We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1860's meets 1960's”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #35 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“1860's meets 1960's”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Is this hotel expensive? I don’t know, can you put a price on time-travel?
Would it benefit of a refurbishment? Maybe. In areas such as the bathroom. I actually prefer old to new, but in the bathroom you don’t get that antique charm… Instead it feels a little tired an overused.
But seriously, in all aspects the Ritz puts you back several decades. A firsthand experience on those good ol’ days. Every detail is made for you to forget which year it actually is. It certainly worked on us. It’s no different when it comes to staffing either. There’s always someone around the corner with an open smile and a friendly ‘Boenos Dias!’ The friendly smiles peak at breakfast which is sure to lighten up your morning.
I have no doubt – even as a first-timer in Madrid – that we have stayed in the absolute best hotel in town!

Room Tip: Due to the age of the hotel all rooms are different (I've stayed in 3 – all fundamentally differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Adakov,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with all Trip Advisor readers. Reading your comments are the best reward we can have as we can see that the passion from our teams to what they do daily, create memorable experiences to our guests.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz and meeting you personally.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,192
    357
    130
    54
    46
See reviews for
382
782
85
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Not many hotels in the world remain so beautiful and so charming. A great pleasure to stay there. The staff is so friendly and corteous and the food is out of this world
Loved the belle epoque rooms!!! Mine was just like in a 1910 movie...so elegant.....and you can open the windows for fresh air!! Just loved it. Impossible to build a building like that again...,

Room Tip: stayed in a room ending in 02..facing the lealtad square...great light, view and extremely confoirta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Marteen M,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with all Trip Advisor readers. Reading your comments are the best reward we can have as we can see that the passion from our teams to what they do daily, create memorable experiences to our guests. Since it´s opening in 1910, Hotel Ritz Madrid has consistently updated it´s facilities but always maintaining the beautiful decoration that Cesar Ritz left us as a legacy.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz and meeting you personally.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Crossing the door of this hotel is going back to the glorious times of king alphonse XIII since it's decoration remains the same since a century ago but also because several service details have been maintained. For exemple tea service is done in solid silver tea kettles and a century old chinaware is used. In my bed, perfectly ironed 100% linnen sheetsmade my filed my night with peacefull dreams. Breakfast was rich and fullfied the dreams of all of us. Dinner at Goya restaurant was one of the best experiences during my european trip. Wines were carefully selected and I must admit I had the opportunity to discover several great wines from other regions than rioja, thanks to Gema the master somelier. Thank you also to the concierge team, a great asset in this palace

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Morris M,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with all Trip Advisor readers. Reading your comments are the best reward we can have as we can see that the passion from our teams to what they do daily, create memorable experiences to our guests.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz and meeting you personally.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

What a perfect place to stay when we were in Madrid. Impeccable and friendly service, attention to our every need? The hotel was beautifully maintained and in a great location to explore the city. It is unusal in todays world to visit a hotel where routinely all the staff remembered your names and always greeted you eith a smile. A great stay, thankyou!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGetalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear GoGetalife,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with all Trip Advisor readers. Your comments about our hotel and team are very rewarding and show that the passion of our teams create memorable experiences to our guests, ensuring great stays.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz and meeting you personally.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff are delightful and very willing to please and help. The quality of food at the breakfast buffet is top class. The location is enviable. Everything is in good order even if there are signs of wear in places.

Room Tip: Go high for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBCinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear PBC London,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with all Trip Advisor readers. Reading your comments of satisfaction about our facilities, but most important, from the service our teams deliver, are the best reward we can have. Thank you!

I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz and meeting you personally.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stayed for two nights at the Ritz Madrid.

I have stayed at the Ritz London and the Ritz Paris, both of which incredible experiences.

Service here is in-line with these other Ritz Hotels; attentive and dedicated as it is not a large hotel. Bookings for transfers to and from the airport along with trains to Barcelona were organised through the concierge without a hitch. Seamless.

The standard room was large with a grand bathroom and equally decadent furniture. Standard 5* amenities were available (e.g. slippers, bath robes, fruit etc.)

The hotel is a little outdated and requires some renovating. The hallways were dark and the carpet worn completely.

The service and decadence of the hotel maintain the glamour of the Ritz Madrid; however, newer hotels of a similar quality will have less worn fixtures and furnishings. On balance, an average stay at a 5* hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Etherialparadise,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with all Trip Advisor readers. Reading your comments about the high quality of our service is the best reward our team can have.

I also noted you mentioned worn carpets and some outdated areas. Hotel Ritz Madrid, being a 104 years old hotel, is constantly renovation its areas. For example, this coming month of January, we will be replacing our handmade hall carpet, hall upholstery as well as all fabrics, paint and furniture in our meeting areas. A part of our room inventory is also refurbished every year to ensure the entire hotel is fully refurbished every 6 years.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz and meeting you personally to ensure an unforgettable experience and share with you the progress on the restoration of our grande dame.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The hotel staff was always trying to pleased you. The Suite we stayed fulfilled our expectation in comfort, decor and size. The lobby is one of the most festive & lively places I have had afternoon tea. The three best museums in the city are within walking distance.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Liliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChTavelli, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Vinasco22,

Thank you very much for your comments in Trip Avisor and for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in Madrid. It is our great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have been pleased with our service, taking great memories with you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing