We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #42 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

our stay in Madrid at the ritz, was fantastic. we loved the terrace. our room was before a smoking room (at the reception, they said that there is only the 5th floor smoking aera, but anyway, our room smelt the cigarette). need to be a little bit refreshed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NatachaOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Natasha,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town and for your comments about our service and facilities, which I personally appreciate very much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Madrid.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is well located in central Madrid. The staff is pleasant and accommodating and the service is good. The common areas of the hotel are well maintained and have old world charm. However, the rooms nee to be renovated. The beds were ok, but the furniture in the rooms is old and tired. The fitness facility is terrible and needs a complete overhaul. The breakfast buffet was good and had many choices.

If renovated, this hotel could be great.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Scott H,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing the Ritz for your recent stay in town. I also appreciate very much your comments and hope to be able to provide a room that meets your expectation during your future visits. Hotel Ritz Madrid is a classic in town that keeps the same luxurious decoration that Cesar Ritz created since it´s opening in 1910. We do commit to constantly update our rooms but maintaining the same classic style.

Looking forward to welcoming you personally in a short future and ensuring your room is up to complete satisfaction.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, near all the famous museums. Great service. Beautiful lobby. The decor is very fancy though a bit old. I was surprised to find out that the standard room is not so small as I thought.
We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear RZZ,

Thank you for your review in trip advisor and for choosing the legendary Ritz during your stay in Madrid! I am pleased you have enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Supreme location, outdoor restaurant in a garden with live music at weekends at the Ritz. A couple minutes walk to Retiro Park, Prado, 15 mins to Reina Sofia.

The room I stayed at was rather small however it was very charming and had everything it needed. Oversized bathroom (for the type of room I had), huge double wardrobe. Food was very good and service was spot on, very helpful concierge desk. Ambience was very high-end but not stuffy and I could recommend it for both families and couples. I've stayed at more contemporary hotels Madrid is famous for but I prefer Ritz for the blend of old and new.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Ms Papercut,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in town! we appreciate you have taken the time to recommend the legendary Ritz and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you are a fan of high technology the Ritz in Madrid is not the hotel for you. I normally stay in modern and contemporary 5 stars hotels but I enjoyed my weekend at the Ritz as it made me feel like I was living in the past, all very classic and old fashion but at the same time magic and comfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank AlbieCrespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Alberto,

Thank you very much for your great comments and for choosing hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Ritz Madrid is that rare hotel at which the staff is professional, the service is exemplary, the food is exquisite, and the location ideal, especially for those wishing to visit the Prado, Thyssen or Reina Sofia. The rooms are a wee bit small, but divinely quiet and comfortable. As so often with the best of the best, there's a price to pay -- but if you're able to splurge, this is the hotel to do it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArtHistoryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, General Manager at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Art History Lover,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for choosing our hotel for you recent stay in town. I am very pleased to read our great comments about our location and service, and look forward to showing you larger rooms for your next stay with us, to ensure your total satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for more museum visits!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was there for 5 days in July. Excellent location-across from Prado. Center of everything. Service was excellent . Rented a car and the doormen parked the garage and the hotel charged no fee.The food was excellent. Nothing like sitting in the garden for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks. The hotel is old world as were the rooms,but spotlessly clean and a joy to be in.
Special kudos to the concierge staff. I needed to cancel the balance of the trip due to an emergency in the States. They helped me cancel hotels and get on the next avialbale Iberia flight to Miami. They could not have been more helpful and understanding.
I highly recommend the hotel and will return there when in Madrid

Room Tip: Just be courteous and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rickgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz, Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear RickGold,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for choosing us for your stay in town. I sincerely hope the emergency you had is now resolved and that you are looking forward to returning to Spain very soon to keep enjoying the beauty of Madrid and the Ritz.

Even short, it has been a pleasure to have you as a guest with us and appreciate very much your great feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 437 in Madrid
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 437 in Madrid
1,099 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 437 in Madrid
1,041 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#34 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £251 - £1,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing