We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic accommodations in ideal location”
Review of Hotel Persal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Persal
Ranked #134 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We recently booked 1 night at Hostal Persal due to ratings read here and on another site. The Hostal is located in the perfect location - adjacent to the lovely Plaza Santa Ana, in a lively quaint square of its own. From the outside it looks lovely, the lobby is modern and clean, the staff is exceptional. We were not expecting to find such a basic accommodation once we got up to the room, reminiscent of a college dorm or, frankly, a hostel. As this place is rated 2 stars, we expected a little more than what we found. The room was clean however, and I think we would've enjoyed our stay more if our room was overlooking the plaza, rather than facing a dark interior courtyard.

As long as you know what you're expecting, you'll enjoy your stay and for someone looking for inexpensive accommodation in the center of the action with a warm, English speaking staff, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal and must say that we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The room was spotlessly clean with modern decor and a free safety deposit box was most welcome. The room was smaller than average which was probably down to the age and layout of the building. However, this did not affect our experience as we spent most of our time exploring Madrid. The location could not have been better, only minutes away from Plaza Mayor and not much further to the Prado gallery and the beautiful Parque de Retiro. We highly recommend the Hostal Persal.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hostal Persal was a real find given we had absolutely no idea where to stay in Madrid beforehand. Friendly and helpful staff, smallish but clean rooms, reasonable cost (continental breakfast included), and most importantly convenient location helped make our visit to the Spanish capital our most enjoyable of the trip so far. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonzoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I just came back from a business trip to Madrid. Initially I stayed in an expensive hotel for the congress but then I moved to hostal Persal to spend one more day at the city centre. Surely do not expect the rooms to be anything special. They are just basic and clean. But the location was excellent, safe and had a pharmacy, a grocery and many restaurants on your doorstep. Also at night all the nice bars are just round the corner but again the area is very safe. There is a taxi rank just 30 seconds away and the metro is only 2 minutes (the central Sol metro). Also the receptionists were very helpful when I asked them to change my room as the first one had a window with no light at all. They also volunteered to help me with my suitcases until the taxi rank. Overall if you want to stay for a few days somewhere safe and centrally that is a very good place. Also wireless is offered for free in the rooms (something which the expensive congress hotel did not offer and had to pay 28 euros for 72 hours!)

Room Tip: The front rooms are overlooking to a lovely pedestrian street but maybe will be bit noisy. But caref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Hostal Persal was a clean hotel located on a busy plaza in Madrid. We stayed as a family and the hotel staff was very accomodating. The staff was concerned that the hotel met our needs and were helpful in arranging cab service to the airport early on Sunday morning. They try to keep the hotel smoke free but some guests do not respect this rule. If you want to go to sleep early, there is noise from the plaza. If you want to enjoy the night life of Madrid, this will not affect your stay. The hotel is very well located.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Perfect location, friendly staff and a very good restaurant.
Don’t expect luxury, but has everything you need for a clean stay.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

While this hostel is not the last word in luxury it does exactly that what it says on the label. In fact, it should rather be called Hotel as opposed to Hostel.

This is in fact more of a 2-star hotel and I really cannot classify this as a hostel. This was the third or the fourth time I stayed here and every time teh experience was the same. The check-in is swift, efficient and friendly. The staff is very knowledgable about what goes on in the area and speak English.

The rooms are somewhat small and dark though but as you are surely not spending too much time here it should not be too much of an issue. Said rooms are equipped with direct dial telephones and a TV's with a selection of channels in European and English. A laundry facility is available but not same-day over weekends. An internet desk is available.

Breakfast is ALWAYS the same every day - orange or pineapple juice with a selection of coffees, some danish pastries, sliced cheese and ham and small hard rolls. While not the typical breakfasts used to when coming from my neck of the woods, I surely never went hungry.

The location is in fact perfect and close enough to the main attractions, but you don't need to even walk that far to find a cafe or pub. Just to the left of the hostel is a pub in which there are regular live performers making music and the cafe's spill out onto the square right in front of the hostel.

Just down the road and turn left into the main road and another big square (in front of Sol underground) and you're near the Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol. Other fantastic sights include the Sabatini Gardens and Retiro Park which are a little further away.

A one-way taxi ride to the airport set me back around EUR35.00.

If you don't have 5 star expectations, Hostel Persal should fulfill your expectations and more!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#385 of 437 in Madrid
141 reviews
Huertas
Casual Madrid del Teatro
Casual Madrid del Teatro
#161 of 437 in Madrid
218 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#37 of 437 in Madrid
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 437 in Madrid
1,283 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 437 in Madrid
625 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#151 of 437 in Madrid
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Persal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Persal

Address: Plaza del Angel, 12, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#66 Family Hotel in Madrid
#97 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Persal 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a building dating back to 1871 which preserves its original structure, Hostal Persal is located in Barrio de las Letras, in the very heart of the historical and tourist centre of Madrid, 100 metres away from Puerta del Sol, beside Plaza de Santa Ana and very close to Plaza Mayor and Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofía museums…Hostal Persal is located in a pedestrian area with access for taxis and private vehicles to its doorstep. There are two public car parks just 50 metres away from our establishment (Plaza Santa Ana and Plaza Jacinto Benavente). Plaza de Santa Ana is famous for being an area for tapas and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Persal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Persal Madrid
Hostal Persal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing