We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn from our mistake...”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #37 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Learn from our mistake...”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'm taking time to write this review not because I'm upset with this hotel, but to save someone else the cost of staying at this hotel and being similarly disappointed. We were hesitant to stay here because the cost was significantly more than other comparable hotels in the area (The Palace Westin, for example) and we weren't sure whether it would be worth it. I read a couple of reviews online before booking our stay that said that the rooms were tired, and I wish I had trusted those reviews rather than the Ritz name in this case.

I want to acknowledge that the hotel lobby and reception area are lovely - stunning, in fact. The concierges were stellar! The reception staff was professional, polite, and helpful. There was champagne and a birthday cake for my Mom waiting in her room, which was very sweet. And the best thing about the hotel is the location (across from the Prada) and the history.

However, that didn't make up for the rest of our visit. The rooms are tired, the carpet in the rooms worn, there was hair in our bed (not ours), the quilts need to be replaced / upgraded - they are thin and worn. The service in the lobby and 'breakfast restaurant' is slow. After reading other reviews, we were looking forward to the breakfast buffet and were quite disappointed (very mediocre). There was a party going on in one of the banquet rooms one night and the sound traveled through the vents into our 2nd floor room as though they were with us in the room. When we called down about the noise, the front desk offered to let us sleep in another room free of charge because the party would go on until 2:00 am, but we had kids sleeping in the adjoining room, so that wasn't practical.

In summary, we stayed at three other 4 star hotels while in Europe (including a Ritz in Barcelona). We could not have been more pleased with our experiences at those hotels, which all cost less but delivered much more. It left us feeling that the only error that we made in planning our trip to Europe was staying at the Ritz Madrid - regardless of the additional expense, it simply wasn't a great experience. Our hotel in Paris proved that it is possible to maintain the integrity and history of a hotel while also having it feel clean and new - this hotel does not accomplish that. It feels like Ritz is resting on it's name in Madrid, which is not enough.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, go for the rooms facing the Prada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank am r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear am r,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with all trip advisors readers and for choosing Hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our public areas, our professional team, our location, our attention to detail. I also would like to apologize if the room where not up to your expectations. We do have 167 totally different rooms in style, shape and category. I do hope that you approached reception to ask for a different room. We are proud of maintaining the style that Cesar Ritz designed for it´s opening in 1910, and as you have seen in our public areas, we are also renovating our rooms in the same style.

I would really appreciate if you can share with me in which room you stayed to take a personal look it it and make sure it is updated to our VIP travellers, and remain at your entire disposal to ensure an unforgettable stay should you return to Madrid, at ctavelli@ ritz.es

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    365
    137
    51
    46
See reviews for
386
801
85
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Phenomenal service and care. Every member of the staff had a smile and tried to assist. I enjoyed an incredible breakfast by any standard but especially for Madrid and Europe. Not possible to beat the location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear David T,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz for your stay in Madrid and for sharing your positive feedback with all Trip advisors readers.

Your words are truly the best reward our team can receive and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony overlooking the Prado. The room was very elegant. It felt like a room in a royal residence. The style is definitely very traditional (if you are looking for sleek - this is not the place for you). The bed had sumptuous linens, the buffet breakfast is outstanding (it's well worth the additional cost to include it with your reservation), the public spaces are opulent in a very old school sort of way. If you like grand historic hotels, this should not be missed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNWTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear JNWTravel,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in the heart of Spain and for sharing your positive feedback with all trip advisors readers.

It is always a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the decoration created and designed by the luxury hotelier Cesar Ritz back in early 1900s.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Hotel Ritz by Belmond was an ok stay. While the building and lobby are beautiful, do not be fooled. The rooms at this 'Ritz' are not anywhere as nice as the website's pictures make them look like. If you have an option, stay at the Westin Palace or InterContinental. Here are the ratings for the following categories.

Cleanliness: 6.5/10 (bed felt dirty and so did the carpets)
Staff: 9.5/10 (Very nice staff, one very rude concerge)
Room: 6.5/10 (felt dirty and old (not the nice kind of old) and TV was old)
Gym: 3/10 (Crampt, very few macines and no windows to the point it makes the room feel even more crampt)
Location: 10/10 (Superb location)
Hotel Grounds: 10/10 (Great grounds)
Sleep Quality: 9/10 (Good sleep quality, but open a window because the A/C is not so great)
Service: 9/10 (Was good service, could have been better)
Restaurant: 10/10 (Very good food)
Room Service: 8/10 (breakfast in the room was a bit poor)
Airport Transfer: 9/10 (Were very harsh with our bags, very kind driver)
Bathroom: 7/10 (shower was crampt and defanitly needed to be updated)
Hotel Amenities: 7/10 (Very poor gym. One very rude concierge)
Room Amenities: 6.5/10 (basicly no water in the room, way over-priced mini-bar and bad TV)
Lobby/Main Building: 10/10 (Beautiful)
OVERALL SCORE: 121/150 (80%)

Room Tip: request a room with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear ARK52501,

Thank you for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid during your stay in the heart of spain and thank you for your detailed comments. Ritz name is the result of our legendary hotel being deigned by Cesar Ritz, the luxury hotelier who designed and opened same style hotels in Paris and London.

I am sad to read that you recommend staying at other hotels even though you rate an 80% satisfaction, basing your negative experience on not liking your room and our gym facilities. Hotel Ritz Madrid has 167 rooms, each one totally different to the other, with different shapes, sizes, view and decoration. I always suggest our guests to asks for another room if not please with the one assigned, and I apologize if this option was not offered to you.

I truly wish you would give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and show that we have another 166 rooms that are beautifully appointed, as other reviews state, and that we are able to ensure a very positive stay creating unforgettable moments.

I remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Madrid and the Ritz hotel by Belmond.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a very disappointing experience at the Hotel Ritz Madrid. Upon arrival no one helped with our bags - we had quite a few and I am pregnant so some help would have been welcome. No one greeted us with enthusiasm or even acknowledged us with as much as a head nod each time we came and went from the hotel. The breakfast that we were talked into buying at check in was very expensive. No one served us drinks, asked if we needed anything at breakfast. I realize it was a buffett but we had to take the job of the staff and pour drinks, etc. The rooms were very dated. I would not recommend this hotel. For the amount of money you are paying for a luxury hotel, there are others nearby that looked better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Hilary B,

Thank you very much for your feedback which took all my attention. Please accept my most sincere apologies if the experience was not up to our reputation.

If you allow me the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel and team, I would appreciate to obtain your contact information at ctavelli @ritz.es to obtain further feedback about how to improve the service we provide to our valuable guests like you.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived early and were in our room without much fuss. Our suite was lovely, furnished as it was in rich golds and reds. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very well laid out.
The service we received throughout our stay was exemplary. A special mention here for Alejandro, the concierge, who was so helpful. It ids situated next to the Prado and Thyssen museums so this is very convenient.
Breakfast was amazing as it catered for all tastes with fresh produce and a variety of drinks.
It would be my only choice should I return to Madrid.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnpfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear JohnPFoley,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your amazing review as well as from choosing our hotel for your stay in town.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms, their decoration, our breakfast and the passionate and professional service of our team, specially Alejandro our concierge.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericho, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Grand old hotel in a great location. Beautiful suites and impeccable service. The concierge staff did a fabulous job getting us dinner reservations each night and front row seats to the bullfights
The outdoor seating area of the restaurant is delightful for coctails

Room Tip: I recommend the junior suites they are worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz during your stay in madrid and for sharing your positive feedback with all trip advisors readers.

I am delighted to read that our team was professional, that you enjoyed our junior suites and that you were able to live the famous spanish fiesta of bullfighting.

The entire team at the Ritz looks forward to welcoming you back soon, maybe mid May for San Isidro, Madrid´s big bullfighting month

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
991 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 435 in Madrid
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#36 of 435 in Madrid
1,708 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 435 in Madrid
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#31 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing