We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Hotel Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arosa
Ranked #246 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel.
Paid for a larger upgrade with free mini bar, found that it wasn't really worth it. Location of hotel is great transport and shopping extremely close by.
Hotel is old and the corridors really need a facelift.
Bed was hard as a rock so didn't have the best sleep.
Was quiet and large breakfast too.
Noticed abit of a language barrier too not everyone spoke English well.
Not a bad hotel but not what I thought from other reviews I read.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel AROSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Seen a lot of negative comments but this is a fine value for money hotel in central Madrid and the staff are lovely. Maybe they weren't lovely to the other reviewers cos they was moaning too much! Breakfast is nice buffet spread over 3 hours in a lovely dining room you can linger as long as you want, bar is lovely free cava every evening, with do is free and there are also two nice modern computers in the lounge and a printer

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor at the back no view but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay at our property.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

I am pleased to see that you enjoy our evening free glass of cava.

Hoping to have the pleasure to meet you on your next visit, I remain with best regards.

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel AROSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is very central . From the airport you can get there in about 30 minutes using the metro, the nearest station is Gran Via.
The reception is small, discrete entrance door. We stayed on the 8th floor. No much of a view. The room was a decente size, comfy beds, nice bathroom. The shower is inside the bath and becomes very slippery when wet, be very careful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to rating your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you rated our location so highly.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!


Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel AROSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The best thing about this Hotel was just the location. It's right in the city center of Madrid (close to Gran Vía). Rooms could pass as standard. The most disappointing thing was the tiny reception but it may be ignored for only an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agusparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to rating your stay with us. I am pleased to see that you rated our location so highly.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Again, thanks for taking the time.

Sincerely,

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel AROSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Let's start with the location: Great, just off the Grand Via, near Puerto del Sol - no shortage of restaurants, bars, cafes or high-grade shopping within easy reach. The service: Good, reasonably friendly and helpful. The arrival experience: Poor; the Lobby is a tiny hole-in-the-wall you step up into from the street. The elevators: Two of them, one for Frodo Baggins (without luggage) and the other for Gandalf and his gear (just about). The first floor is a Conference Room for slim people. The second floor is a breakfast room cum bar cum business centre cum snack bar.

Surprisingly, given the snugness of the public areas, our room was large; but the furniture was sparse, giving an impression of immense emptiness. Our view was of the unpainted back walls of buildings.

Hazard! There are no friction patterns in the bathtub. I slipped and fell after a shower and could not get up because my feet kept sliding out from under me on the wet, soapy ceramic. I slipped and fell again the morning we were leaving, managing to hold onto the handrail this time, as result of which I sprained my shoulder and upper arm muscles and am still in pain 8 days later.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the street, not the back-alley well that we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salmankureshi242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay at our property.

First of all I sincerely regret the incident you had in the bathtub. I must stress that it would be the first time an incident like this happens in our hotel and I am completely surprised about it.

I have to inform you that all the bathrooms have a non slip system which observes the rules we are obligated to follow and it is aplicated in all of our bathtubs.

As soon as I have read your comment, our Maintenance Manager has been checking the non slip system in all the bathrooms, but we have not observed any problem with them.

I am pleased to see that you rated our location so highly.

We take all customer feedback seriously and regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Very kind regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel AROSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Perfect location for the first time visitor to Madrid - we were two couples staying there - rooms were clean - very cool elevator (must be the smallest I've ever seen)
Great bartender Antonio kept us laughing the four nights we stayed there. And Starbucks is right across the street if you don't want to pay for an average breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRQ-BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very thankful for bringing up such a positive feedback. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create and enjoyable experience for each of our Guest.

Also, I thank you for the special mention to our bar staff, Antonio, he felt much rewarded by your words.

Hoping to have the pleasure to meet you on your next visit, I remain with best regards.


Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel AROSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nicely located near the Gran Via, and the rooms are pleasantly furnished. We were on the 5th floor and rather dependant on the two slowish lifts - one of which boasts a unique shape - which would be fine if it wasn't so tiny. Let down by staff who were less than friendly - no idea why!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELAROSA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Arosa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I thank you for the attention you have shown by giving your opinion regarding your stay. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.

I am concerned about your comments in regards our reception staff, I must stress that this is not our usual attitude. You can be sure that I will follow up and take whatever action needed in order to avoid this in the future.

I truly look forward to your next visit.

With my very best regards,

Pilar Ruiz
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel AROSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#223 of 440 in Madrid
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Cibeles Hotel
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#50 of 440 in Madrid
3,136 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#158 of 440 in Madrid
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arosa

Address: Calle Salud 21, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £59 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the heart of Madrid, just in the center of Gran Via the commercial, toursit and monumental area of the city with easy access and parking facilities. Our Clients enjoy FREE WIFI in all hotel areas, Internet corner with two computers and printer with FREE internet access, Minibar, FREE save deposir box in all rooms. Come with us and enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing