We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't call Persal a hostel.”
Review of Hotel Persal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Persal
Ranked #122 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't call Persal a hostel.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A hostal, not a hostel--Persal is a terrific pension located in one of my favorite neighborhoods. It's central to so many attractions for art, culture, food and nightlife. Surprisingly, the rooms were NOT noisy, even tho it's in such a hot area off the Plaza Santa Ana. I did have an interior room. The rooms are spartan but the common areas are terrific... the lobby and dining room are good places to plan your day, or meet up with friends. I was traveling alone and then w/ my teenage daughters, and we enjoyed it and felt as safe as we would in any city.

Room Tip: Our interior rooms were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jskantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    392
    95
    30
    17
See reviews for
144
260
95
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Absolute wonderful location and very friendly staff.. and the price was right- a great deal! Very nice complimentary breakfast. Hotel is very clean and modern- yes i agree with other reviewers. The hotel is "hip". Rooms are somewhat sparse but had all essentials and was extremely clean. Would highly recommend stay for anyone wanting a great experience at a reasonable price. I will be returning. This place would be rated much higher on various sites if it had more amenities but it's a true gem.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter but we prefer a room on the street with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Found this via a friend, Great location, wonderfully kind and friendly staff, great value! Complimentary breakfast was just right - breads, juices, coffee, tea, cheese and ham, a little fruit. Very "hip" and clean decor. Very sparse rooms (but that's all I needed), no elevator (which was a but of a problem), and warm rooms (all of Madrid was HOT so this wasn't too big of a deal). If you need a safe, clean, basic room in a great location - this is your place!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank norma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times now and love it! It's in the heart of Madrid, is close to nightlife, and is very clean. Its rooms even have their own bathrooms! I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice home base during their stay in Madrid. Watch out for Cafetería Marazul next store, though (not associated with Persal in any way). I went there for a coffee, paid (plus tip!), and left. I was then chased down and accused of dining and dashing. The waiters were very rude and swore at me in Spanish, calling me a liar among other things. After checking my wallet and counting my money, I was sure that I had paid. I could understand if there had just been a misunderstanding and they were polite to me about it, but their salty language prompted me to invite a police officer over to help settle the dispute. This prompted them to check their register—and realize that I had paid. Their apology was lackluster. I wish that I could fully express my disdain for the waiters of Marazul, but I suppose that, for Trip Advisor, I'll reign myself in. In short, yay Hostal Persal, boo horrible, unassociated Cafetería Marazul.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Great location and friendly staff. We have stayed here several times and have had a positive experience every time. The cafe next door, however, tried to charge us for our coffees twice. I'd recommend getting coffee elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Basic but clean rooms with free wifi. Superb location for seeing the sights of Madrid. Very friendly and helpful staff. Huge variety of bars, cafes and restaurants nearby. I had an internal room which meant it was quiet at night but I did not get natural light.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie_mclellan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

You can walk nearly everywhere you want to go from here...plaza mayor, plaza del sol, el Prado...all a short walk away. They have some lovely little restaurants just in front of the hotel too. We had a room with windows facing an inside patio which provided only a little light in our small room. Luckily, we spent most of our days and nights enjoying the sunshine, sights and sounds of the city on foot! Treat yourself to a late night evening of tapas and sangria in one of the many plazas nearby, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#95 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#63 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#105 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Huertas
Plaza D'ort
Plaza D'ort
#386 of 436 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Persal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Persal

Property: Hotel Persal
Address: Plaza del Angel 12, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Madrid
#97 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Persal 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in a building dating back to 1871 which preserves its original structure, Hostal Persal is located in Barrio de las Letras, in the very heart of the historical and tourist centre of Madrid, 100 metres away from Puerta del Sol, beside Plaza de Santa Ana and very close to Plaza Mayor and Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofía museums…Hostal Persal is located in a pedestrian area with access for taxis and private vehicles to its doorstep. There are two public car parks just 50 metres away from our establishment (Plaza Santa Ana and Plaza Jacinto Benavente). Plaza de Santa Ana is famous for being an area for tapas and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Persal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Persal Madrid
Hostal Persal Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing