We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Madrid through the Centuries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Context Madrid Tours

Context Madrid Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$102.90*
and up
Madrid Through the Centuries Walking Tour
Ranked #74 of 248 Tours in Madrid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Context Madrid is a network of scholars, architects, art historians, and other experts who organize in-depth, small-group tours of Madrid.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Madrid through the Centuries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was an excellent tour. We only had a short time in Madrid, and this tour really made our
experience there much better. It gave us a perspective that we couldn't have received in such a short time. Context is always worthwhile!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank zimmiepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Prado tour with Context Travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Knowing little about Spanish painters, we decided we needed an expert to guide us through the highlights of the Prado. Andrea of Context Travel was our guide and she did an excellent job of taking us through the collection and explaining the importance of the paintings we viewed. Without her, it would have been hard to know where to start. With her we ended up with a greater appreciation of the collection and understanding it's significance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Outstanding as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We use Context everywhere that we can. Here in Madrid, we did the Walk Through the Centuries, Toledo and El Escoriale tours and they were all educational and entertaining. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Context Travel Is the Best in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We took the Civil War walk and it was fantastic. The guide, Ms. Lourdes Fernandez, was incredible. She took us first to the spot where George Orwell and Ernest Hemingway watched the front advance towards Madrid. Next, we proceeded to the Reina Sofia museum where we not only saw Guernica, we saw related pieces by Calder and Miro that created a landscape within which to better understand and appreciate the Picasso masterpiece. Really moving. Context Travel is fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoJo3643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

During our week-long visit in Madrid, we arranged a 3-hour tour through Toledo w/ Context Travel for our family of four adults. Our guide was organized, pleasant, knowledgeable and flexible. Everything we could want in a guide. We recommend Context Travel. It was well worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jskantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Context Madrid Tours also viewed

 

Been to Context Madrid Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing