We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Preciados(Madrid)
US$183
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveller rating
1,387
404
146
58
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,387
404
146
58
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoya restaurantmandarin orientalprado museumgrand damelinen sheetsold world eleganceconcierge staffclassic hotelbeautiful hoteldeluxe roombeautiful roompublic areastapasthe location is perfectreina sofialuxuryrenovation
Filter
Updating list...
783 - 788 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel cannot be faulted. We were trapped there because of the French Air Traffic controllers strike and everyone could not have been more helpful. This ranged from getting us on flights to finding a room when they were technically 100% full to the brilliant staff on the terrace who gave us service beyond anything necessary - a delightful touch when they realised our plight with a courtesy bottle of wine.

The décor is traditional and up market and the hotel could not be better positioned for the Prado and Thyssen as well as the city buses.

The food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Yes it is not the cheapest hotel but you get what you pay for and it was well worth it. Thank you to everyone for making our five night (well six as it turned out in the end) so special for our silver wedding. Oh and I forgot to mention the complimentary bottle of delicious Prosecco on our arrival .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Crofts52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Crofts52,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our legendary hotel Ritz Madrid. I am very pleased to read your comments as, without hesitation, your satisfaction represents the best reward me and my team can receive, as we work hard every day to ensure we exceed our guests´ expectations!

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon (with out without french air traffic controllers strike!)

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Ritz Madrid is a wonderful hotel. The building is majestic, the garden is iddylic, the Prado is on your doorstep and Reina Sofia very close by. The staff are polite and helpful, both at the lobby and at the tapas garden restaurant (where the food was surprisingly good by the way). The only problem of Ritz Madrid? It has an "old" feel, you expect to see the geriatric ward right next to your room. Its not modern, its not hip and its not minimalistic. However, if you think that just the beautiful building itself, the garden, and the excellent location is good enough for you, and the other residents being usually old, then its a true gem, and perhaps cool and aristocratic in a different way as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank direct2george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us during your recent trip to Madrid.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments about the mix of guests in our outlets. You may have heard that Spain has the 2nd longer living population in the world (specially women), and indeed, some of them love to treat themselves with the refinement of our hotel. As I always say, there is enough Ritz for everybody!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon the Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a good time at the Ritz Madrid. Some reviews complain about the decor, however, we found it to be charming & elegant. They really do need to replace the rugs throughout but this didn't take away from the overall experience. The breakfast was tops- they even had a classical pianist on the balcony- a very nice touch & unique. I had difficulty when I tried to pre-book high speed train tickets via concierge prior to stay. I called several times/sent emails & never received form for booking. Ultimately, when we arrived the concierge booked the train & they were helpful. Madrid is a wonderful city & staying at this hotel in particular helped to create a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrielle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Gabrielle,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for choosing hotel Ritz during your stay in town. I am truly happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that service, decor and breakfast exceeded your expectations. I have noted your comments on replacing some of our hand made rugs, some of them currently being made (take up to 6 months for a hand made rug to be made).

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon for more MadRitz experiences!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We popped in for an afternoon drink of something sparkling one Saturday afternoon as a special treat. We were shown to the garden and had a great time sipping and people watching. Perhaps we should have stayed here. Don't be intimidated, give it a try!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Snoz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Snoz2013,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for popping by during your last visit to town. I am truly glad that you have enjoyed some sparkling in our garden and that you fell in love with our hotel.

Myself and the entire team at the legendary Ritz Madrid look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Due to an air traffic control strike my trip to Madrid was delayed.The Ritz and manger Francisco Garcia de Oro was king enough to refund the two day unused nights.

I spent a night here and it was most certainly not enough! Wonderful staff, concierge and a very sweet receptionist!!!! Services are great as is the dinner. We didn't have a booking to experience eating Tapas in the huge garden but i would recommend it highly even still. Beautifully decorated rooms! Location of the hotel is also very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zpor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Zpor,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your comments in Trip Advisors. We are sorry that you have to go through France´s air traffic control strike and hope that during your next trip you will have time to spend more nights with us and truly enjoy all the great services we offer.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews