We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing ritzy here”
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Ranked #36 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing ritzy here”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Before choosing the







Before choosing this hotel I read the reviews some were impressed others were sorely disappointed. I stand with those that were disappointed! Even if you get what you think is a good deal it is not. Breakfast buffet was with minimal choices you are not informed that eggs can be ordered any way you like other than the runny scrambled version offered and you definitely get the feeling that you are being rushed out. They booked a day trip for us and had us on the wrong train for the return when we bought it to their attention they just about accused us of lying.
There are some old things that are precious and some that are just old this hotel happens to be just old and stuffy.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ormega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    363
    137
    51
    46
See reviews for
385
798
85
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Normandy, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

I spent 3nights and 4 days at the Ritz. The Personnel is really very professional, efficient and helpful. They reserved tables in restaurants for us, helped with guided tours.... It is a true luxurious hotel & even though the colours on the carpets do look a bit faded what the heck, this is the mythical Ritz Hotel in Madrid after all. The hall, the restaurant and the staircase were much smaller than I thought but then perhaps it's better that way. The lounge is lovely and cosy for aperitifs, after dinner drinks (their Irish coffee is delicious, 16 euros) and for the scrumptious high tea (30 euros per person) , the only restaurant (used for breakfast too) is quite intimate, with silver cutlery. I would have liked the different cheeses to be named at the breakfast buffet to be able to buy the same back home. It’s a shame that there are no Spanish specialities available, (for breakfast & dinner) just international type food. For breakfast we wanted Serrano ham and we were charged 40 euros for one serving. Wi-fi costs 10 euros per hour or 16 euros per day. Go along to the many internet cafes around the area, 1 euro for 15 minutes. A big bottle of whisky or wine at the El Corte Ingles supermarkets will cost the same as a mini bottle in the mini-bar. In fact everything there is very expensive, but then again, you do have the quality and the numerous personnel at your disposal, so you have to know what you really want to pay for. Okay, just to split hairs, I'd say that the brass handle on the toilet door that kept falling off had not been repaired before our arrival (and still kept falling off when we left) and my husband got fed up of seeing the shade on one of the wall lamps all lopsided and put it straight! But that's all, oh yes, there seems to be something missing, a little "je-ne-sais-quoi". Even though the hotel's not that big, I never sensed a sort of “home from home” type atmosphere that I've found in other hotels of this genre. Is it because the personnel want to be discrete or is it because it’s the Spanish character?
We went to the Westin Palace Hotel, just across the road, for dinner at the ASIS GALLERY RESTAURANT. The food was good but a bit too salty for us & the service was so fast that we had indigestion!! We had hardly ordered drinks than the starters arrived. The plates were taken away as soon as we had put our forks down, the main meal arrived etc etc. The Asian waitresses were not very professional either.
The WESTIN PALACE HOTEL is luxurious (the hall and the dining areas) but incomparable to the Ritz. I’d say that the Westin is a 5* hotel but the Ritz is way above. There were people all over the place, talking and laughing loudly, walking around with drinks in their hands and dressed any old way. It’s much bigger than the Ritz. and there wasn’t this classy, hushed type atmosphere than you can find at the Ritz. Even if the RItz may have been full, we had the impression that there weren't very many people around, which is quite relaxing.
The concierge at the Ritz suggested we go to the CORRAL DE LA MOREIRA to watch the best flamenco dancing in town. The spectacular quality of the show made up for the lousy food and rushed service, everyone being crushed like sardines into this big room and the waitress who dropped a creamy fish sauce down my husband’s jacket and hadn’t even noticed! The price of the “food” & show came up to 200 euros for the two of us, much too expensive for the quality of the food. Get there early in order to eat quickly and concentrate on the brilliant performance of the flamenco troupe.
The Ritz is close to everything, no need to hire a car or get a taxi. Get to the Prado museum very early or else beware of queuing for ages and being crushed in the crowd in the actual visiting areas.
We went back to the airport with the hotel’s limousine service, 100 euros but a taxi will cost you 30 euros.
All in all, a very pleasant stay though Madrid is not an exceptional place, like Prague, Rome or Venice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

The Ritz in Madrid is with walking distance of all the major attractions of Madrid, Galleries, Rotiro Park and the city centre are all within minutes.. But what sets this hotel apart from most is its excellent and elegant service. Dining outside overlooking the garden is a particular treat..The surroundings are ageing somewhat but it still has great charisma and charm. A perfect retreat for those wanting a sophisticated getaway or to do business..

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurajyl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I just got back from a week long trip in Spain, 3 nights were spent at the Ritz. I cannot say enough about the service or the beauty of this hotel. Add to both those, the proxmity to the museums and other areas of Madrid, I will go back to the Ritz time and time again.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laurajyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We spent 8 days at the Ritz and we were very happy. Our room was antiquated true, with dated electrics, crowded bathroom, and faded rug. But the service was over-the-top warm and gracious. Truly, this hotel is made by its staff and its staff are wonderful, not one great guy but waiters, concierges, managers, bellhops, all extremely warm despite the language barrier (we speak no Spanish). The housekeeping was first-rate. We paid $330/night including a truly grandiose breakfast but not internet and we felt like royalty. This was my first trip to Madrid and Spain and I could not have picked a better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Battistini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed there for a weekend and it was a beautiful experience. Service was excellent and the hotel beautiful.Many people have commented on the "run-down" aspects of this hotel, but I found every bit charming. There are so many perfectly reserved places and brand new hotels that this grande dame made you feel like you are sharing history. Lovely details like the nightcaps you receive in you room,or the welcoming cake or the emroidered slippers, or the fresh orchids in the bathroom makes this one of those unforgettable experiences. It is not overly expensive(about 300 euros a nigth for a standard room2 sharing ).
Situated in the centre near the Prado museum, you can walk anywhere.
We loved the tearoom with its beautiful baroque furniture and chandeliers.
the only negative thing was the restaurent. it is not very good. We had the menu de degustacion, and it was very weak. madrid has many netter option to eat, so dont waste your time by going to the hotel restaurent. the service was impecable, but that still does not make a mediocre meal worht the 110euros perhead it costs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

I was at the Ritz Madrid 3 weeks ago and what a surprise I had… I did not know what to expect, but must admit that the fantastic and personalized service really impressed me and made me feel like a queen…
Also my room ( de luxe room) was just amazing with beautiful hand made carpets, antiques furniture and unique crystal chandelier made me feel as if I was in a palace ..
Well done Ritz Madrid and it s team !! You really know how to make your guests feel much better than at home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanaBaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 436 in Madrid
989 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#34 of 436 in Madrid
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 436 in Madrid
1,708 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 436 in Madrid
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Property: Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing