We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #34 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this luxury hotel. The staff was warm and friendly, the rooms were beautiful and the common rooms were superb. The breakfast was great and for dessert you really need to get the hot chocolate and churros! the location is right next to the Prado so that made it so easy. I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: we had adjoining rooms with our kids and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear MaxineA,

Thank you very much for your great review and for sharing it with all trip advisors readers. Your great comments are without hesitation the best reward we can have. I will share it with our team!

We all look forward to your return to the legendary Ritz Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    357
    132
    52
    46
See reviews for
382
788
85
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

An excellent hotel for luxury and comfort. Staff were at the top of any customer care service expectation and could not of been any more helpful reflecting the ambiance and luxury offered by this hotel. Room service and breakfast was superb. This hotel sets a high standard and an excellent example for our catering services/hotels to follow here in the UK.

Room Tip: All basic rooms are to a very high standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mike D,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town and for sharing your great experience with other Trip Advisors readers. Reading your great comments and learning how satisfied you are with your recent experience is the best reward me and my team can have.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for three nights over the Easter weekend and had a fabulous time in this luxurious hotel. The concierge staff went that extra bit further to make our stay memorable by sharing local knowledge and the buffet breakfasts were also excellent. My only concern was the unfortunate attitude of the lunch waiter who questioned our residency in front of other guests which was embarrassing, then handed us the bill before we were finished eating! Otherwise they offer a professional service with an excellent location for museums and cental attractions. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you enjoy retro luxury and can afford to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Detritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Detritus,

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Madrid. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Please also accept my apologies in reference towards the attitude of the lunch server. Necessary actions have been taken to ensure your comments don´t happen again.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the Ritz in Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

By any measure this is an outstanding hotel located in the perfect location, right next to the Prado and down the street from the Reina Sophia museum. From the minute you arrive you are treated like royalty by an exceptionally well trained and friendly staff. My wife and I were upgraded to an available junior suite (without asking), which was luxuriously appointed in every respect. The outside garden, patio and dining area is like a Cole Porter dream. The lobby is elegant while still being warm and inviting. In the bar you can feel the ghosts of Hemingway and Fitzgerald, along with a few movie stars and royalty. The included breakfast is amazing and not to be missed. The gym is excellent and features a couple of great treadmills, which I always value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Bob G,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for your awesome review. It is always a pleasure to read that we have succeeded to exceed our guests´expectations.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back very soon to the legendary Ritz madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel's location is excellent adjacent the Museo del Prado. You can walk everywhere from the Parque del Retiro (3 min walk) to all museums (Prado, Thyssen), Gran Via and Serrano. The area itself is very quiet and upscale Madrid. The service was excellent from all the staff. Breakfast was superb. The room was old world luxury however missing a newer hotel's practicalities, which would be expected at such a historic property. Would have given 5 stars but having an iron was very important for me especially on a business trip were needed to iron clothes on a short notice. Oh, no problem, the hotel does perform this service on request for whenever you need, but at steep prices, over 40 euros per piece if you need same day!! In sum, excellent stay for location and service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EJT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear EricJoel,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for choosing hotel Ritz for your stay in town. I appreciate very much your positive comments about your stay, the hotel and it´s service. I have taken note about the ironing board and will review laundry prices.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'm taking time to write this review not because I'm upset with this hotel, but to save someone else the cost of staying at this hotel and being similarly disappointed. We were hesitant to stay here because the cost was significantly more than other comparable hotels in the area (The Palace Westin, for example) and we weren't sure whether it would be worth it. I read a couple of reviews online before booking our stay that said that the rooms were tired, and I wish I had trusted those reviews rather than the Ritz name in this case.

I want to acknowledge that the hotel lobby and reception area are lovely - stunning, in fact. The concierges were stellar! The reception staff was professional, polite, and helpful. There was champagne and a birthday cake for my Mom waiting in her room, which was very sweet. And the best thing about the hotel is the location (across from the Prada) and the history.

However, that didn't make up for the rest of our visit. The rooms are tired, the carpet in the rooms worn, there was hair in our bed (not ours), the quilts need to be replaced / upgraded - they are thin and worn. The service in the lobby and 'breakfast restaurant' is slow. After reading other reviews, we were looking forward to the breakfast buffet and were quite disappointed (very mediocre). There was a party going on in one of the banquet rooms one night and the sound traveled through the vents into our 2nd floor room as though they were with us in the room. When we called down about the noise, the front desk offered to let us sleep in another room free of charge because the party would go on until 2:00 am, but we had kids sleeping in the adjoining room, so that wasn't practical.

In summary, we stayed at three other 4 star hotels while in Europe (including a Ritz in Barcelona). We could not have been more pleased with our experiences at those hotels, which all cost less but delivered much more. It left us feeling that the only error that we made in planning our trip to Europe was staying at the Ritz Madrid - regardless of the additional expense, it simply wasn't a great experience. Our hotel in Paris proved that it is possible to maintain the integrity and history of a hotel while also having it feel clean and new - this hotel does not accomplish that. It feels like Ritz is resting on it's name in Madrid, which is not enough.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, go for the rooms facing the Prada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank am r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear am r,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with all trip advisors readers and for choosing Hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our public areas, our professional team, our location, our attention to detail. I also would like to apologize if the room where not up to your expectations. We do have 167 totally different rooms in style, shape and category. I do hope that you approached reception to ask for a different room. We are proud of maintaining the style that Cesar Ritz designed for it´s opening in 1910, and as you have seen in our public areas, we are also renovating our rooms in the same style.

I would really appreciate if you can share with me in which room you stayed to take a personal look it it and make sure it is updated to our VIP travellers, and remain at your entire disposal to ensure an unforgettable stay should you return to Madrid, at ctavelli@ ritz.es

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Phenomenal service and care. Every member of the staff had a smile and tried to assist. I enjoyed an incredible breakfast by any standard but especially for Madrid and Europe. Not possible to beat the location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear David T,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz for your stay in Madrid and for sharing your positive feedback with all Trip advisors readers.

Your words are truly the best reward our team can receive and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to our legendary hotel.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#35 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing