We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't stay there again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arosa
Ranked #229 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
khalkis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay there again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

The people at the recepction hardly ever smiled (especialy the lady seemed to be annoyed that people stayed there and she had to help them).
The rooms were shabby, we had to change rooms because the bathroom of first one smelled very bad, then we were placed in a smokers room without being asked if we had a problem with it, and it smelled bad too but we decided to enjoy our holiday and didn't ask for another one.
The breakfast was ok and the people there, were very friendly.
The area is perfect, we didn't have to use the metro at all, everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdimitris1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

I am sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is my hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and to offer you our undivided attention.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again

Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

With my best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    596
    303
    107
    49
See reviews for
178
543
184
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

I booked this hotel via Expedia and got a really cheap rate by paying in advance, non-refundable. On arrival I got upgraded to King room which was great. This hotel has been upgraded and decorated fairly recently and is above average for Best Western, 1 min from subway. Location could not be better, right in the middle of shopping area and night life. One of the hotel lifts is a small triangle and the hotel believes it may be the oddest shaped lift in the world. Free wifi throughout the hotel, though not very reliable, it's free. Reception staff a bit grumpy and never smile, but the room maids do. The buffet breakfast is a little pricey but plenty Starbucks etc nearby if you want to save money. But definitely I'll stay at this hotel again, attractive, clean, great location and unbeatable value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
I sincerely thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay at our property.

You maybe sure that with such praises we will always try to better our services and to carry out work with an ever increasing gusto.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

Hoping to have the pleasure to meet you on your next visit, I remain with best regards.

Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
Best Western Hotel Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and expecting a 4* hotel as advertised on the booking site. Very small room with tired decor. Bathroom was about the same size as the bedroom with very awkward access to shower and bath - could be dangerous with a wet floor. Whole hotel looked liked it was last reburbished in the 1970s. Plus points were the very friendly staff, free WIFI and pleasant buffet breakfast served to 11.30 weekends. Lots of much nicer hotels in Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patchpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Directora Adjunta at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
I thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
We take all customer feedback seriously and regret that we did not meet your expectations.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
It is my hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again.
With my best regards,
Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN HOTEL AROSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Ray, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at this property after traveling for 2 plus weeks so this was the last two days of a 22 day trip. The hotel lobby needs updated however the rooms were great based on what rooms in Europe look like. The room and bathroom was clean and updated. Of course as always staying in the city it was noisy at night. The hallways were also noisy late into the night.
Also at check in we noticed you could prepay your breakfast at a discount and we did for 2 days and it was so bad we decided day two to cancel our reservations.
They was no tour desk or consierge so it was difficult to find any help on tours

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvansteenkiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Directora Adjunta at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
I sincerely thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay at our property.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
Again, I thank you for your sincerity and I would be very grateful if you gave us, at some point, another opportunity to change the negative impression you are now under.
With my best regards,
Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN HOTEL AROSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

A friend and I stayed for one night at the Best Western Arosa on May 3rd, and I was shocked at how rude the staff was. When I called to ask a question at the front desk, they quickly answered and hung up on me before I could ask my second question. When I asked if they had a room for May 4th, they laughed in my face. The next morning, my friend and I were terribly jet lagged and overslept. After several admonishing phone calls from the staff at around 11am, an employee actually opened our room door (without knocking) while we were changing our clothes. It was very uncomfortable and we couldn't wait to get out of there after all of that. One night was PLENTY. Location and rooms were nice, but the attitude was really awful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethcbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Directora Adjunta at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our hotel on tripadvisor.com
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again.
With my best regards
Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN HOTEL AROSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We moved here our last night in Madrid out of desperation from a dirty and unsafe hotel. We couldnt have been happier with our move.

-clean
-spacious
-good location on Gran Via for touristy things/plaza mayor/peurto del sol

The only negative was the centrally controlled AC wasn't the coolest, but we survived. I mean we didn't exactly sign up (or want to pay) for 5 star luxury so you get what you pay for.

BOTTOM LINE: great value, would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurendies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Directora Adjunta at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
I sincerely thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay at our property.
I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
You maybe sure that with such praises we will always try to better our services and to carry out work with an ever increasing guest.
Very kind regards,
Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN HOTEL AROSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Just back from 5 days in this hotel.I've to admit that after reading a lot of reviews I was a bit worried and i dind't expect much, so it came to a big surprise to discover that this is actually a great hotel.Location is perfect ,metro is just a few steps away and Madrid has the benus that you can actually reach the airport by metro with just 2 euro. Yes, it's true one of the lift at the hotel is very small, but that's because the builiding is very old and i'm under the impression they can't touch it, but if anything i found it very quaint! rooms were newly refurbished and quite spacious. Bathroom brand new.Yes, not all the staff speak English, but the ones that don't try their very best to make themselves understood. Breakfast was very good, a lot of fresh food and never a problem in finding a table despite being very busy. They even have a computer with free interned in their beautifully decoreted lobby. All in all a great place to discover a great city.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarisiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Directora Adjunta at Hotel Arosa, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
I am very thankful for bringing up such a positive feedback.
I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. I shared your feedback with all my team and they felt very rewarded by your words.
I look forward to your next visit so we can offer you our undivided attention.
With my best regards,
Pilar Ruiz
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN HOTEL AROSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#225 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
#370 of 444 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Centro
Hotel Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arosa

Property: Hotel Arosa
Address: Calle Salud 21 | Edificio Gran Via, 29, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the heart of Madrid, just in the center of Gran Via the commercial, toursit and monumental area of the city with easy access and parking facilities. Our Clients enjoy FREE WIFI in all hotel areas, Internet corner with two computers and printer with FREE internet access, Gym, Snack Bar, Minibar, FREE save deposir box in all rooms. Come with us and enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing