We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but tired”
Review of Vincci Soma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vincci Soma
Ranked #164 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Two nights in a "family room" for three people. The location is great, right on Calle Goya in the chic shopping zone and easy walking to nearby attractions. The staff are universally friendly and helpful. All good. So, the downside. The downside is that the aircon (at least in our room, was virtually non-existent leading to a very stuffy room, the rooms are tired and scrappy and the lift is poky and takes forever. Nevertheless i would say it is good value for the price considering the location but be prepared to rough it a little bit.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal facing rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mogowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our establishment for your stay in Madrid and for sending us your opinions and feedback. We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking and that you found our staff friendly. We will pass on your congratulations to the entire team.
We regret, though, that we did not meet all of your expectations and that you were not entirely pleased with specific aspects of your stay. We will bear close in mind your opinions in order to continue improving and adapting as best as possible the tastes and preferences of our guests.
We would likewise like to inform you that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed so we apologize if during your stay there might have been a temporary problem with the process that caused the inconveniences you describe with the air conditioning.
In any case, despite the fact that our facilities are under ongoing revision, any guest who detects a problem with any of our facilities can notify reception and our staff will proceed to take care of it as quickly as possible.
We would also like to mention that all of our facilities are under a process of continual improvement in order to maintain them in a perfect state. We regret that the room you were assigned did not give you a good impression and we would like to inform you that those guests who are not happy with the room they have been assigned can notify us and, always in so far as it is possible, our staff will proceed to offer them a change of room trying at all times to make their stay be both pleasant and enjoyable.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

My preferred hotel of choice in Madrid, I have stayed here on countless times over the past 5 years and have yet to be disappointed. The restaurant is a delight, the breakfast awesome, the staff friendly and helpful, and the pricing extremely competitive. In fact, what you get is terrific value. The best rooms are the ones with balconies on the 8th and 9th floors which allow you to enjoy the views down the main streets and over the roof-tops. Air-conditioning, newspapers, good wi-fi, meeting rooms and a cosy bar area. Great location near shops and the Retiro park, and also underground car-parking. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this place to one and all. JLR score - 45/50

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JoseRomanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a fabulous location, close to shops, bars, restaurants, El Corte Ingles, but the nicest part is the beauty of the hotel. So comfortable, comfortable beds. Great a/c or heat, no noise, the most charming staff who are always welcoming, be it after a few hours or several months from visiting. Beautiful setting for dining with fantastic buffet breakfast. Will come back again and again.
GA

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the 8th floor. Beautiful size balcony to enjoy the coolness of the evening o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabnraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a trip for my partner's 30th, I didn't know Madrid at all so went on others' reviews. i was so glad I booked this hotel, location is great, slightly out of the centre but easy and quick enough on the metro or by walking. i booked a superior room with terrace - would definitely recommend doing this, Was so nice to have some outside space in the hot weather. The room itself was large, clean and had everything we needed. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked good and the bar was nice. We were at the front of the hotel but had no problems of noise from the road. Would definitely book this hotel if we were to visit Madrid again. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: book a superior room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Excellent location. Even very good restaurants in the area. Internet works well. Ideal for congress participants, the metro is one line away and you still can enjoy the city. We upgraded our rooms to double room with single occupancy and it was really cheap. You can live for hours with thieir breakfast. Just be sure to have enough time since the coffee machine are a bit tricky.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannapEspoo_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay (two adults and a 3 year old on an extra bed) for four nights as we were visiting family. Super location, convenient to buses as well as restaurants and shopping. Maybe 10 minute walk at toddler speed to Retiro Park. Breakfast was excellent. Service both at the front desk and at breakfast was cold but competent. The housekeeper was lovely.

However, the room we got was right above a disco and the first night (our jetlag night) the party was loud and long. The room should NOT be assigned to anyone on the weekend; it wasn't a problem after that.

Room Tip: Request a high floor away from the disco side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for sending your feedback and opinions. We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking as well as our breakfast, cleaning service and the treatment you received from staff. Our guest´s satisfaction is surely our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We would, likewise, like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by the noise during your first night. In this regard we would like to clarify that the noise did not come from any nightclub, as the nightclub located under the hotel is currently closed. The noise came from a private cocktail party that was being held on the hotel´s terrace between 21:00 and 23:00. We are sorry if this event disturbed you, despite that it was not our intention, and we would like to inform you that any guest who has a problem in this regard can notify reception and our staff will try to take care of any inconveniences as soon as possible, trying at all time to make their stay be pleasant and enjoyable.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I recently went to Madrid for a few days trip and I chose this hotel because on Internet it looked really colorful and warm: and it is indeed! Our room was not huge but big enough, the bathroom was nice, but the best part is the restaurant/bar, very cosy and warm
This hotel is not the closest to the town center, but it is attached to the tube station

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#142 of 437 in Madrid
810 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#118 of 437 in Madrid
1,169 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#71 of 437 in Madrid
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Barrio de Salamanca
H10 Puerta de Alcala
H10 Puerta de Alcala
#188 of 437 in Madrid
175 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#168 of 437 in Madrid
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Soma

Address: Calle Goya 79, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Madrid
#117 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#135 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £89 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Soma 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with tailored, tasteful furnishings; restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine; located near Retiro Park and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincci Soma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Soma Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Soma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing