We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant historical luxury!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #87 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant historical luxury!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Lovely hotel, reception & concierge were superb. We had a lovely room - I think it must have been in the former stable block.

You walk through the hotel gates and it's like a little oasis in the city! The public rooms are very historical and elegantly furnished. They were not very busy as they don't have many rooms.

We ate in the hotel bar; we'd been sight seeing all day and couldn't face going out. We had a good steak. Service was just about ok so that was dissappointing.

The pool was cold (apparently as I didn't venture in!)

Room Tip: Ours in the outside block was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Jacky Q,
Greetings from Madrid!! On behalf of the team we want to thank you for your comments and for sharing it with others!!
We are very glad to hear that you had a great experience in our little oasis in the heart of Madrid and among us!
We hope to see you back here in your next trip to Madrid!
Have a great day!
Best Regards,

The Santo Mauro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    75
    31
    23
    7
See reviews for
60
182
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, a little palace in downtown Madrid. Very elegant, boutique style hotel, with different buildings. The details are very well taken care of. Very attentive staff, a pool, a restaurant in a library. Love it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Barbarabt,
Greetings from Madrid! Thanks for your kind message and for sharing it with others!
It was a pleasure to have you among us in your reacent visit to Madrid and he are glad to hear that you enjoy our hotel.
We hope to see you back soon! Best Regards,

AC Santo Mauro Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

we spent our anniversary night in this hotel the hotel is really beautiful renovated over a year ago our room was big very nice big bathroom big beds high ceilings, the common areas were stunning the restaurant is an old library where we had very nice breakfast maybe a bit uptight for us (too formal) but definetively worth it...
beautiful place nice experience

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Cocotti,
On behalf of the team we want to thank you for your comments and for sharing them with others!
It was a pleasure to have you during your visit to Madrid.
From the Hotel AC Santo Mauro we look forward to welcoming you back .
Sincerely,

The AC Santo Mauro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really beautiful and the service is fantastic. Everything to the last detail is done here. It is like taking a step back into the past with such beautiful decor. Having said that the room is modern with a warm feel. The staff go out of there way to please, love the place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephensos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Stephensos,

We are glad you shared your opinion with others. On behalf the entire team we want to thank you for your time and overall your confidence in us.
We are happy to know about your experience with us during your last stay and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel!
Best Regards!

The Santo Mauro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I've never stayed in former Duke's residence before, and it was an absolute pleasure. Such a beautiful property tucked away in an upscale residential community!
Not the most convenient location to the main sights of Madrid, but it definitely works and honestly, just take a cab if you are going a distance!
Our room was in the main building. The secondary building is on a street corner (residential neighborhood) and might be a little noisy.
Gracious welcome from the staff.
Beautiful lobby, lounge and dining room.
Wonderful food came out of the kitchen!
The room was nicely appointed (newly remodeled) with modern furnishings.
Nice, large bathroom with shower stall and separate tub.
We really enjoyed our time at this property!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building overlooking the gardens / patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

It's a great hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Common areas are beautiful. The staff it's very nice and helpful. Although I have some things that they should fix. First, the pool it's not heated. 22*C its not warm to swing inside...specially in the Winter. The Internet connection it's not very good. Surprising for a 5 star hotel.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed in this very nice and calm hotel while my last business trip in Madrid. The rooms are very comfortable with two LCD screens (living room & room). Very close to Castellana and city center. There are always taxis waiting in front of the hotel. If I return to Madrid I will stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
No photo provided
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#6 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#22 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#12 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Address: Calle Zurbano 36, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Madrid
#53 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#60 Family Hotel in Madrid
#66 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#79 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the former residence of the Duke of Santo Mauro, an influential member of Madrid society at that time. The hotel consists of three buildings surrounded by a magnificient garden that makes it an oasis in the heart of Madrid. Located in the exclusive area of Chamberi, surrounded by palaces of time, the Hotel is located next to the main shopping area of the city, the financial area and major tourist attractions. It has been demanded as destination for business and leisure travelers for over 3 decades.The Santo Mauro hotel has 49 unique rooms, customized to the smallest detail that will make the experience of staying in a palace accompanied by a personalized service tailored to each guest.The former ballrooms are now part of the lobby in which each room has its unique style as the Red Room Decorating Frenchified, the Chinese Room with a collection of oriental pieces and Chivas art deco bar to enjoy a variety of gin and tonics or cocktails. Following the orders of the Duke of Santo Mauro, this palace, dating from the end of the 19th century, was built by the architect Louis Legrand. Located in the heart of the Madrilian district of Chamber and very close to the Paseo de la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing