We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #33 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent old fashioned elegance. Beautiful surroundings, fabulous flowers, great restaurants and perfect service… We were upgraded to a Suite and really loved every moment of our stay. Fresh flowers and fruit. Crisp, monogrammed linens, plush towels and Acqua di Parma cosmetics, made us feel really special.
Thank you Management for the great memories of our stay in your hotel. We certainly will be back.

Room Tip: The best location if You are an art lover, The Prado Museum is next door. The hotel offers limo ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luwrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Luwrobel,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town. Thank you as well for the great comments about your stay, our facilities, amenities and team. Without hesitation, your satisfaction is the best reward me and my team can have!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    351
    129
    52
    45
See reviews for
377
774
83
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Great service, good food. We had tapas tasting menu in the garden which was 45euro per person, quality was good. Great for access to the reitro park. Location is good for access to other attractions. Only thing which could be improved is the service during breakfast. More staff needed to keep everything stocked up, but still giving it 5stars.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Natalie,

Thank you very much for your review and for enjoying our location, facilities and services. I am pleased you have enjoyed our new tapas tasting menu and have taken good note of your comments about our breakfast service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My 3 yr old daughter and I spent our last evening in Spain here and it was amazing. From the time we pulled up until the time we left the staff catered to our every need. We stayed in a superior room which was beautiful and just the perfect comfort we needed before our long trip back home the next day. We had dinner in the Garden Terrace where the staff was excellent. They brought my daughter back to meet the chef and she had her picture taken with a chef hat on. The staff made sure we had everything we needed until the moment we left in our taxi for the airport. Thank you for helping us wind down and relax at the end of our long trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarteneHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Martene,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing our hotel to wind down before heading home! I am truly happy you and your daughter enjoyed meeting our team, specially our chef.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz Madrid for some additional R&R!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a world class hotel and one the best I've ever stayed in. It's an old world experience combined with exceptional service and standards. The attention to detail in the rooms with fresh fruit and sweets daily and the most plush robes and towels I've ever used. The breakfast is a nice experience as well one day we were served in a large function room the next day in the dedicated breakfast room both offered an amazing array of fresh fruits, breads, pastries and hot options. There was also the option of freshly squeezed juices which is exactly what I like. While the hotel is a short walk was the main shopping and tourist areas it's right next to the prado museum and close to the main park which is also worth a look. If you're in Madrid and have the budget I'd certainly recommend that you stay at the ritz for two nights minimum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear StevenB,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your review! It was a true pleasure having you as a guest recently and we are happy that you have enjoyed our facilities, location and specially our breakfast!

The entire team look forward to your return!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We had residences there for 2 weeks in July 2013. The breakfast is impeccable and staff the same. We found staff to be very invested in the Hotel / company and therefor very genuine. We will consider this our Madrid home when in residence there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjfphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mjfphd,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for having chosen our legendary hotel as residence during two weeks this summer. It was a real pleasure having you as a very special guest among our family and look forward to your return.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed for three nights in a classic room. The room overlooked the internal courtyard which aided in a good nights sleep.

This hotel is a classic grand hotel with exemplary staff to match. The hotel oozes old world charm. They got it right 100 years ago and nothing needs changing.

The rooms are beautifully furnished in an antique style, with abundant cupboard space which enabled us to unpack entirely. The bathrooms, while compact were very nicely finished with detail such as heated floors and towel rails, a nice touch.

The breakfast room is sublime, and a keen eye might spot silverware being used that is also on display at the royal palace. Service is quick, friendly and attentive.

The concierges really helped make our stay, recommending restaurants to our taste and not the usual touristic tat that you often get sent to from lesser 5* hotels.

Finally, who wouldn't want to pose on the staircase in the same place the Duke and Duchess of Windsor did all those years ago?

If you appreciate elegance and beauty, stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear DRS Morgan,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your great review on this travel site. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Therefore your comments are the best reward me and my team can receive; thank you!!!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, please don´t forget to send us that amazing picture on our grand staircase so we can add it to our hall of fame!!!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you are visiting Madrid and want an "old world" feel during your visit, the Ritz is the place to stay. The hotel was established in 1910 and has retained its classic feel. It is not a modern and "hip" place. If you want modern, stay at the Westin or some place else. Yet, in terms of location, this hotel is wonderful. It is just across from the art museum and a short walk from the Prado Museum. it is in a great neighborhood where you can walk anywhere to get tapas and drinks as well as take walks in the park. We loved the service at the hotel. The hotel just transferred its ownership and they are trying to update some of the rooms. We, personally, like the old world feel since we are here to experience the history of Spain. The rooms are large and very reasonable for the level of luxury that this hotel provides. We couldn't have been happier to have picked this hotel! We will probably stay here again if there is another opportunity to visit.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up so that you can get a view of the plaza. Also, it is worth paying a little extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvrockymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Luvrockymts,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for your great review on Trip Advisors. It was a pleasure having you as a guest at the Ritz and we are happy that you have enjoyed the facility, location and service. We are now a Belmond hotel, which in fact is the new name of the same brand that used to be called Orient Express (until March 2014).

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#29 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#27 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing