We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, as would be expected.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #31 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, as would be expected.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We had residences there for 2 weeks in July 2013. The breakfast is impeccable and staff the same. We found staff to be very invested in the Hotel / company and therefor very genuine. We will consider this our Madrid home when in residence there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjfphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mjfphd,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for having chosen our legendary hotel as residence during two weeks this summer. It was a real pleasure having you as a very special guest among our family and look forward to your return.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    347
    126
    51
    42
See reviews for
370
762
83
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for three nights in a classic room. The room overlooked the internal courtyard which aided in a good nights sleep.

This hotel is a classic grand hotel with exemplary staff to match. The hotel oozes old world charm. They got it right 100 years ago and nothing needs changing.

The rooms are beautifully furnished in an antique style, with abundant cupboard space which enabled us to unpack entirely. The bathrooms, while compact were very nicely finished with detail such as heated floors and towel rails, a nice touch.

The breakfast room is sublime, and a keen eye might spot silverware being used that is also on display at the royal palace. Service is quick, friendly and attentive.

The concierges really helped make our stay, recommending restaurants to our taste and not the usual touristic tat that you often get sent to from lesser 5* hotels.

Finally, who wouldn't want to pose on the staircase in the same place the Duke and Duchess of Windsor did all those years ago?

If you appreciate elegance and beauty, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear DRS Morgan,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your great review on this travel site. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Therefore your comments are the best reward me and my team can receive; thank you!!!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, please don´t forget to send us that amazing picture on our grand staircase so we can add it to our hall of fame!!!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are visiting Madrid and want an "old world" feel during your visit, the Ritz is the place to stay. The hotel was established in 1910 and has retained its classic feel. It is not a modern and "hip" place. If you want modern, stay at the Westin or some place else. Yet, in terms of location, this hotel is wonderful. It is just across from the art museum and a short walk from the Prado Museum. it is in a great neighborhood where you can walk anywhere to get tapas and drinks as well as take walks in the park. We loved the service at the hotel. The hotel just transferred its ownership and they are trying to update some of the rooms. We, personally, like the old world feel since we are here to experience the history of Spain. The rooms are large and very reasonable for the level of luxury that this hotel provides. We couldn't have been happier to have picked this hotel! We will probably stay here again if there is another opportunity to visit.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up so that you can get a view of the plaza. Also, it is worth paying a little extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvrockymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Luvrockymts,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisors. It was a pleasure having you as a guest at the Ritz and we are happy that you have enjoyed the facility, location and service. We are now a Belmond hotel, which in fact is the new name of the same brand that used to be called Orient Express (until March 2014).

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very well located, this traditional and charming hotel offers excelent service and confortanle rooms. Breakfast served in sophisticated room is plenty of delicious specialities.
Spa area is modest.
Excelent option in Madrid

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commentsawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Commentsawwa,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisors.

It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest at our legendary hotel and be able to share the beauty of our facilities, except for our work out/wellness areas which are small compared to other recently built hotels.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Ritz in Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Our second trip to Madrid and we were so glad to have stayed at the Ritz. They made everything easy, from the cava and almond cakes in the room (seriously, the best cakes and they are gluten free), to the hotel transport and flamenco reservations. Breakfasts were just wonderful. Perfectly located. Rooms are quite comfortable. Only things I would change are the room keys and locks are heavy, and antiquated, and the shower is super narrow.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gate6122016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear gate612,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your review about your stay at the legendary Hotel Ritz Madrid. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and our almond cake, I must admit it is one of my favorite cakes among the sweet temptations at the Ritz. I also took good note about your comments in reference to the locks and shower.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We had 3 nights here and it was glorious! They were the only place in our 3 week stay in Spain that gave us large interconnecting rooms which is hard for a family of 5 ( 2 adults, 3 boys aged 15, 14 & 11). The rooms were prepared beautifully and on the mirror in the boys' room on the mirror they had written a welcome message. There was always fruit in our room and bottled water. A turn down service, great buffet breakfasts and well informed English speaking reception staff and concierge made it even better giving great suggestions. Excellent customer service. A nice start to our holiday. They even arranged for our car to be brought to the Hotel rather than collecting it from the airport.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 45743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Adelaide,

Greetings from the Ritz and thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel during your recent visit to Madrid.

Your comments about your stay with the family are a true reward for me and my team; thank you! It was our pleasure to have you as a guest during your holidays and look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Ritz!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Ritz keeps it up, rooms are classic and comfortable, staff was committed to please us, our junior suite was set up to welcome us and to greet an extremely happy seven year old with sweets, gadgets and a personalised welcome message we found for him on one of the mirrors. A great idea and very successful, he was thrilled. And when we asked for assistance for the child with a flu, they immediately had a pharmacist meet us in the lobby with all necessary remedies. Concierge were competent, kind and very effective, as was our hotel limo driver. The restaurant deserves a try, among the best in Madrid, quite an experience. Location is excellent for business, to reach attractions and to walk around, even at night the area feels absolutely safe. The hotel is often sold out, so at times we have stayed in other hotels, but the Ritz is our first choice, we will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelersof2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Traveler,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much fro choosing our hotel during your stay in town and also for sharing your great experience with all trip advisors readers.

I am truly pleased to read that our team was able to meet and exceed your expectations and that this old lady maintains it´s magic.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon to Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#25 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing