We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Arosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arosa
Ranked #247 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My wife and I just spent 6 days in Madrid. We were a bit apprehensive about staying in this Hotel because the reviews on this site were hit or miss.(Our original choice The Best Western Atlantico was booked).
The hotel was in a perfect location with every major site within walking distance.Its location on the Gran Via was also perfect for shopping,resturants and nightlife. Yes the elevator was odd shaped and small,but there were 2 and there was never a long wait,Besides it added to the charm. The roomwas small but more than adaquate and the bathroom was perfect. The cleaning staff did an exemplory job.Staff was very helpful--especially in arranging a car rental on a Saturday afternoon when everything local had closed. Never availed ourselves of the buffet since we usually have just coffe in the early morning. There are a dozen cafe's within a 2 minute walk for breakfeast--which were a lot cheaper than the hotel. One word of advice if you are a light sleeper---get a room on the upper floors in the back--the residents party until the wee hours.Our room was on the 7th floor but it felt like the party was in the room.Luckily we both were able to overcome this one bad point. The hotel is also wthin walking distance of 4 of the resturants recommended by 2 different travel guides:an extra bonus; and across the Gran Via from an exceptional cuban resturant called Zara's.All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

Centrally located, just off Gran Via. Easily accessibly by metro. Able to walk to all the major sights. No frills, basic hotel. The elevators are tiny - can only fit me with my backpack on my back and a suitcase by my side. The place seemed dated. The internet didn't always connect. However, it was clean, quiet, and smoke free. Found a special price online so great for value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Claims to be a 4 star hotel, but it's not even a 1 star hotel.
World's smallest and slowest elevators. The smaller one barely fitted two persons and ran up and down to whichever floor, regardless what button was pressed.
Lobby stank of tobacco smoke. Room had a nauseating reek.
We had booked a room for a week, but cancelled our stay there.
We didn't even ask for a refund, just wanted to get the hell out of there.
On departure neither of the elevators were functioning and we had to carry our luggage down several floors. Totally ruined our holiday. Worst hotel we've ever been in. Avoid!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veron_Ulonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed in this hotel for five nights in the middle of September. It is conveniently located just off the Gran Via, and only about 100 yards from the nearest Metro station, "Gran Via". It is within easy walking distance of the central tourist attractions of Madrid, such as the Palacio Real, the Plaza Mayor, and the bars & restaurants of the Puerta del Sol area.

The second floor reception is staffed by friendly, knowledgeable staff, who all speak English. Our room, which was on the sixth floor, overlooking the Gran Via, could have been troubled by street noise, as the Gran Via is a busy main thoroughfare, but it was fully air conditioned so the double glazed windows could remain closed. The maid kept the room immaculate during our stay, and always had a nice attitude to us whenever we saw her.. The only down side in the room was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities, which we had been led to believe would be provided.

We took the buffet breakfast in the hotel each day of our stay, which was good and represented good value at 8.40 EUR per head per day. Another nice touch in the public area adjacent to the reception was the free provision of internet access.

I would have no problem about staying in this hotel on any future visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romagaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The location of this hotel is very conviniently accessible to Gran Via (shopping area). It is just walking distance basically to everything. Hop-on hop-off tour bus it just across the street. Metro is just few meters away. Biggest mall (La Vaguada) can be reached by Metro just get off at Barrio del pilar station. When you turn right from Arosa hotel and walk straight ahead, it will get you to "Sol" area which is the center for everything. Sol is crowded with people, so you should take care of your personal belongings. Hotel room was clean but the mattress is sunken and pillows are tiny like kids pillows, sleeping was a liitle bit uncomfortable. We just got a good booking deal that provide Free buffet breakfast, Free mini bar and Free pay-TV. With these freebies it was indeed a great deal for an European Hotel. The staff are courteous and help us with our inquiry. One thing is the elevator. It was the first time I've seen and get into an elevator that is almost triangular in shape about 45 degree angle and would only fit 2 person confortablly. Which is very hard if you got lot of luggages, coz the reception area is located on the 2nd floor. From the Barajas airport, taxi will cost approximately 30-38 Euro. But if you decide to take shuttle bus, this need to be pre arrange with Arosa hotel before your arrival. Suttle bus cost 12 Euro. Just be sure when you take shuttle bus going back to the airport, give an allowance to your time because you are not their only passenger they will still pick up other guest from various hotel before driving you back to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

At the end of August we stayed there togehter with our friends (total 7 adults + 3 teenagers) and we can recommend it for everybody. The whole hotel was clean and all staff very friendly and helpful. All our rooms were cleaned every day. Breakfast was sufficient. Is it right, the lifts are small, but no problem was for us to split us, of course our teenargers usually used stairs. Some rooms are located to Gran Via, some of them to other side, which is quieter. The hotel is really in a good location, there was everything around and we did not need use any public transport to get somewhere beyond places which are far from the center (Real Madrid, airport...). The metro station is really a few steps from the door..... Small hotel however with very nice atmosphere. We keep the contact for our next staying in Madrid.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonka1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My husband and I spent a weekend in Best Western Hotel Arosa in July 2010 and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was always willing to help us. Our room was facing Gran Via, what a view!
It was a wonderful holiday, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glad_Resenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 442 in Madrid
3,238 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Malasaña
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#48 of 442 in Madrid
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#214 of 442 in Madrid
1,662 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#92 of 442 in Madrid
1,381 reviews
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arosa

Address: Calle Salud 21, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Arosa)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £44 - £1,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arosa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel located in the heart of Madrid, just in the center of Gran Via the commercial, toursit and monumental area of the city with easy access and parking facilities. Our Clients enjoy FREE WIFI in all hotel areas, Internet corner with two computers and printer with FREE internet access, Minibar, FREE save deposir box in all rooms. Come with us and enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing