We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in Every Way--”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #39 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This beautifully appointed, perfectly located hotel in the heart of Madrid's leafiest, prettiest area goes to the top of the list of the best hotels we've experienced. Right across from the Prado, a block from Retiro Park--it is itself a kind of museum and park, with classic appointments and a garden restaurant featuring music and yummy tapas. We were in heaven! And the sheets: What are they? Some linen or silk that invites luxuriating and slumber. The closets are large and easy to use, minimizing travel rummages and searches.

The service, too, deserves superlatives. My husband became quite ill for a day or two, and the prompt, attentive staff seemed to be right outside our door, ready to bring invalid messes or to make up the room. Waiters, maids, the concierge-all were helpful and genuinely friendly.

Along with the Mandarin Oriental in Paris and the Oberoi Grand in Kolkata, the Ritz Madrid is superb. We were lucky to be there--and hope some day to return!

Room Tip: There probably isn't a "bad" room. We had a view of the Prado, and I am not sure what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryhob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Maryhob,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in town. Your comments are without hesitation the best reward me and my team can have. We are truly proud to be among your preferred hotels around the world. Thank you!!!

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back very soon for more MadRitz experiences!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 1,951 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had stayed here with my family a little while ago, and I was quite amazed. I recall the service as being impeccable. They were able to provide my picky-eating son with whatever he wanted to eat. They were so friendly, and warm. Definitely welcoming too. This place is a total gem. Everything is perfect. I also recall the suites as being very spacious. When we were here, we very much enjoyed dining in the courtyard. The entire stay was a truly enjoyable experience. There are so many fabulous things to do in Madrid, as well. Don't hesitate to visit the palace, the museums, designer shops, and for some of us Americans who love their coffee, Starbucks!! Hotel Ritz would be perfect for business, couples, family, friends, or a solo trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattInMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear MattinMiami,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town and for sharing your wonderful experience with all trip advisors readers. It is a great pleasure for me and my team to read your review and we sincerely appreciate your comments towards our hotel and service.

We all look forward to welcoming back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is a throwback to when service and quality were the only thing that mattered. The grandness of the lobby, the spectacular garden café and sumptuous breakfast all made this a place to put on our "come back to" list.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mitch K,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for your comments. It is always a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that your are planning to return. The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ritz Madrid is a beautiful hotel.It was my 3rd stay, and getting better every time! Location is the best in Madrid: next to the Botanical Garden and El Prado Museum. The hotel looks like a beautiful palace!!! Wonderfully maintained, and grants the best service ever!!! A 1 day taxi strike had paralized the city of Madrid last week. The hotel was prepared with extra staff and cars to handle the transport needs of the guests - very efficiently, and always with a ind smile! Food is excellent, and atmosphere is wonderful!!!

Room Tip: it was my 3rd stay, and all rooms I had were great! View is great from all sides of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ns0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear NS0404,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for returning to the legendary Ritz for the 3rd time! It was a true pleasure to have you back home and be always helpful to ensure and unforgettable stay!

We look forward to your 4th stay very soon in your home away from home.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ate dinner at the outdoor restaurant 3 times. The setting is beautiful: a fountain, trees, flowers, peaceful. The staff were kind and service was very good. The food choices were somewhat limited, but all of our items were well-prepared.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cbellehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni d, Gerente at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.
I will share it with the restaurant and gastronomic team.
Hope to welcome you soon in Madrid.

Receive Best Redards

Giovanni de Virgilio
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

That is not what this hotel is about. If you are looking for great service and a perfect location, this hotel is for you. When we arrived, before the official check-in time, our room was not ready. We were escorted out into the garden and offered a drink, on the house. We were told the room would be ready in 20 minutes, and it was. Unlike the rest of Spain, we do not eat late. The first night, housekeeping knocked on our door after we returned. For each of the three nights thereafter, without any discussion, our turndown service was completed before we got back to our room. That is a true service hotel. The room was immaculate. Granted, the furnishings are old, but they don't feel tired. The people who work in the hotel, from the doormen, to the concierge staff to the wait staff are all friendly and eager to please. After the first day, the concierge and the maître d'hôtel at breakfast remembered our room number without our having to say a thing. We booked this hotel because it was close to the Prado. We would stay here again because of the staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Hilstar211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Hillstar211,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you VERY MUCH for your great comments about your recent stay in Madrid. It is truly rewarding to read your comment and see that you have enjoyed our facilities and our service. Rest assure I will share your comments with all our team, since it is the best reward we can all receive: the words from a happy guest!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the legendary Ritz Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Upon entering the hotel, the reservations person offered an upgrade to
a suite at no extra charge, since it was available. It was pure luxury. The
restaurant in the hotel was a fantastic dining experience.

Room Tip: Get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear CEO 25,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for sharing your experience with all Trip Advisors readers.

I am very pleased you have enjoyed the upgrade, provided to our VIP guests. I am certain you have enjoyed the size and comfort of our suites, decorated by legendary hotelier Cesar Ritz.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 438 in Madrid
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 438 in Madrid
1,119 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#33 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £240 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing