We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Perfection Still Exist at the Hotel Ritz in Madrid, Spain”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #38 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Luxury and Perfection Still Exist at the Hotel Ritz in Madrid, Spain”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Staying at the 5 star Ritz Hotel is an overwhelming introduction to a tradition of elegance that most of us can only read about in famous novels or experience in movies from the 1930's and 1940's.

you walk in through the revolving door and are literally transported to a time gone by-----you check in and one of the very competent staff escorts you to your room, where if your luggage isn't waiting for you, arrives in under a minute!

once you have checked in , there is a lovely and thoughtful welcome pastry and fruit platter sent to your room---and if you pick up the phone to ask for anything, you are referred to by name---and they REMEMBER your name during your entire stay.

the rooms are spotless and comfortable, with double windows to keep out any sounds that would bother you and interfere with your rest---bathrooms are spacious and housekeeping does an amazing job every day in keeping your room fresh---and the linens, the turn down service at night and that delicious piece of chocolate on your pillow (the choices of pillows is not to be believed ) send you off to sweet dreams---it is all just too perfect.


the breakfast , whether on the terrace or in the grand dining room is plentiful and delicious---and if you have special dietary needs or restrictions, those requests can be met quite easily--all with a staff that smiles and welcomes you every time you are in a common area.... like the unbelievable lobby and sitting room---old fashioned couches in superb condition, plumped up all day long, a pianist playing softly in the background, chandeliers that twinkle and give off the most beautiful hue, and not one bit of dust-----this hotel is 100 years old, how do they do it????


during the day, the director and others from his staff walk through the common areas of the hotel and greet the guests and ask if everything is fine, and if you need anything....be careful if you say yes, for they will get it for you!


the location is perfect----the Prado is 100 steps (or less) from the Ritz, Retiro Park is up the street, the Thyssen is down the street, the botanical garden is next to the Prado, the hop on/off tour buses are around the corner-----could this hotel have a more perfect location??


in the world we now live in security is a very important component to one's safety, and at the Ritz you are in a very secure and peaceful environment.---security and safety are a number 1 priority at this 5 star hotel.


there is a sweet smell to Madrid and especially at the Ritz ---i think it may have something to do with the botanical gardens so near---but to try and explain this to someone who has not experienced it first hand is very difficult---if they could "bottle" this scent i would buy a case of it.

.
finally, and i guess this is the intangible part of the Ritz, but from the moment you walk in you "decompress" from your flight and the worries of your life, to a soothing, relaxing , environment where the staff at the Ritz wants nothing more than to make you happy and welcome----and this they do from the moment you arrive until you have to leave------Bravo Hotel Ritz.---.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diana z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    369
    138
    52
    48
See reviews for
393
815
88
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I recently stayed at the Ritz Madrid for a friends wedding. The wedding was excellent, food delicious and overall the hotel looked after the wedding party as you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

However 2 incidents shocked me.

1. I pre booked a hairdresser to do a wash and Blow dry, As the hairdressers at the Hotel was closed in August they offered to bring in a local hairdresser just 10 mins away to my room. At no point did they tell me the cost and I did not ask as I assumed it would be on the high side but an acceptable price. I was charged for 22 minutes 150 Euros paid in Cash.
To give you a comparison I had the same service at the Four Seasons in Provence in June of this year and was charged 75 Euros. Half the price. I am wondering how much commisiion was paid for this appointment!!

2. I urgently needed my 2 dresses for the evening pressed, they had a couple of creases from the flight. This took about 30 minutes, I understand it is termed under 2 hours service and there is a charge but could not beleive it the next day when I was charged 175 Euros. This was just 50 Euros under the cost of the room!!!

I have since checked with two General Managers of 5 star Hotels in London ( Friends of mine) and they have agreed that the max they would charge is about 70 Euros.

Bathrooms good, rooms very grand, not a great size but overall a pleasant place to stay but not when the extras are overpriced!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepper38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

For a 100-year-old hotel, this was certainly a very elegant one. The decor is outstanding, the hotel very clean. Service was excellent...
However, the age shows in the doors of the rooms and room closets - it was difficult to open the doors with old style keys. The toilet was tiny...
Spain being what it is, what we hoped would be a pleasant/relaxing experience by having coffee on the lawn was spoiled by the strong smell of smoke - of course that's becasue almost everybody in Spain smokes...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jledesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Had concerns about this being "old fashioned" in the sense of musty and run down. Didn't find that to be the case. Furnishings are old style, but our room (corner suite 211) was all in good shape and had beautiful views of the tree-lined avenue from the sitting room and looked right over the Prado from the bedroom. Despite outside traffic, double paned glass kept the room quiet. The location, between the Prado and the Thyssen with 5-minute access to the lovely El Retiro Park, Botanical Gardens, Reina Sofia museum on one side and main shopping districts of Gran Via and Salamanca on the other absolutely can't be beat. Service was gracious, accommodating, not at all stuffy. Breakfast buffet wasn't the most extensive, but quality was very high and egg dishes (tortilla with potatoes on day, scrambled eggs with prawns the next) were absolutely delicious. Excellent lunch (grilled lobster salad) in the garden terrace restaurant. Good AC protected us from 95 degree heat outside. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 211 had awesome views of Prado and tree-lined avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgpaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Our experience with this hotel is great. It is located just across Prado Museum and in front of Retiro park. It has beautiful terrace with nice trees where breakfast is served. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Old world style in a wonderful location. The hotel provided champagne and fruit in our upgraded suite. We couldnt ask for more. The breakfast buffet on the outdoor garden terrace overlooking the Prado, while listening to soothing piano, made it perfect. A great classic hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious. A little old around the edges , but still beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caergwrle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed some time ago on a business trip to Madrid, on a surprisingly good value deal, otherwise probably would not consider it. The hotel is exactly what you would expect from the name "Ritz" - except maybe if you are a celebrity type and used to that standard. In short - old world sumptuous elegance, superb service, superb room. If you can stand the price, or obtain a good deal and want to be in the centre of Madrid, this is the place. To recommend it further, almost next door is the Prado - another superb experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeD1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 435 in Madrid
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,018 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing