We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Smart? HA. don't be stupid! don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Madrid Albufera
Ranked #295 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Be Smart? HA. don't be stupid! don't stay here!”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel was booked as part of a flight and hotel package. It was absolutely horrid and after changing rooms, we only stayed the one night (and only because it was in an industrial area at midnight.)
The only good things to say are
1. the people know that the hotel sucks, so they are reasonably nice when you cancel your stay
2. In the end, it was an interesting experience.
On the down side:
- it is in an industrial area, an hour away from Madrid city center, not easy to access by bus or metro.
- security is poor: broken doors, easy entrance access.
- It is scary, smelly, and unclean.
- And! The heating didn't work so it was very cold.
- loud and noisy, people drinking outside (but not sure why, since there's nothing around!)
Basically, if you were a teenage boy, running away from home, and looking for an anonymous empty, dirty, room somewhere to hide, or if you've cheated on your wife, gambled all your savings and have nowhere else to go, this could be perfect.
Given any choice, don't go here!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notatoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
10
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

1 .- A sign saying "Beware of rats" as you enter the portal ... the smell of garbage as you can imagine, plus the urine of rats ... rising from the courtyard (where you can hear the rats fight all night) to the room.


2 .- A note written in marker on the wall of one of the stairs saying "Beware of the spilled oil, which was the best of the ascent to the House, it was filthy and smell so bad that I have described.


3 .- An unbearable noise from outside in the other room that came from outside, ie, the insulation of windows (which worked) was zero, so the rest was impracticable.


4 .- The sheets (whose brush with the body is unfortunate because I do not know the material that may be made) had hair of other people, which says a lot about cleaning the apartment.


5 .- The attention to such complaints was received late, inadequate and cowardly, as not content with having RATS, argue that when they meet in the building and not the actual apartment, not do anything about it ... as if it were not enough to enter that place full of hair, odors and noise.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marioglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Wroclaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My apartment was huge (with 2 bathrooms) and really clean, everything was perfect - no insects (bugs etc), tv, ai-rconditioner... The staff was friendly (and speaking English). The only thing I didn't like was the distance to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bored_stiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

When we booked it we knew it was an apartament, not a HOTEL. So we went prepared.

The apartaments are very nice, big, good kitchen, good bed. The bathroom is great.

You have to "rent" the kitchen equipments, but it's refundable.

There's a great supermarket nearby and a place to get fresh fruits too.

Overall it's a good place to stay, the only problem I had was with the location. It's quite far from the subway station, you have to walk a good 15-20 minutes. On the first days it's ok, but we had already gone to Rome and we were a bit tired.

Another problem was the internet. Very expensive and there's no place nearby to access. I had to use payphone to call Brazil.

So, if you don't like walking, I don't recommend it, but it's a good place to stay for the price you pay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realnunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The only reason I chose to stay here was that they offered really good room rates when I checked - 40 euros a night for 2 people (20 euros per person - that's even cheaper than a hostel!).

The pros of staying here: good value for money, very spacious and reasonably clean rooms, well-equipped with a flat screen TV, fridge, a sofa set, a kitchenette, a comfortable double bed, 1 WC, 1 three-piece bathroom, fresh towels and linen, complimentary shampoo - just like any other average hotels. There is also a supermarket closeby. Staff were not particularly friendly but good enough.

The cons: it is very far from the city centre which i suppose is fair enough considering the room rates, but it is not as close to the metro stop as mentioned, probably have to walk more than 15 minutes. It is located in a rather dodgy area - definitely don't recommend coming back late at night unless travelling in a group. The swimming pools were disgusting. I know they were not open for use when we went but they definitely were not great sights. Water was dirty and there were moulds/fungi all over!

Room Tip: Pay more and stay in the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rswizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Horrible Staff, the worst breakfast ever!!Theres nothing beyond butter and bread and too expensive for that!!I'd payed nothing for that breakfast!!
Continental breakfast???!!(the rude lady "explain" to me..hahaha)Please... I rounded many places in the world and please....you have too much to learn about it!!First in education ok?
And the pool??!!What is that??Disgusting view, the pool was so green that i thought that was a sewage!!!Dont ask the name for the peoples of staff too, they dont like to give their names so, i ask them for the names:Lady and guy!!!!I never stay there again..never!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale80br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Sold to us as a hotel with breakfast and swimming pool. Reality - wrong, just about and wrong again!

This is not a hotel, at best self catering apartments, but in reality it is a housing block with people living there and a few rooms available for hire. Breakfast was included, but you really wouldn't want to eat most of it, and as for the swimming pool, well it had three! All closed, filthy and seemingly in the carpark! (See photo).

Room was clean and well appointed (for a self catering apartment) with a kitchen, good bathroom etc, but did smell strongly of cabbage! The staff refused to allow us to move room, so it was windows wide open (which are totally un-child friendly as they open as wide as you like and we were on the 4th floor!)

Does have a "concierge" though, well a man in a grubby port-a-cabin by the entrance, still don't really know what he did!

Location - dire! Middle of an industrial estate long way from the metro, and not somewhere you would want to walk through in the evening! (Photo again)

That said it was cheap, but we only managed one night (out of three) checked out, and moved to a 4* in the centre of town, worth every penny and made the holiday!

Simply - Don't! Cough up a few extra pounds per night and stay somewhere central!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FattMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Apartamentos APR Numancia
#256 of 404 in Madrid
16 reviews
Sol
Hostal Fuentesol
Hostal Fuentesol
#175 of 278 in Madrid
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#43 of 436 in Madrid
1,866 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#154 of 436 in Madrid
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madrid Albufera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madrid Albufera

Property: Hotel Madrid Albufera
Address: Carretera Villaverde a Vallecas Km. 295, 28031 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madrid Albufera 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Madrid Albufera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Smart Madrid Albufera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing