We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Avenida Barajas
Ranked #74 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small but very adequate”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent just one night there, but I found the room very clean and comfortable, although it was small. The bathroom was also clean, and it provided some facilities that are not available in big hotels. It does not have restaurant, but it provides a small but good breakfast for 5 euros (a very good price considering the cost of meals in Madrid!) I had the metro station at a short walking distance and the town of Barajas seemed to be safe. The close location to the terminar 4 of the Madrid Airport was very convenient. I recommend this hostal for business and leisure trips.

Room Tip: Ask to front desk if your floormates are young (in their 20s or 30s). If so, ask a relocation to oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
28
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We expected nothing but a clean room with a nice bed for an overnight stay between two flights. And that was exactly what we had. One metro stop from any of the Madrid-Barajas Terminals and then a mere 250 metres walk leads you to the Hostal Avenida. No frills, but no dirt either - we can especially recommend the rooms around the small patio behind the lobby. Well, lobby? It is rather a corridor with just enough room for a check in desk.
The staff was generally friendly and efficient - only one member knew very little English and did not seem very professional.
The breakfast was OK - just sufficient and nothing more.
But all in all - we can recommend Hostal Avenida if you need a cheap and clean place to spend a night near the airport.

Room Tip: The rooms around the patio are well away from any traffic noise and slightly bigger than the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I had one day in Madrid before a flight back to the states, so this was just what I needed. Clean, quiet, 1 block from the metro and 1 metro stop from the airport. I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay if you want to explore Madrid, as it is about 30 mins from the city center, but it's great for a layover. FYI, the rooms are outside, so it is actually a motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravSpaz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stumbled on this place through some last-minute web searching from Lisbon, as we were scheduled for just a couple of days in Madrid at the end of our trip to Portugal. We wanted somewhere inexpensive, close to the airport, and on a metro line so we could explore Madrid a bit.

Hostal Avenida was a lucky but perfect choice! One metro stop away from the airport, so we didn't have to pay the extra charge that we would have if we'd been actually AT the airport. A small grocery store next door, and another around the corner. Almost new, with everything working beautifully, and at a very reasonable price. The hostal, and its rooms, are quite small, but in the best European tradition, everything is built in so you don't need much room. Nice facilities! The wifi worked well.

They weren't serving breakfast when we were there, but we found that Barajas actually was a nice little village--you just had to walk over a couple of streets from Avenida de Logrono (where the hostal was located) and there were a bunch of cafes, small shops, a square, etc. None of this was visible at first glance. It seemed like just a big, new main street, but there's more to Barajas than that. An interesting little cultural center as well.

We really enjoyed staying here!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslanderBC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I missed my connection at Madrid airport due to plane delays and I had to find myself a hotel for the night.It was pretty scary situation for me being an older woman and alone.
I was recommended a hotel in Barajas , one stop on the Metro.
When I got to Barajas the hotel was a bus ride away , I didn't fancy this in the dark , so when I spotted Hostal Avenida, near the Metro I decided to try it. From the front it looks small but inside the receptionist welcomed me and I got a double room for 45 Euros inc continental breakfast. The hotel has only been open a few weeks, but everything about it was good.
The finish was top class,modern, lovely ensuite shower room , air con , tv...as I said not big but so neat and quiet.
Breakfast was self service in a little area off reception, the owner Emilio spoke excellent English and was very helpful in giving me directions and allowing me to leave my suitcase whilst I saw the city.There is a vending machine in the lobby for snacks and drinks, very handy if it's late at night and you're hungry.
100 yds away is Burger King, next door is a Best Western at twice the priceof Avenida.
I will certainly use this hotel next time I visit Madrid.
Mary Williams ( Liverpool UK)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank mareliz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Villa De Barajas
#273 of 435 in Madrid
423 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Don Luis
Hotel Don Luis
#218 of 435 in Madrid
358 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Barajas Plaza
Hotel Barajas Plaza
#302 of 435 in Madrid
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Clement Barajas Hotel
Clement Barajas Hotel
#130 of 435 in Madrid
907 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
#144 of 435 in Madrid
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avenida Barajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avenida Barajas

Property: Hostal Avenida Barajas
Address: Avenida Logrono 333 | Barajas, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Avenida Barajas 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Avenida Barajas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing