We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid old grandeur”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #38 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Splendid old grandeur”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and were in our room without much fuss. Our suite was lovely, furnished as it was in rich golds and reds. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very well laid out.
The service we received throughout our stay was exemplary. A special mention here for Alejandro, the concierge, who was so helpful. It ids situated next to the Prado and Thyssen museums so this is very convenient.
Breakfast was amazing as it catered for all tastes with fresh produce and a variety of drinks.
It would be my only choice should I return to Madrid.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnpfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear JohnPFoley,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your amazing review as well as from choosing our hotel for your stay in town.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms, their decoration, our breakfast and the passionate and professional service of our team, specially Alejandro our concierge.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    369
    138
    52
    48
See reviews for
393
815
88
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, New York
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Grand old hotel in a great location. Beautiful suites and impeccable service. The concierge staff did a fabulous job getting us dinner reservations each night and front row seats to the bullfights
The outdoor seating area of the restaurant is delightful for coctails

Room Tip: I recommend the junior suites they are worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz during your stay in madrid and for sharing your positive feedback with all trip advisors readers.

I am delighted to read that our team was professional, that you enjoyed our junior suites and that you were able to live the famous spanish fiesta of bullfighting.

The entire team at the Ritz looks forward to welcoming you back soon, maybe mid May for San Isidro, Madrid´s big bullfighting month

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This beautiful hotel was a pleasant surprise. We arrived early and were able to check in to our room which was most appreciated after our long flight. The room was very comfortable and the bath was quite large with double sinks, a shower and separate tub. The service was cheerful and professional. One of the stand outs of the hotel is the impressive buffet breakfast; it offers a great selection of everything one can imagine for breakfast. We also enjoyed drinks in the cozy bar with its walls covered with photographs of the many famous faces who have done the same over the years. You really cannot beat the location, of the Hotel, it is in a very nice area of the city with easy access to the Prado, Retiro park and other interesting sites.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineandrosestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear WineandRosestoo,

Thank you very much for staying at the legendary Ritz during your stay in the heart of Spain and thank you for sharing your great feedback with all Trip Advisor´s readers.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, specially our location, breakfast, rooms and service.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz to enjoy more MADRITZ experiences!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Arrived with some trepidation after reading some of the negative remarks.
Reception and check in was perfect. We were given a larger room on 1st floor which was fine - good sized bathroom and walk in shower. Only problem was that the air con was the 'old style', centrally controlled and basically ineffective. The front desk apologised and said as they were full, no other room was available. They immediately put a large fan which helped a bit, and we were resigned to keeping the window open (facing the noisy street).

We ate in the restuarant which was very good. On leaving it, we we were referred to the front desk who said they did have a refurbished room with 'modern' air con should we wish to change. Whilst it was a smaller room, we agreed to change and immediately someone appeared to help with our transfer.

Tea in the lounge was fine if a little slow.

The concierges were excellent, obliging, and helpful.

The Sunday brunch was excellent and we spent a long while enjoying the changing courses and what was offered.

I really wonder if the negative posters are really writing about the same hotel that we enjoyed thoroughly..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackGalaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Jack Galaun,

Thank you very much for your review on trip advisors and, most important, for choosing Hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town.

Being a 104 years old building, we do a 2 pipes air conditioning and spring is definitely the challenging season to feed the hotel with AC or with heating. You have greatly enjoyed some amazing sunny days in Madrid and we are happy for that. Since then, the hotel is now working on AC mode so we are ready for many more sunny great spring and summer days!

Thank you for your comments about the brunch. Even though you were the first guests there and lived the transition from breakfast to lunch, I am happy that you enjoyed it (even far from the chocolate fountain! :) )

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel reflects its age and bathrooms are too small - bathtub was so small that only childreen could comfortly lie in it. But the bed was comfortable and the service was good. Location is great if you are visiting PRado museum which is next door or you want to walk in the Retiro park which is about 3 minutes walking from the hotel. The city centre is about 15 minutes walking. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Ales 11_11,

Thank you very much for selection Hotel Ritz during your stay in Madrid and for sharing your experience with all trip advisors readers. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I do apologize if the room size was not as expected. Being a historical 104 years old building makes most of our rooms unique and different. I am certain that upon your next stay with us we will find the right room for your needs and you will love our hotel forever.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the Ritz Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The building and rooms reflect their age, but the service, food, and staff were exceptional. Our bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was adequate. The location is perfect for visiting most points of interest. The Prado is next door, and one is within walking distance of the heart of the city.

Room Tip: The building has an open stairwell and one fire stairwell. I would recommend a lower floor, or a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear George C,

Thank you very much for choosing Ritz Madrid for your stay in the heart of Spain and for sharing your experience with all trip advisors readers. Thank you also for highly rating our service and our location. In reference to our rooms, even tough they reflect the same style Cesar Ritz designed back in the early 1900, we constantly renovate our facilities to ensure we offer the same look with updated materials, always offering a fresh product.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the legendary Ritz Madrid, on of the only three hotels designed by Cesar Ritz.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband booked this as surprise for my 50th birthday and what a wonderful surprise it was! The hotel is stunning and the service way beyond anything I have experienced before. This truly is 5 star in every sense of the rating. I was presented with truly scrumptious cake for my birthday not once but twice! The staff were friendly and so helpful especially in La Goya. Rooms are great size big wardrobes, great shower and gold fittings in bathroom, nightly turn down service such a treat. We had lovely view of Prado museum. Thank you to everyone at hotel Ritz for making this such a special occasion and memorable trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Dmj48,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid for such a special celebration, a 50th birthday!!! The entire team is thrilled to read your review and understand that we have been able to create great memories that will last forever.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back for your 51st!!!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#35 of 435 in Madrid
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#2 of 435 in Madrid
1,016 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 435 in Madrid
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing