We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely quiet hotel in a busy city!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Ranked #81 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very lovely quiet hotel in a busy city!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I am a Marriott person and stayed at this lovely hotel in a quiet section of Madrid that is only a 5 minute walk to shopping and restaurants; if you are looking for the middle of the city this is not the right place. This was my first stay at an AC and it was delightful. I arrived early (around 11am) after arriving from the US and a room was ready. I was even upgraded to a great bi-level suite. The staff was very helpful with check-in and my bags. The suite was quite spacious. The restaurant was very pretty, as was the outdoor space. The food was ok, but my fish entree was a bit too salty; the servers were excellent. As a Platinum member, my reservation includes breakfast. I had an early flight so they told me that I could order room service and only pay the delivery fee; as I was not told that there were limitations on food, I was surprised when I was charged for the fruit plate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabarrett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear NYC10023_88,

First of all I want to thank you your review on TripAdvisor, you comments are very helpful for us and for other guests who are looking for a review or an idea before making their reservation.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Specially in this season, it's a great experience enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner in our garden.

As a platinum member, you have continental breakfast included, apart from the variety that you have on this breakfast, you can enjoy the rest of the menu just paying a fixed extra charge. Sorry about the inconveniences caused to you if you were not informed. For sure, we wil take action in this matter for future situations.

Thank yoiu very much,
We hope to see you soon again at our property,

Best regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    78
    33
    23
    7
See reviews for
62
192
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are regular guests at Marriott properties and this was one of the best. We stayed in a separate building in the complex that has a stately central staircase and atrium. The room was a large bedroom with very large bathroom and separate shower room. It was very quiet and in a very pleasant neighborhood away from the noise of the central city, but very close via public transportation or a 20-25 minute walk. We had cashed in Marriott reward points to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Philontheroad,

First of all I would like you to thank you for choosing us while your stay in Madrid. Also we want to thank you the time taken to review us.

Your comments are very helpful for us in order to improve and also for other guests helping them before making their reservation.

We are delighted that your stay with us was pleasant. Everything we do is make each stay a memorable experience through small details.

We whope to see you soon again in our property,

Best regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Madrid was our first stop on a 14 day European vacation. We picked it because it was a Marriott, but to our surprise it was extraordinary! It was in a quiet neighborhood, Madrid is so massive, that we didn't mind needing to take a taxi where we wanted to go. We felt like we were in our own mansion! Our teenage children had their own room and my husband and I were upgraded to a two story suite. In the main hotel each room was lavishly decorated and fun to explore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sjane74,

Thank you very much for choosing us during your stay in Madrid. I also want to thank you for the time taken to review us.

We are delighted hearing that you stay at Santo Mauro Hotel was great. Our main aim is always to make each stay a memorable experience through small details. Our property has the perfect details which can make this happens.

Again, we want to thank you your comments, and hope you come back again to our property, specially during summer, when you can enjoy our garden while you have a drink, as you could do through your stay.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The property is absolutely beautiful and full of history and charm. The location is perfect and the front desk staff was very helpful. The only downside was that a diet soda, coffee, or tea was 8 euros and breakfast was unreasonably high.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Kris755,

Thank you very much for choosing us while your stay in Madrid and also for your comments.

As you may know, our guest's comments help us in order to improve in our daily service. Our entire staff have the commitment to improve and meet our best service standards.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon in Madrid and at our property.

Thank you very much,

Kind regards,
Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed in Dec 2013 in a Junior suite. It was a large duplex with great space. Everyone was great and very attentive. It is a nice walk to Parque del Retiro and the museum triangle. Madrid has great restaurants and a great walking city. This hotel can we a good launching point to explore Madrid. Only complaint is breakfast was very expensive but there is a restaurant a block away that has great breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HSM, Director General at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear TVMD,

Thank you very much for your comments and for share your thoughts with others on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are very helpful for us in order to continue improving on our service and also for future guests who want to know more about the hotel prior to their arrival.

We want to thank you your nice comments to our property and we encourage you to visit us again, specially during summer season were you can enjoy our quiet garden and terrace during the day.

Once again, thank you very much,

Have a great day
Kind regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This was a fabulous property!!
The design of the historic common rooms were so impressive I asked for the designers contact info for a NYC project I am working on.
It's located within walking distance to everything, but you will need walking shoes. We had a suite that was well kitted out and we were very pleased with the room and amenities.
Front desk was very helpful with all requests.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allegriaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HSM, Director General at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Allegriaa,

I want to thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experiences at our hotel, with others at TripAdvisor.

As you may know, our guest comments are very helpful for us in order to improve in our daily basis and continue providing the best service through small details.

We are delighted that your stay at our property was perfect, and we want to thank you your nice comments.

We hope seeing you soon again at Santo Mauro Hotel.

Kind regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had booked 5 nights here . The hotel itself is beautiful and that unfortunately is where it ends. The basic problem here is that this hotel does not care about its clients. We left after 2 nights to another hotel and no one even asked us why.... I have even emailed the hotel since and no answer to my concerns.
We had booked a junior suite which was very nice but you have to pay for wifi! Really at a 5 star hotel like this ! There is no water left for you in your room, I had to ask when I came back late one night to have our room turned down. I was told to go to the pool room to get a robe......not a nice place to spend time, lots of out of order signs, cold pool, basic gym all in all very 3 star.
I was charged €133 for a car from the airport, a taxi back cost € 30 !
Breakfast was almost like they don't want you to eat, no buffet, you have to order off a menu.
There is no where you can lie outside and chill, which is a shame as there is lots of space.
There were 2 things that really did it for us though. I had asked the hotel to get me soccer tickets and they told me they had and I knew they were €180 EACH but when we got to the hotel it was someone's season ticket! There were lots of seats available at the match that we could gave brought on the day so I did feel ripped off.
The other thing, we make a trip for our anniversary every year and every hotel leaves you something, a card, fruit, wine whatever, this hotel absolutely nothing. The hotel I moved to spoilt us with a rose, bottle of wine and champagne at the bar.
Stay somewhere else, there are so many great hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mumblebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HSM, Director General at AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear mumblebot,

First of all I want to thank you for share your comments with us on TripAdvisor.

We want to explain and corroborate with you the facts happened during your stay.

Regarding WiFi on the room, you can enjoy our fiber optic access at the whole property, in room and common areas for free.

As you could see during your stay, you have an in room minibar with several drinks and assorted snacks, including water.

I want to apologize for only one bathrobe on the room, there should be 2 of them. There is a dress code at the hotel for the swimming pool, as there is a dressing room at the gym, you have to change there as you will find bathrobes there.That's why you were told to go to the gym to get changed at the dressing room.

We usually -as we did with you- contact all our guests, prior to their arrival, giving information of the hotel and what to do in Madrid. There you could see the price for a private Mercedes car transfer from the airport or the price for a taxi service. Then, you chose the private pick up.

The fact why you didn't enjoy our terrace was because the period of the year you were in the hotel. For sure we have a lot of space in our gardens and for sure we use them, in summer season, always the weather allows us to do it. We usually have a bar and the restaurant where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner or our Sunday brunch.

Regarding soccer tickets, we were reviewing our emails and you requested these tickets for the first time in January -the match was on May. We contacted you again for this issue on April 27th.
We advised you that at that time the league was not decided and we didn't know if the match would be an important one, but as it was the last of the season could be. We emailed you saying we were trying to buy best tickects, in first category for that match and how much the cost would be, and you confirmed them.

We regret to know that your stay with us was not succesful as it has to be. We hope this replies to your request, and that helps others on the web to get a clear understanding of what happened.

Best regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
AC Palacio Del Retiro, Autograph Collection
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#9 of 436 in Madrid
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
URSO Hotel & Spa
URSO Hotel & Spa
#16 of 436 in Madrid
416 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#42 of 436 in Madrid
1,398 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection
Address: Calle Zurbano 36, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Madrid
#53 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#60 Family Hotel in Madrid
#61 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#79 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the former residence of the Duke of Santo Mauro, an influential member of Madrid society at that time. The hotel consists of three buildings surrounded by a magnificient garden that makes it an oasis in the heart of Madrid. Located in the exclusive area of Chamberi, surrounded by palaces of time, the Hotel is located next to the main shopping area of the city, the financial area and major tourist attractions. It has been demanded as destination for business and leisure travelers for over 3 decades.The Santo Mauro hotel has 49 unique rooms, customized to the smallest detail that will make the experience of staying in a palace accompanied by a personalized service tailored to each guest.The former ballrooms are now part of the lobby in which each room has its unique style as the Red Room Decorating Frenchified, the Chinese Room with a collection of oriental pieces and Chivas art deco bar to enjoy a variety of gin and tonics or cocktails. Following the orders of the Duke of Santo Mauro, this palace, dating from the end of the 19th century, was built by the architect Louis Legrand. Located in the heart of the Madrilian district of Chamber and very close to the Paseo de la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Santo Mauro, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing