We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice, Centrally Located Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #35 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Centrally Located Hotel”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Not to be confused with the Ritz Carlton "branded" hotels, this Orient Express property is very nice hotel with lots of charm. It is located in a very nice part of Madrid and within walking distance to the "old town". The rooms are large and clean, with comfortable furnishings. I stayed for 2 nights when in Madrid for work and would welcome a chance to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Ryan P,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid. The entire team and myself are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our location, the charm of our property and the service of our team. We look forward to your return for business and leisure to enjoy one of our new MADRITZ experiences!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    357
    132
    53
    46
See reviews for
381
786
85
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my first visit to Madrid and I wanted to stay in the most famous hotel of the city...I must say that it was a very good decision! It is by far the best located hotel in Madrid, in front of both the Prado and Thyssen museums. Every member of staff is extremely friendly and helpful without being pompous. I particularly enjoyed the bed linens (100% linen, now only found in very few luxury hotels) and the breakfast buffet which was excellent. My only remark is that the hotel, especially the rooms, could do with some renovation, especially the carpets and the bathrooms (the water power in the shower is not very strong). It also need a proper gym and spa. All in all I would go back to the Ritz while hoping that next time it will have started a renovation program.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, I would recommend an internal courtyard one (that's were we stayed). D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeloMaccaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Angelo,

Thank you for choosing the legendary Ritz for your first visit to Madrid and for sharing your great comments with all trip advisors readers. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our location, our service, our superbe 100% linen sheets, and our buffet breakfast. In reference to a hotel renovation, we have started this january with a whole lobby and meeting rooms renovation which brought a new hand made 3500 sqf carpet, new paint, new upholstery, etc. We are also renovating our rooms at a pace of 25-30 units per year, but also changing the carpet on those that need urgent love. I apologize if your room did not offer the most updated carpet but look forward to providing one of our updated rooms on your future stay with us.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have just celebrated there the lunch for my child baptism in the superb "Felipe IV" saloon. The event was a complete success. We would like to thank to all the hotel team that made this day special.

Specially we would like to thank to Teresa Barbero who guided and advised us to make that day an special day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erec_de_Graal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni d, Gerente at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Jmmf67,

Muchas gracias por publicar su experiencia en Trip Advisor, sus comentarios serán trasmitidos a todo el equipo que ha intervenido en la realización de su evento.

Es nuestro principal objetivo cumplir con las espectativas de nuestros clientes especialmente cuando elijen nuestro Hotel para celebraciones tan especiales como fue para usted el bautizo.

Nuestro equipo esta preparado para ofrecer gratas experiencias en los majestuosos salónes del Hotel o en cualquier lugar de España con nuestro Servicio de Catering.

Esperamos todos darle pronto la bienvenida otra vez.

Atentamente

Giovanni de Virgilio
Director de Alimentos y Bebidas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Ritz was so welcoming, beautiful and friendly, but at the same time elegant and luxurious. The concierge services were excellent, giving us good advice on nearby restaurants and making reservations for us. The classic room was large, spotlessly clean, elegant and comfortable, with a large, modern bathroom. The bed was super comfortable and the room quiet; we slept very well. The location was perfect for us -- next door to the Prado, across from the Thyssen-Bournemisza, and an easy walk to the Plaza Mayor. We had reserved for 4 nights, but when we were under the weather and asked to stay another night, the staff immediately made us comfortable and extended our stay at the same rate that we had found on line.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Gwshark,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very for sharing this great review from your recent stay with us in the heart of Spain. I am truly happy to read that you enjoyed our location in the golden triangle of art but also that our team made you feel home.

Looking forward to welcoming you back home very soon for more MADRITZ experiences!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When I go on vacation, I make brain surgery out of decisions such as where to stay and where to eat, so it was with no small amount of research that I chose the Ritz in Madrid, and I am thrilled with that decision. We absolutely adored the Ritz! At a hotel of this level, of course you expect excellent service, but I have to say that each and every person not only gave impeccable service, but the staff went above and beyond to make our stay special. How is it that they make you feel like kings and queens, but at the same time that you are at home also. That is the finesse of the service here. We received fantastic attention and we were always greeted warmly. The breakfast was beautifully appointed and excellent, with many delicious choices and gorgeously served. The room was beautiful, but most importantly, it was extremely comfortable. If there was only one thing that I may have wished for, it would be for the bathroom to be a bit larger, but the oversized, lush towels (and a towel warming bar) and comfortable robes went a long way. On any future trips to Madrid, I would unquestionably stay at the wonderful Ritz again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Anjanj,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing us for your stay in Madrid. It is always great to read comments like yours as it shows we have succeeded in our goal of creating memorable experiences to our guests.

The entire team looks forward to your return, and next time, we will find the perfect room with the right bathroom for you!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great hotel is only as good as its staff, and the staff here is superb. No matter what the request, they fulfill it with kindness and concern. Plus, I had a problem with a noisy generator above my room, and they upgraded me to a very quiet, large suite. They style is not modern, it is traditional, but if you love hotel lore and the pleasures of the past, you will love the Ritz. It is old-fashioned, in the best way. The lavish breakfast is excellent, the location is perfect and in all, it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verseau99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Verseau99,

Thank you very much for your great comments about Hotel Ritz Madrid and for choosing us during your stay in town. It is truly rewarding to read that our team as created memorable experiences that will last in your mind until we can welcome you back to keep on sharing the magic of Madrid.

Looking forward to having that pleasure very soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I arrived in Madrid after a long flight. The airline lost my luggage and really wanted to clean up. Needless to say I was upset when I arrived. The doorman asked what was the matter and I told him. He said. "Sir, at the Ritz we have no problems." When I arrived to my room they has an extra shaving kit, cologne, toothbrush etc waiting for me on the bed!! Take that along with the fact the hotel is beautiful, in a great location with exceptional staff, then you have to agree that this is one of the best hotels in Madrid.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BolasdeMadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear BolasdeMadera,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay and sorry to read that the airline lost your luggage, never a good experience to start a trip with.

I am pleased to read that our team was able to help you through the process and tuned a negative situation into unforgettable memories.

The entire team at Ritz Madrid look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing