We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #126 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was booked by a travel specialist who put together a complete Spain itinerary for us. We were traveling with another couple and we all just LOVED this place! Although I can't speak to the price (our itinerary was one price for all hotels, guides, etc.), we were very impressed. This is a gorgeous boutique hotel with a lot of character. The service was great. The only negative I would say is that breakfast took a long time to arrive. (Or that just may be the New Yorker in me, I was warned that in Spain things are a little more relaxed). It is located in a very nice area and we ended up doing a lot of walking. I have already recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Gloria,

Greetings from Madrid!! On behalf of the team we want to thank you for your comments and for sharing it with others!! We are very glad to hear from guest like you and that you enjoyed at our hotel your time in Madrid.

We hope you see you soon back in Spain!
Best Regards and have a great day!

The Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful. The sitting rooms are very interesting to explore. However, as others have mentioned, good and drinks incredibly over priced for what is presented. Rooms were clean but it felt as if the walls were paper thin. We were also only given one room key for the two of us. Room service was fast though and they did have the taxi ready when requested. The room decor was nice but did not match the hotels personality at all. Very odd. But, overall, it worked. However, as others mentioned , it should be declared a 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Cbenedict,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for sharing your experience with others!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay among us and that you liked the hotel decoration.
We will sure take your comments into consideration to improve.

Best Regads and have a great day!

The Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The building and rooms are lovely, unique as you'd expect from a hotel that claims to be boutique. We had a superior room with a rather odd combination that meant it had a separate area for bath, shower and sink (154). The public areas were also lovely, the kind to sink into with a book and wine, or socialise with friends. Overall looks like the website pictures and doesn't disappoint. You do need to be aware that cocktails are ?17-20 each though! As a result it was rare to see anyone using them.

We were in the second building and it was still quiet and relaxed but there was some distant traffic noise.

Breakfast was served in the garden, and was the biggest disappointment, but significantly so. We had a free continental breakfast in our rate. Turns out that at this hotel that means a few pastries, orange juice and coffee, no buffet. Extras were an overpriced ?13 each (e.g. For pancakes). Far below what I'd expect from a Marriott branded hotel. Service was also very slow and took close to 30 minutes to manage to serve us even this on our first day. A few other guests looked a little annoyed at the service too as tables weren't being cleaned or drinks topped up.

Will try a different hotel next time as I expect a five star hotel to wow me with food, at least when I've paid through the nose for it.

2  Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is not accommodating to kids- ours are 16,14 and 11 but we were treated like second class citizens. I have stayed at other autographs and never felt this way. They put us in two outside rooms that had glass doors. A lot of people walking by because it was next to a meeting room. My kids were scared to sleep alone because of this. People standing outside their room and smoking, etc. at breakfast, we were told that continental could be served at the table but anything else would need to be delivered to our room- only one child was with us at this time. Breakfast was not good. The Internet was terrible in our rooms and I spent three days trying to download a movie. They would not move us to another room. Very bad service and very stuck up. We will never stay in this hotel again. By the way, breakfast was €33 per person for things like pancakes. I would suggest a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walsh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Walsh M ,
On behalf of the Santo Mauro Team I would like to apologyze for the poor experience you had while your recent visit to our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that our hotel didnt meet your expectations.
We will sure take into consideration all your comments in order to improve our service.
Once again, accept our apologyes and have a great day!

The Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here as a couple for a romantic break. This hotel has potential but there are too many downsides for me to recommend it.

The location is quiet and not far from the upmarket shopping areas and the Paseo de la Castellana. The photos on the website make the main building seem much larger than it actually is. The decoration is very over the top and kitsch in the public areas and then drab and mud coloured in the bedrooms. It makes for a strange contrast. Overall, I found it claustrophobic rather than classy.

Service was not great. Served warm white wine on the terrace and breakfast was very poor. The dining room is not large enough so they have to accommodate people in an attached bar which is dark and uncomfortable for eating. The only staff who stood out were the doormen who were friendly.

The pool area is a disgrace. Many tiles missing around the pool and I thought it was dangerous. Also unattended and with lots of dirty towels lying around.

We had spent a lot of money and didn't feel that the service justified the cost. It is too large to be a boutique hotel but not large enough to be a palace hotel. It just didn't work for me.

Room Tip: If you are going for a suite, on no account accept the one which has a separate living room. The sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skotti56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Skotti56,

Greetings fro Madrid and thank you for sharing your comments with others.
We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience among us while staing in Madrid.
We will take into consideration all your comments in order to improve our service.
Please accept our apologies and best regards,

The Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Lovely hotel, reception & concierge were superb. We had a lovely room - I think it must have been in the former stable block.

You walk through the hotel gates and it's like a little oasis in the city! The public rooms are very historical and elegantly furnished. They were not very busy as they don't have many rooms.

We ate in the hotel bar; we'd been sight seeing all day and couldn't face going out. We had a good steak. Service was just about ok so that was dissappointing.

The pool was cold (apparently as I didn't venture in!)

Room Tip: Ours in the outside block was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Jacky Q,
Greetings from Madrid!! On behalf of the team we want to thank you for your comments and for sharing it with others!!
We are very glad to hear that you had a great experience in our little oasis in the heart of Madrid and among us!
We hope to see you back here in your next trip to Madrid!
Have a great day!
Best Regards,

The Santo Mauro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, a little palace in downtown Madrid. Very elegant, boutique style hotel, with different buildings. The details are very well taken care of. Very attentive staff, a pool, a restaurant in a library. Love it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarabt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_HSM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Barbarabt,
Greetings from Madrid! Thanks for your kind message and for sharing it with others!
It was a pleasure to have you among us in your reacent visit to Madrid and he are glad to hear that you enjoy our hotel.
We hope to see you back soon! Best Regards,

AC Santo Mauro Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Chamberí
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 443 in Madrid
1,204 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Villa Magna
Villa Magna
#10 of 443 in Madrid
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#6 of 443 in Madrid
884 reviews
Barrio Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection

Address: Calle Zurbano 36, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Madrid
#53 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#79 Business Hotel in Madrid
#88 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £185 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the former residence of the Duke of Santo Mauro, an influential member of Madrid society at that time. The hotel consists of three buildings surrounded by a magnificient garden that makes it an oasis in the heart of Madrid. Located in the exclusive area of Chamberi, surrounded by palaces of time, the Hotel is located next to the main shopping area of the city, the financial area and major tourist attractions. It has been demanded as destination for business and leisure travelers for over 3 decades.The Santo Mauro hotel has 49 unique rooms, customized to the smallest detail that will make the experience of staying in a palace accompanied by a personalized service tailored to each guest.The former ballrooms are now part of the lobby in which each room has its unique style as the Red Room Decorating Frenchified, the Chinese Room with a collection of oriental pieces and Chivas art deco bar to enjoy a variety of gin and tonics or cocktails. Following the orders of the Duke of Santo Mauro, this palace, dating from the end of the 19th century, was built by the architect Louis Legrand. Located in the heart of the Madrilian district of Chamber and very close to the Paseo de la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing