...which we found out not to be completely true. Also, internet in the room didn't work well at all and very expensive relative to what you pay in the US.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garygoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Easter weekend travel with kids and another family. Found out once we were there that the hotel wasn't able to offer babysitting services. Room configuration wasn't ideal. But the follow up I've received from the general manager -- weeks after my visit -- to let me know what they can and can't do and how they'll address concerns in the future tells me that it's a well run hotel and one I'd consider returning to on our next trip to Madrid. It all starts at the top, and its the best customer service, after the fact, I've received.

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ExpatFamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We think the best feature of this hotel is the prime location. In our opinion, there is nothing quite like stepping outside the lobby door of a centrally located hotel like The Westin Palace in an exciting city like Madrid and having everything within reach: museums, restaurants, transportation, parks, shopping, bars.....

This is a big hotel, too, with lots of people and groups and meetings going on, so there is a bit of a 'buzz' in the lobby.

The rooms are nice, large and quiet; bathrooms are done up in marble and are fairly spacious; linens and towels are soft; the combo shower/bath is large and full of hot, pressurized water. There are some deferred maintenance issues here and there, dust in some nooks, chipped spots in the paint and the wood molding, and not all of the furnishings are up to snuff, but not enough to be a bother for us..

Housecleaning and turn-down service is good, if not a bit erratic. We found as the week progressed that some toiletries were replaced, some were not, some we never knew about until they magically appeared. We had to laugh, too, when one day the a.m. maid who cleaned the room also did the nightly turn-down service at the same time.

We loved the breakfast buffet and the stunning rotunda lobby. Otherwise, drinks and food in the rotunda lobby and the bar are very, very expensive.

Service is good overall. Staff are uniformly helpful (though personally we did not find the concierges' recommendations in some regards to be helpful or accurate). The hotel provides currency exchange, but charges a whopping 5% commission. No one at the hotel is able to recommend a competitive currency exchange place and we never managed to find one on our own.

There is a gym upstairs on the sixth floor which is decent with locker facilities for men and women and a shared dry sauna; a scenic terrace adjoins the gym and provides a wonderful view over the rooftops of the city.

The room rack rate here can be steep, so it pays to look for promotions and shop around.

Overall we were delighted with The Westin Palace.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloThereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Westin Palace for two nights, using Starpoints to defray the cost. Overall, the room was very comfortable, the service was excellent, and the location was prime, but I would have been unhappy if I'd actually paid the full nightly rate. The lobby areas are gorgeous, and the room, to a lesser extent. Some of the wallpaper and carpeting seemed to be wearing, and the bathrooms had a dated-looking bathtub and vanity area. The vanity did have a nice makeup mirror that I found helpful. The breakfast and other extra amenities were priced absurdly high-- wireless was something like 30 euros for 24 hours, and they were offering a 65 euro brunch. Although one doesn't go on vacation just to watch TV, it can be nice at night before bed, and the hotel television had just a few stations, presumably to increase the likelihood that guests would pay 17 euros for a pay-per-view movie. At the nightly rates, I would think the hotel could afford to provide decent wireless and cable services. Lovely antique-looking bureau and desk. The concierge was helpful to us in making some restaurant reservations.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#34 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Property: The Westin Palace Madrid
Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Family Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing