We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Real(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,042)
Filter reviews
2,042 results
Traveller rating
1,382
402
146
58
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,382
402
146
58
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoya restaurantmandarin orientalprado museumgrand damelinen sheetsold world eleganceconcierge staffclassic hotelbeautiful hoteldeluxe roombeautiful roompublic areastapasthe location is perfectreina sofialuxuryrenovation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 2,042 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband booked this as surprise for my 50th birthday and what a wonderful surprise it was! The hotel is stunning and the service way beyond anything I have experienced before. This truly is 5 star in every sense of the rating. I was presented with truly scrumptious cake for my birthday not once but twice! The staff were friendly and so helpful especially in La Goya. Rooms are great size big wardrobes, great shower and gold fittings in bathroom, nightly turn down service such a treat. We had lovely view of Prado museum. Thank you to everyone at hotel Ritz for making this such a special occasion and memorable trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Dmj48,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid for such a special celebration, a 50th birthday!!! The entire team is thrilled to read your review and understand that we have been able to create great memories that will last forever.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back for your 51st!!!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Ritz in Madrid for four days and nights. The hotel maintains its historic charm. Sitting for drinks in the lobby is like an adventure back to the 1920s oand 30s. Filled with handsome well dressed sophisticated travelers, lovers and business tycoons. The dinning room was elegant. Breakfast a peaceful start of the day. Our room overlooking the garden was spectacular with a wardrobe that could have accommodated a stay of a month and ones steamer trunk. The staff is very personable while professional. The doorman and baggage men who greeted us as if we were just returning home. The location could not be better. The Prado is just a block away. The Thyssen is across the square. Restaurants abound. The only regret is that we were not able to stay longer.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the garden permitted us to look out over the garden and across to the square.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Mr Aubrey H,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid and for sharing your great feedback with all Trip Advisors readers. It is a true honor to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities, service, and location where everything you expected and more.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully this time on a longer stay!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I would add just a few things to what's already been mentioned.

Pro: Perfect location, elegant without being pretentious somehow, fine services, very friendly.

Con: Impossible to figure out the light switches! You have to get out of bed, walk to the front door to turn on the bathroom lights.

And the elegant restaurant lives up to its reputation with finest possible service, but the prices are exorbitant, and better food is available throughout Madrid.

I'd return for sure, if just to walk across the street to a choice of fine museums.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank alanglazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mr Glazen,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing your great experience with all trip advisors readers. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz and take good note of the challenges encountered with our room light switches.

We are also very happy that you tried our restaurant Goya and that you enjoyed its food. Our restaurant is considered among the top ten of madrid because of its location, creativity of our chef and great quality of our product. Prices are indeed on the high level but we believe the experience is worth it. Nevertheless we are always opened for feedback and look forward to continue to exceed your expectations on your next visit to Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

You want a trip down the memory lane? Want a bite out of the 50's and 60's? A slice of nostalgia? Well...this is the place to be. One can actually spend hours just admiring the paintings, carpets and other artefacts in the hotel. The rooms are big, with huge wardrobes. The bathrooms come with gold plated fittings and fixtures. Everything is grand. Opulent. Breath taking.
Did not have any meal in the hotel, so cannot comment on the same. Would love to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank BhawaniPathania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Bhawanipathania,

Thank you for your review and for choosing hotel Ritz madrid for your stay in the heart of Spain. I am truly happy that you have enjoyed your stay and loved our facilities. There is a soul at the Ritz that we preserve as a treasure since it´s opening in 1910. If you had the chance to visit Madrid´s Royal Palace, you will find many similarities.

We truly hope to welcome you back and enjoy the amazing food prepared by our renowned chef Jorge Gonzalez at our Goya Restaurant, one of Madrid´s 10 top restaurants.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying in this magnificent 5 star hotel.....our experience was beyond words !!!! Amazing staff ...from the front desk to concierge to the restaurants and all other staff we encountered ..... The room we were given had an amazing view of "El Prado museum " ....the hotel is beyond centrally located ....we even walked to the train station for a day trip we made to Toledo....everyone was extremely accommodating !!! A definite return for us as we will be travelling back to Madrid !!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mhfita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Mhfita,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Madrid and for sharing this great feedback with all trip advisors readers. It is such a great pleasure to read that you had a fantastic stay with us that the entire team is already looking forward to your return. Our location is certainly a must, but our team is certainly the best asset at Hotel Ritz Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews