We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, nice hotel”
Review of Vincci Soma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vincci Soma
Ranked #171 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zug, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were there with our son on the weekend of 12-13 of October 2013. The hotel is placed in the heart of Madrid, a few minutes walking from the The Buen Retiro Park, famous museums, great restaurants and tapas bars. It´s also a convenient spot for the shopping lovers. Hotel is nice and clean, nice reception staff, reasonable breakfast. We had a suite with a big terrace overlooking the roofs of Madrid and we were welcomed with an unforgettable sunset. The bathroom was a bit old fashioned and could be renovated but the room was nice and spacy. Deffinitely a place to come back to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We'll also take your opinion into account to improve.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    427
    206
    59
    35
See reviews for
141
300
77
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

3 nights in Madrid with a superior room with a terrace overlooking Calle Goya was a perfect location to see the Madrid sights. Towels were lush and added bonus of feather bed comforters, pillow menus, and bathrobes. Very nice hotel.

Room Tip: if you want the feel of extra space get a terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cordoba29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a well priced hotel with nice rooms close to the Metro with a comfortable bar area, pleasant meeting rooms and a generally positive and excellent staff. Good breakfasts, and a moderately acceptable restaurant. Probably less prepared on site than bought in. Overall a good residential experience with good bathroom and shower. The City centre is quite nearby, and I would normally recommend it without reservation.

However, if you want to be connected to the rest of the world, I'm sorry, but skip it. The nearby WiFi from the Real Madrid store on Calle Goya had better in room WiFi reception than the hotel system. I can honestly say, that except for hotels without Intenet reception, this was easily the worst in three continents.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4RBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Madrid and for sending us your opinions and feedback. We are pleased to know that our location was to your liking as well as the treatment you received from our staff, the breakfast and the bathroom. Our guest´s satisfaction is surely our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We would, likewise, like to apologize for the problems you had during your stay with the Wifi and inform you that it was due to a temporary problem with the signal that we tried to take care of as quickly as possible. We are sorry for all the problems caused by this inconvenience and we are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Always wanted to visit Madrid so we were pleased that the hotel was clean and comfortable. Very close to the city centre (walking or metro) with an excellent evening menu. Staff were helpful especially the evening staff in the restaurant/bar.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VINYLWEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I booked the Soma for a one night business trip because of its location being close to my meeting the next morning. I arrived in the evening with a lot of work to do to prepare for this meeting.

Firstly, the location is good. Right amongst the shops and very close to the Goya metro station (easily reachable from the airport). The reception is clean and efficiently run, the restaurant provided a fairly average breakfast and my room was comfortable if not particularly luxurious.

My main disappointment is a familiar one. I choose hotels partly based on the provision of free wifi in the bedrooms, very important if you need to work during your stay and essential if you intend to download presentations, graphic work and detailed spreadsheets. The Vincci Soma stated clearly on its website that it offers free wifi in all rooms. This is totally misleading! You can barely connect to the hotel network and if you manage to get a connection it is very slow and kicks you out after a few seconds.

Twice I contacted reception to complain and twice they sent their "expert" to fix it. He couldn't get it to work, in fact he knew that he would fail because, as he agreed, the wifi didn't work in any of the rooms! When I asked reception what I was supposed to do as I had vital work to carry out, they said that they offered a cable to connect guests to the internet when the wifi failed! I told them that my computer had no cable connectivity and they told me there was nothing that they could do. Useless!

The next morning I received a free breakfast to compensate me for the inconvenience but this still didn't help me prepare for my meeting. I had to find an internet cafe nearby and use that to obtain the necessary data.

It is clear that the Soma is quite aware that their wifi doesn't work so why keep offering it on the website? Either put it right or be honest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sending us your opinions. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the hotel´s location, the reception, breakfast buffet and the room. Our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, if a particular malfunction caused the problems you describe with the wifi connection and would like to inform you that thanks to your opinion we have started using a wifi antenna so that this does not occur again. However, we would like to mention that in our hotel we offer free and quality internet wifi connection, as well as a business corner in the library with a library with internet and a printer available for guests. We are sorry if you were not informed about it during your stay and for any inconveniences caused.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this hotel because it was quite close to 'palacio de los deportes' as we had tickets for a concert. The staff was great and very polite. The standard of the rooms was good -clean and spacious-. I was surprised by how close it was to...everything! Tube, shops, main attractions, etc. definitely recommend it if you are not fond of walking and want quick acess to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misspf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Overall, an ok hotel. Nothing really bad or negative to say. We were on a tour and it was an average "package tour" hotel. Hotel guest computer was worthless. Highlight was that the subway station was basically across the street and we had easy access to the old town and Palace for less than two euros. Subway ticket machines were very easy to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci Soma, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#145 of 436 in Madrid
765 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#117 of 436 in Madrid
1,057 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Embassy Serrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Petit Palace Art Gallery
Petit Palace Art Gallery
#73 of 436 in Madrid
633 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
H10 Puerta de Alcala
H10 Puerta de Alcala
#191 of 436 in Madrid
145 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Lagasca
NH Madrid Lagasca
#177 of 436 in Madrid
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci Soma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci Soma

Property: Vincci Soma
Address: Calle Goya 79, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Madrid
#121 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#135 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci Soma 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with tailored, tasteful furnishings; restaurant serving Mediterranean cuisine; located near Retiro Park and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vincci Soma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Soma Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Madrid
Vincci Hotel Soma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing